Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jumbo Prawns (Shrimp) With Mushrooms and Onions Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jumbo Prawns (Shrimp) With Mushrooms and Onions

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2007

      Wow!!! This was so easy, and has a great flavor from the wine. I actually had a bag of pre-cooked frozen shrimp, so I defrosted it and cooked the onions & mushrooms first, tossing in the shrimp at the end just to get it hot. I also added in about 3/4 cup of imitation crab, and used all olive oil instead of half butter. I added a fair amount of freshly cracked pepper, and it really added a lot of flavor. Like other reviewers, I used over a cup of mushrooms, and think that other veggies could also be added. This is definitely fancy enough for company, and is going into my 10 star cookbook!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2012

      I tried this recipe because I had prawns to use up and for the fact that it got so many good reviews! I will give it marks for being easy, but it really lacked in flavour. The only change I made was add a large garlic, but even with that it was just OK....nothing special! ! Sorry, but I really don't understand how this recipe got such good ratings and I certainly wouldn't serve this to company! What a disappointment!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      This is a really nice shrimp recipe! Very easy, very tasty. Is there any better combination? Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT5 Groovy GastroGnomes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      Definately 5 *, made them for supper tonight, served over brown rice with carrots and celery on the side, was a delicious meal. I only had two green onions, so I chopped up some regular onion fine to make up the half cup. I will be making these again, so easy and quick with lots of flavour.Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Yum, Yum, Yum!! This is a quick and wonderful dinner. I served it with rice and asparagus. I did overcook the shrimp a bit but that was my fault and not the fault of the recipe. I would, however, caution you to watch them. I have put all the leftovers into a little container to take to work -- a rice bowl works for me. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      Had some mushrooms and green onions which needed to be served. Since we always have shrimp in the freezer, 'twas a match made in the skillet ! Prepared as posted, and well! Enjoyed immensely. My platter was not nearly as lovely as Boomette's pic, but combination of flavors was lovely. Thanks, cookiedog.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

      This is so good. And very easy. We'll do that often from now on :) I added a bit more mushrooms. No salt and pepper. Thanks Cookiedog :) Made for beverage tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2007

      Delicious over rice! We used some extra mushrooms and one green pepper and a bit more shrimp to feed the four of us! Next time I may add some Tabascio - but delicious as is! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      I was so sure that I had big shrimp at home, but apparently I had none. So I used sea scallops, which worked well. However, I did first sear them, then remove and add back after the mushrooms cooked down a bit. I used extra dry vermouth, which works really well in a recipe like this. I think that this is a recipe that can be readily modified to add some interest - julienned red pepper for color, a little fresh thyme or garlic would also be great. I would serve this next time over rice or couscous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      Outstanding!! This is the easiest recipe I have ever prepared with this level of quality. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal. This recipe is so simple the most inexperienced cook would look like a pro :) Thanks for another wonderful recipe, Cookie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      This gets a superior rating for the ease with which it come together. Literally 5 minutes. I used 1 pound of smaller shrimp (31-40 size) so I threw everything in at the same time to cook. I used a full cup of mushrooms because we love them. I think I would even use more next time. Shrimp and Shrooms! Can't beat that. We served this over white rice and it was a perfect meal. Thanks Cookiedog!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      Wow! this is so good. I made this for our Valentines dinner and it certainly did not disappoint. This incredible dish was quick and easy to make, with great flavour and textures. The shrimps were cooked perfectly, the wine sauce was delicious and the mushrooms and green onions complimented the entire dish. We enjoyed this very much, I served it with butter and parmigean noodles. Thanks for sharing CD.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      Made these last night Very easy to make. I love the combination of butter and olive oil. Used 1 1/2 cup or more of mushrooms (we love fresh mushrooms) Sauteed them first then when they were just about ready I added the shrimp and the green onions. Thanks Cookiedog for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2007

      When I printed the recipe, it didn't have the shrimp listed. I see that was added since then. I used 12 shrimp for 2 servings. I probably had a little more than 1/2 cup mushrooms, because they shrink and I love them. It was a very quick and easy recipe. I did remove the shrimp when I added the wine, because they were more than done already. I drizzled the reduced wine and mushroom sauce around the shrimp. It was pretty tasty and attractive. I will probably add a bit of spice to the shrimp in the future for an interesting flavor. The concentrated wine sauce was just a little sweet for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      It doesnt state how much shrimp is required in the recipie..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jumbo Prawns (Shrimp) With Mushrooms and Onions

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.4
     
    Calories from Fat 118
    59%
    Total Fat 13.2 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 90.8 mg
    30%
    Sodium 397.3 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.0 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes