Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Julie's Extra Special Holiday Chex Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Julie's Extra Special Holiday Chex Mix

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on August 13, 2009

      Hello, i was reading this recipe. Let me tell you, i didn't get past step number 2 before i was running out the door to buy the ingredients for this recipe. Because the cereals that are needed for this recipe were not on sale, i kinda skimped on the cereal. i used crispix and muilti-grain cheerios. Also, i think the cashew pieces get lost in the sea of chex mix. Maybe next time i'll use whole cashews. i also doubled the seasoning mix and i didnt have celery salt, so i used celery seed instead and added a bit more seasoning salt

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      Oh my goodness this is really good. I made a double batch for us to take on vacation. We had both bag finished by the second day. I've made it couple more times since. This is the best chex mix I've ever had.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      We made this and I think it was gone within a day! We left out the sage and Tabasco sauce. It obviously wasn't missed seeing how fast is disappeared! A absolute must have for any holiday party!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      This is the absolute best!!! I even double the seasonings for a bolder flavor. WOW! I've made this several times and have added grated parmesean cheese to the top after I put the mix on the baking sheets. It just adds another texture. Any thing you add to it would be great. Also i have searched everywhere for bagel chip and have yet to find just the chips. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      I can't believe that I've never posted a review! Since you posted this recipe, it has become a holiday tradition at our house too! This is absolutely the BEST Chex Mix recipe that I've tried, and I've tried a lot of them! Thank you so much for taking the time to post it all those years ago!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      I brought this to work today and it was gone in less than 2 hours (we only have about 15 people in our office and this made a TON so I was expecting leftovers but I guess not!!). I received lots of compliments and recipe requests. Thanks for a fun, new twist on one of my favorites!!! It's a super easy, delicious recipe for a hungry crowd - I will be making it for a tailgate soon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      Just finished making this. Wow! I'm gnoshing on it still warm. I didn't have the celery salt, so I used some extra Lowery's after it was done cooking. I also used chipotle Tabasco. I will make this again. BE WARNED!!! You will have to think about where to put all this. This recipe makes a ton. My friends will be happy when I show up with bags full of the stuff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      This mix was outstanding. I think my bacon must've been a little fattier than some, because the first batch I made I could taste the bacon grease just a little stronger than I would have liked. The second batch I cut it back a little. On the second batch I also used Crispix instead of some of the Chex (ran out)I also accidentally used Honey Nut cheerios but I actually think the little bit of sweetness it added was really good and I might just do it this way intentionally next time, it made a really nice sweet and salty kind of combo.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2003

      This is the BEST chex mix I have made. made it for a gift and found the tabasco really gives it a kick along with the bacon grease!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2014

      Simply THE BEST! I used seasoned salt and Luisana hot sauce for seasoning. Didn't find Wheat Chex at the grocery store, so replaced it with whole grains. It yielded four full jar of Chex Mix for me. Absolutely wonderful. I will make this again and again! Thank you for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2013

      Back to make this a second time. DH loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2013

      I did not bother to taste this first as I was in a hurry..... mistate #1 !! This was the WORST recipe I have ever taken to a function and it ended up in the garbage !!! We all ended up making a joke about it, as it was SO BAD. My friends are used to me bringing several different kinds of GOOD Chex Mixes and they thought this was a joke at first. So I promised NEVER to do it again, and suggest no one waste the time !!! It does not even rate a star in my book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      Amazing. Perfect. Thank you so much!!! Did not change a thing, makes plenty for a party, saved and will make again and again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2011

      This was a extra special chex mix. The bacon grease really did put some flavor into it. My family really did enjoy it. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      I made these for a Superbowl party and it was very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2009

      This is good. I would have given it 5 stars had there been more juice. Iike my mix a bit more strong. I will try it again and re-review if it works better. I followed this as written. No changes to the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2007

      MMMM-MMMMMMM. Just like mom used to make only better! I love the addition of the goldfish and cheerios. I took this to sons wrestling meet and everyone around me was munching on it all day. I will definately be making this again for various occasions. Thank you for this tasty and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      I must have done something wrong to this recipe, and therefore, I am not giving it a rating. I had high hopes for this mix, as the bacon drippings sounded like the key to a successful snack. However, the snack mix had a burnt bacon flavoring (even though I didn't get anywhere near burning the bacon) and a very unpleasant taste. I made this for our get-together in the mountains for New Year's and I ended up throwing out the entire batch. I don't know what went wrong, but I really wanted to like it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      Excellent! Next time I will add some cayenne pepper just to make it a little hotter, but we loved this. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2005

      very good. I like that the flavoring doesn't overpower everything else and you can still detect the taste of the original mix "component". I made it for a car trip and it really did the job of chasing away the munchies (although we ended up gorging ourselves on it, LOL). Will definately be making these again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Julie's Extra Special Holiday Chex Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (1975 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 663.9
     
    Calories from Fat 389
    58%
    Total Fat 43.2 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 39.4 mg
    13%
    Sodium 1228.8 mg
    51%
    Total Carbohydrate 56.0 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 5.1 g
    20%
    Sugars 4.9 g
    19%
    Protein 18.2 g
    36%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Lawry's Seasoned Salt

    cheese nips

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites