27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Hey there. I just got an email that my Junior's cheesecake recipe was just deleted off the site because there is a similar one listed....here it is. I am sad to see you have not made it yourself. I made this for Thanksgiving at my parents house last year. The only other dessert that was touched out of 8 desserts was the pumpkin pie and that was by me, I had to have a slice...everyone else ate the cheesecake. Everyone there begged me for the recipe. Imagine that, a gaggle of jewish grandmothers asking the 29 year old tattooed mechanic how to make a cheesecake. The most important part of this cheesecake is to let all the ingredients sit out to get to room temperature before you start. This is VERY IMPORTANT. Also, do not skip any ingredients if you do not have them (like cream of tartar) It may not seem important, but the recipe is exact and the instructions are very clear. I would recommend everyone go out and buy the Junior's cookbook.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Joe Beef August 24, 2005

I, too, recommend getting Juniors cookbook. Everything I have cooked from it has turned out excellent and worth the time. There are more instructions for this recipe, such as the beating times for each addition, etc in the cookbook. This recipe far exceeds any Cheesecake factory cheesecake if followed correctly. Ideas I have used are - mixing a little pumpkin in with a little of the batter in a side dish and then incorporating it into the whole batter ( I use a ginger snap crust for this), or mashing some berries, patting out some of the juice and layering this in as well. Also, try mashing oreos to blend in (just a little) and using an oreo crust. I am very careful about any extra fluid. Today I am going to try a little key lime pie filling and see how it works/tastes. Good luck, you won't be sorry for the time spent. Get the cookbook:)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcmains September 16, 2012

I have used this recipe on several occasions. My family loves it. My son begs me to make it and my brother in law once said while dining at Cheesecake Factory, "It's good but it's not Julia's cheesecake good."

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrm1728 April 25, 2013

YAY Yooper!!! I lost my recipe for this cheesecake and instead of looking here first, I just made something different and was so disappointed in the outcome. Back to Junior's for me! I've ordered Junior's off of QVC twice, but since finding this recipe years ago, it's been my go to favorite. I even sometimes use this filling as the base and then switch up the flavors a bit to make a berry swirl or caramel pecan. My family prefers a graham cracker crust, which essentially cuts the "work" in more than half. The BEST rich, creamy, smooth and delicious cheesecake I have ever made. Thanks again for posting Yooper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Matahna September 12, 2011

I made this the other night for my husband, our oven didn't cook it all the way in the hour it stated but when he got to the edge, he said it tasted just like Juniors. Next time I will do a graham cracker crust and leave it in longer. Overall best cheesecake I have ever had, plus my picky father-in-law had 3 pieces!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ninaverkaik December 06, 2010

I love Junior's so much I hand carried a slice from Grand Central to California. I made the cheesecake with this recipe and compared to the real slice of Junior's cheesecake I brought back. This recipe is close, but not exactly the same. The Junior's cheesecake was slightly more tart/sour. I'm going to try to add a little bit of sour cream and see how that work. Also, the sponge cake crust on the Junior's slice was ultra-thin. This recipe creates a very thick sponge cake layer, which I cut. I've made this twice--once with Philadelphia brand cream cheese and a second time with Trader Joe's brand. Philadelphia brand tasted better. Despite not being exactly like the real thing, it's pretty close and still better than 99% of the cheesecakes out there in my opinion.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magicjonchen January 08, 2010

My fiance is a New York born and raised Italian. I made this for his birthday (with a graham cracker crust (http://www.recipezaar.com/Graham-Cracker-Cheesecake-Crust-7537) instead of the spongecake due to our tastes. He has always raved about Junior's and his grandmother's cheesecake. After making this cheesecake, I am now the reigning cheesecake queen. Remember to bring all ingredients to room temperature before making, and follow all directions completely. (I am now making a second cake because the first one...disappeared!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmmagique September 07, 2009

I've made this recipe several times, and it's always fabulous. Although it's alot of work, the sponge cake bottom *is* worth the effort - it's very light and the texture complements the creamy cheese filling perfectly. I find the sponge cake rises a little too high for my taste, though, so I slice off about a 1/4 inch from the top before I add the cheese. This isn't necessary, just my preference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paizlea March 22, 2008

If you do not have the opportunity to go to Junors, this cheesecake is exactly the way a Juniors cheesecake is, dense and creamy. Follow these instructions to the letter and make sure your ingredients are room temp and you can replicate Juniors cheesecake. You can even do this with a graham cracker crust if desired (the bottom being the real work in this recipe) Good stuff! Now I don't have to make a car trip to get to Flatbush and Dekalb Avenue! Thanks for the memories!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diamond Joe January 06, 2008

Growing up in Brooklyn this was the only cheesecake to eat. The very best. It freezes very well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hedypedy December 27, 2007
Junior's Famous Cheesecake