Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Just Cucumber Slices Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Just Cucumber Slices

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2003

      Yummy!! Easy, with a classic taste. Thanks for the great recipe - it's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2012

      This is one of my favorite ways to eat cucumbers and a major plus is that it's so fast and easy to make. Loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2009

      These really were surprisingly delicious for such a simple recipe. After making one batch, and tasting them, I made two more. Splenda worked out fabulously as a sugar replacement.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      I will never again be overwhelmed by a bumper crop of cucumbers! We opted to use chives instead of sliced onion and added a few cherry tomatoes to the mix. I am also partial to using rice wine vinegar for a bit more subtle tang. I don't know that I have ever been so pleased with the balance of sweetness and tanginess that your dish provides. With the perfect sweetness/tanginess combined with the dill and chives it was one of the best flavor explosions I have experienced! Thanks for this GREAT recipe! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2006

      This recipe is refreshing on a hot summer day. I used red onion instead of yellow because I like the flavor better. Also put fresh dill on the cucumbers as they were chilling because I love the flavor of fresh dill.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      I think this is really good. However I was the only family member that really liked it. I am going to try it again with a few adjustments, not sure what yet.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2014

      I don't eat cucumbers but someone gave hubby a large one and I made this. I have to say it's really good! I used splenda rather than sugar, and dried dill and onion since I didn't have fresh. I forgot about them until now, so they sat overnight. I was concerned this would turn out more like a bread and butter pickle, but it's yummy. Light crunch, and a mild tang from the vinegar with a touch of sweet. I'll make this again if I'm offered cukes. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

      I liked this a lot. Very nice recipe. I'll be making this again. I used long. dark green, almost cylindrical cucumbers that I got at an Indian market. While slicing them, they gave off a slight bit of melon (which cucumbers are) aroma. I'll be using those again for sure. After making this, I posted another cucumber recipe, much like this one which is a summer favorite at our house. People who liked this recipe will almost certainly like "Refrigerator Cukes." http://www.recipezaar.com/recipe/refrigerator-cukes-sugar-vinegar-cucumbers-425050

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      Delicous and Simple! Having some problems right now uploading photos, but mine will arrive sometime! Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

    • on August 19, 2008

      I was so pleased with this simple recipe, that was simply delicious. It was a nice refreshing taste. Almost like sweet and sour. And it was different from the sour cream, or heavy oil recipes. I made as directed except I didn't have dill weed, so added a bit of dill seed. Worked out great, and will be making all summer long. Thanks Junebug!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      I'd love to rate this, but I made too many alterations based on what I had on hand. I omitted the onion and dill weed as I didn't have either one. I used Penzey's shallot salt, tellicherry cracked pepper to season. What a great blend of sweet and tangy! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      My grandma has made this for years! Instead of heating, add ingredients cold then add 1 cup sour cream...excellent for summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      Fantastic! Wonderful! Outrageous! I loved these! I can't wait to make it again. I love the sweet/sour taste! Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      These cucumbers are so easy and so tastey! I would have used splenda, but was out, so used the real thing. I will definately make them again. They remind me of the cucumber salad served at a Japanese steak house here. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      Makes a great low calorie dish when using Splenda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

    • on October 06, 2005

      Wow! This is THE most amazing recipe for cucumbers that I have had the luck of finding. Thanks very much Junebug for posting this. It's extremely tasty, I liked it so much that I made 3 batches to put in jars in the fridge, these will go like bread and butter pickles!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2004

      This is a nice mild tasting mix for cucumbers. Very tasty! Thanks Junebug!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Just Cucumber Slices

    Serving Size: 1 (468 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 244.6
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    25%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 589.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.0 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 54.9 g
    219%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes