Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Just Like Cool Whip - Copycat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Just Like Cool Whip - Copycat

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 21, 2008

      My first experience making this recipe was also getting a cream like consistency. Reading other similar recipes for whipping skim milk into whipped topping yielded the secret. You must start with ice cold ingredients, whisk, and bowl. I put the dry milk and water, mixed together in the freezer until slushy and placed the beater and bowl in as well. The result was the fluffy topping you'd expect. The only thing is that the color of the topping is a little brown, not pure white as the off the shelf brand. Perhaps if I could find a vanilla without brownish color it would remain whiter. All in all it takes great and is useful in recipes where the off white color wouldn't matter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2005

      Pretty cool stuff! I made just as directed. The result was white and fluffy and tasted similar to but better than Cool Whip. You could choose this recipe because it's cheap or because you have all of the ingredients on hand, but I would heartily endorse it as a healthier alternative to the stuff in the store. I mean, really, read the label sometime, it's disgusting! I don't feel guilty serving this to my kids since it's actually a good source of calcium without all of the hydrogenated fats. Yuk! If you avoid sugar, I'm sure Splenda would work well also. I preferred this in Layered Strawberry Squares #114981 which I had previously made with the real thing. I should have thought to make this in the KitchenAid mixer, it does take a while to beat the water and dry milk to stiff peaks. I'll do that next time. Thanks, Kittencal, for a great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      The first time I made it I couldn't quite get the right texture, it was more of a thick cream consistency. I then made it again using 1/2 milk powder and 1/2 coffee creamer and I got a better result with a creamier flavour, but I still couldn't get the right texture. I used it more as a cream substitute, and as that it worked quite well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2005

      Great stuff. I used Splenda instead of sugar. I used Canola oil and I thought it came through a little too strong. I'll try it again and reduce the oil amount. It's a keeper. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2006

      This is close enough for the price difference. Tastes good, not quite the right texture, but works great in recipes. We will be using this alot...Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      This has an o.k. flavor, but the texture isn't creamy like cool whip...which we prefer. Good in a pinch though ;-) Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      Sorry, my family didn't like the taste of this homemade cool whip. It was sweet enough, but just didn't have the good taste of store bought.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2006

      I was so disappointed that it turn work out for me. Cool whip isn't available here, just powdered form (sachets). Chilled everything thoroughly.. but no luck. It just wouldn't do a thing. I think perhaps it is because I used full fat milk powder. If I have luck with non fat milk powder, then I will rate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      I loved this! It is so quick and easy, and it tastes great, especially with different flavorings. My son had fun helping me make this, and I used it to top Miller's Silk and Satin Chocolate Pie #25172. Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2005

      I thought it was great plain, but I also used it in a dessert recipe calling for cool whip! I substituted Splenda for the sugar and omitted the oil. I also added a dash of vanilla. But, b/c of the subs you should freeze for the 15 minutes then place in frig b/c it will get crusty hard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2004

      I made this today as I am making a recipe that calls for cool whip (#94612) and cool whip isnt available here in NZ. It was easy to make, followed the directions to a T and I have a nice fluffy whipped mixture sitting in my freezer waiting to be used. I have tasted cool whip before and this certainly resembles what I have tried. I would recommend this to people that cant buy the real stuff where they live.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2004

      A very good Cool Whip replacement. Simple to make, directions that are clear and easy to follow, resulting in a great tasting topping. We will be using this in the future, for all our Cool Whip needs. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Just Like Cool Whip - Copycat

    Serving Size: 1 (333 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 402.4
     
    Calories from Fat 185
    46%
    Total Fat 20.6 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 6.0 mg
    2%
    Sodium 164.8 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 41.3 g
    165%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites