Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Junior's Famous Cheesecake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Junior's Famous Cheesecake

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2005

      Hey there. I just got an email that my Junior's cheesecake recipe was just deleted off the site because there is a similar one listed....here it is. I am sad to see you have not made it yourself. I made this for Thanksgiving at my parents house last year. The only other dessert that was touched out of 8 desserts was the pumpkin pie and that was by me, I had to have a slice...everyone else ate the cheesecake. Everyone there begged me for the recipe. Imagine that, a gaggle of jewish grandmothers asking the 29 year old tattooed mechanic how to make a cheesecake. The most important part of this cheesecake is to let all the ingredients sit out to get to room temperature before you start. This is VERY IMPORTANT. Also, do not skip any ingredients if you do not have them (like cream of tartar) It may not seem important, but the recipe is exact and the instructions are very clear. I would recommend everyone go out and buy the Junior's cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      I, too, recommend getting Juniors cookbook. Everything I have cooked from it has turned out excellent and worth the time. There are more instructions for this recipe, such as the beating times for each addition, etc in the cookbook. This recipe far exceeds any Cheesecake factory cheesecake if followed correctly. Ideas I have used are - mixing a little pumpkin in with a little of the batter in a side dish and then incorporating it into the whole batter ( I use a ginger snap crust for this), or mashing some berries, patting out some of the juice and layering this in as well. Also, try mashing oreos to blend in (just a little) and using an oreo crust. I am very careful about any extra fluid. Today I am going to try a little key lime pie filling and see how it works/tastes. Good luck, you won't be sorry for the time spent. Get the cookbook:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      I have used this recipe on several occasions. My family loves it. My son begs me to make it and my brother in law once said while dining at Cheesecake Factory, "It's good but it's not Julia's cheesecake good."

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2011

      YAY Yooper!!! I lost my recipe for this cheesecake and instead of looking here first, I just made something different and was so disappointed in the outcome. Back to Junior's for me! I've ordered Junior's off of QVC twice, but since finding this recipe years ago, it's been my go to favorite. I even sometimes use this filling as the base and then switch up the flavors a bit to make a berry swirl or caramel pecan. My family prefers a graham cracker crust, which essentially cuts the "work" in more than half. The BEST rich, creamy, smooth and delicious cheesecake I have ever made. Thanks again for posting Yooper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      I made this the other night for my husband, our oven didn't cook it all the way in the hour it stated but when he got to the edge, he said it tasted just like Juniors. Next time I will do a graham cracker crust and leave it in longer. Overall best cheesecake I have ever had, plus my picky father-in-law had 3 pieces!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      I love Junior's so much I hand carried a slice from Grand Central to California. I made the cheesecake with this recipe and compared to the real slice of Junior's cheesecake I brought back. This recipe is close, but not exactly the same. The Junior's cheesecake was slightly more tart/sour. I'm going to try to add a little bit of sour cream and see how that work. Also, the sponge cake crust on the Junior's slice was ultra-thin. This recipe creates a very thick sponge cake layer, which I cut. I've made this twice--once with Philadelphia brand cream cheese and a second time with Trader Joe's brand. Philadelphia brand tasted better. Despite not being exactly like the real thing, it's pretty close and still better than 99% of the cheesecakes out there in my opinion.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      My fiance is a New York born and raised Italian. I made this for his birthday (with a graham cracker crust (http://www.recipezaar.com/Graham-Cracker-Cheesecake-Crust-7537) instead of the spongecake due to our tastes. He has always raved about Junior's and his grandmother's cheesecake. After making this cheesecake, I am now the reigning cheesecake queen. Remember to bring all ingredients to room temperature before making, and follow all directions completely. (I am now making a second cake because the first one...disappeared!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      I've made this recipe several times, and it's always fabulous. Although it's alot of work, the sponge cake bottom *is* worth the effort - it's very light and the texture complements the creamy cheese filling perfectly. I find the sponge cake rises a little too high for my taste, though, so I slice off about a 1/4 inch from the top before I add the cheese. This isn't necessary, just my preference.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      If you do not have the opportunity to go to Junors, this cheesecake is exactly the way a Juniors cheesecake is, dense and creamy. Follow these instructions to the letter and make sure your ingredients are room temp and you can replicate Juniors cheesecake. You can even do this with a graham cracker crust if desired (the bottom being the real work in this recipe) Good stuff! Now I don't have to make a car trip to get to Flatbush and Dekalb Avenue! Thanks for the memories!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      Growing up in Brooklyn this was the only cheesecake to eat. The very best. It freezes very well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2014

      Love this recipe, didn't really care for the spongecake layer, but I still rate it 5 stars. I use graham crackers for the crust now. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

      This is by far the easiest cheesecake I've ever made. It's utterly decadent. The cheesecake didn't crack, and baked to a golden color. The flavor was heavenly. The best creamy textured cheesecake I've ever had. I decorated plates with drizzles of caramel and fudge sauces, and the family flipped over this cheesecake. This is a worth the time to make a sponge cake crust. I already had requests to make this for New Years! Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      I would give this 10 stars if it was an option!!!i have made this several times and it turns out excellent every time. Last year I poured Lingonberry fruit spread on top and it was a huge hit for Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      made this for my dad on his birthday he loved it and so did everyone else

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      As my daughter would say. This cheesecake is AMAZE BALLS! It was awesome. Every time I visit NYC, Juniors is always on my list to visit. Now I can make this amazing cheesecake at home. I followed the recipe exactly and it came out perfect. It's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      A friend gave me this recipe about 30 years ago. I've made it off and on over the years. Instead of the Sponge Cake Layer, I just do a simple Graham Cracker, sugar, butter crust. It's a lovely super dense cheesecake.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      Excellent recipe. Made it twice over the holidays and both times it was awesome. Served with slice strawberries marinated in black currant balsamic vinegar, whiskey and a little sugar. Received rave reviews!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2010

      not quite as good as Junior's but pretty cose

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      This was great! A perfect cheesecake without any cracks! I do prefer the normal graham/oreo crusts though

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      Finally got around to using this recipe to make myself a cheesecake. It was FANTASTIC, the only change I did was I used plain whipping cream instead of heavy, and I used 1cup instead of 3/4cup. Used a coconut cookie base instead of the sponge cake. Again, fantastic recipe, looking for other versions like a berry swirl.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Junior's Famous Cheesecake

    Serving Size: 1 (160 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 538.2
     
    Calories from Fat 327
    60%
    Total Fat 36.3 g
    55%
    Saturated Fat 20.5 g
    102%
    Cholesterol 188.8 mg
    62%
    Sodium 322.7 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 38.0 g
    152%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites