233 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Ok, cute story time.... I have a 13 yr. old daughter, who for the most part, has an aversion to seafood. Consequently, I don't make it all that often. I made this recipe tonight, mostly because it is Good Friday, (no meat) and I thought she would not be home, as she was putting in service hours at the fish-fry at church. (for her Confirmation) Well, the way it worked out, she came home, just as I was serving dinner. I insisted that she try these little guys, because after tasting them myself, I was convinced she would love them! Well, she was reluctant to say the least, but after she ate the first one, she grabbed 4 more off my plate, and ran! I laughed SO hard! Needless to say, these were a hit! I made them exactly as directed, except I doubled the recipe, and I used PANKO bread crumbs. I believe this is the answer to the recent reviews mentioning "soggy" crust. I baked for 10 minutes, then broiled for about 3. FANTASTIC! A must, must try recipe for anyone who likes shrimp. (and clearly those who have never tried it!) Company-worthy for sure. Delectable! Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blueguitargirl1985 March 21, 2008

These were a real hit, and oh so easy to make. I didn't use the butter either and they turned out great still!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mel23 March 14, 2008

I thought this was an easy recipe and it has a good flavor. I followed the directions exactly. Like the last reviewer ChicagoRN, I too debated between 3 and 4 stars--I also had trouble with the outside "crust" being soggy--my didn't crisp at all. The soggy texture bothered me, but my husband really enjoyed it regardless. I too will try to play with the recipe to see if I can figure out how to crisp it up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AndreaVT96 March 08, 2008

I was sitting on the fence between a 3 or 4 rating for this recipe and gave the recipe the benefit of the doubt in the event it was my doing that caused my shrimp to be soggy and not crispy like others commented they achieved. I added extra garlic and used italian bread crumbs since that's all I had on hand. I also used smaller sized shrimp since it was all I had and another reviewed said hers turned out great in a smaller size. This was definitely tasty...but the sogginess kind of took away from it for me. The fresh lemon at the end is a definite must and probably was the determining factor in giving this 4 stars. I may attempt this again after reading all reviews to see what I can do differently to avoid the soggy breading. Still a good recipe. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedVinoGirl March 03, 2008

Great alternative to fried shrimp!!! I used some extra large shrimp with tails on and some romano cheese along with the parmesan... I made these for my BF for Valentine's Day and we both loved them... He thought they tasted better than fried shrimp and I loved the fact that they were so much easier to prepare and cook... and healthier than deep frying! I loved how the sweetness and tenderness of the shrimp really came through when prepared this way!!! Thanks for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlfitgirl March 03, 2008

Definitely a hit here tonight. The only negative thing I have to say is that the bottom of my shrimpies burned black. I don't think it was the recipe at fault.. I think my temperature knob on my oven may be off. But regardless, they were spectacular and I will definitely make these guys again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tricia Fitch February 28, 2008

This is a great recipe. Shrimp were tender and oh so tasty. I did not have unseasoned bread crumbs so used Italian and it was wonderful. Thanks Marie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tweater February 24, 2008

Delicious! Changed recipe a little- I used cracker crumbs instead of breadcrumbs, olive oil instead of butter, and no cheese. Turned out awesome. Thanks for a new favorite!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Toadi February 23, 2008

This recipe has to be my all time favorite. I made this for dinner and my girlfriends ate the up like they had not eaten in a month.LOL! I will ake this recipe again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lady Amazon February 20, 2008

These are absolutly wonderful tasting. I especially liked the coating- nice and light. I doubled the recipe and added 2 minutes to the cooking time to compensate for multiple trays at different levels in the oven. Prepared the recipe as written with the following exceptions. I used Panko breadcrumbs, 1/8 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese, and 1/8 cup freshly grated romano cheese. I did use a cooking spray on the baking pans and omitted drizzling 2 tablespoons of butter. Thanks you for the recipe I will make these again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-GEORGE- February 18, 2008
Jumbo Shrimp Parmesan