16 Reviews

This was an interesting combination and tasty (I left out the walnuts and raisins). The cookies turned out a little too flat for me; next time I will just soften the butter instead of completely melting it. FYI, 1 pint of strawberries yields about 2 cups. I found that the cookies baked best when the strawberries were on the top and not touching the cookie sheet. Next time I won't mix them in and will just press them into the top of the cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tarab5 July 01, 2016

I used whole wheat (Golden 86) and ground it into flour. Also, didn't have fresh strawberries. Sure they would have been divine. Instead, added a couple handfuls of freeze-dried strawberries. The batter seemed a bit soupy to me, so I added a few spoonfuls more of flour.

These were really yummy. Thanks so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlie #5 May 02, 2011

I made these cookies as soon as I read the recipe. Outstanding cookies!! I was looking for something to make with a box of strawberries that I needed to use up, and this recipe caught my eye. I followed the recipe as is with the exception of cutting the strawberries into smaller chunks. The only thing that I wasn't expecting is how much the cookies spread out. Definitely space out the cookies. I can see now why several reviewers chose to make them in a 9x13 and cut into bars. I will do that the next time I make this recipe. Thanks for a great way to use up strawberries, and a great oatmeal cookie base I plan to use with different kinds of fruit and chips in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksc3245 April 24, 2011

Amazing! I've never had strawberries in cookies and just had to try this recipe out. The only change I made was to omit the walnuts, I'm not a huge fan of those. I shared these with several others and received many compliments. The only suggestion I have is to add more berries. One strawberry per cookie is not enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MPB' July 11, 2009

i couldn't stop eating these! I used white choc, dried currents (instead of raisins), and a bit more strawberry. I did it in a 9x13 pan (somewhat thick) for 30 min or more (can't remember). Warm from the oven it would have been good with some ice cream, but the next day, they were even better! EVERYONE liked these! I may try again this fall with apples and carmel bits.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lori.mccloud April 21, 2009

Yum! I halved the recipe and accidentally used a little too much brown sugar! I used white chips since I had those on hand (and I think they worked well). Very tasty cookies! Easy to make and I do recommend! Mine fell apart pretty easily, but they tasted good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 April 09, 2009

Fantastic! I baked mine in a 9x13 pan so I had bars rather than cookies. I also used 2 cups of strawberries and sliced them in quarters instead of in half. Wonderful flavor and perfectly chewy. Thanks for the recipe Kittencal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lil Sis March 26, 2009

Way too sweet and so so sticky!Not for my taste buds at all. I was trying to make a strawberry shortcake cookie. I couldn't wait to try these out of the oven but, I don't know what went wrong- it was a disaster!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love Button & Jelly Bean July 04, 2008

Excellent cookie. My only complaint was that my dough was very sticky - in fact I was wondering if I added the correct amount of flour. But, when I tasted them, they were perfect. I made half the batch with chocolate chips and half with white chips. Both were good, but we preferred the white chips. I used quick oats as that is all that I had. I must have made mine smaller as I got 48 cookies and baked them 15 minutes. Thanks Kitten for another great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana May 05, 2008

Oh My!!! These cookies were soooo delicious! I used white chocolate instead or regular chocolate and they turned out yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
queenb1 March 05, 2008
Jumbo Strawberry and Chocolate Oatmeal Cookies