11 Reviews

Bland and gloppy. I made it with brown basmati rice in the crock, with cubed turkey breast as the protein. I had to add a lot of spices to give it some flavor--more of the cumin and some curry, as well as some ginger, garlic and cayenne. I also added salt to taste, since I don't use bullion cubes. No mushrooms, but I did add the cauliflower. I used coconut cream, instead of coconut milk and half-and-half. Even with my doctoring the recipe I really wasn't happy with it. There are much more authentic recipes out there. Sorry I can't recommend this :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shields.a April 25, 2014

I wasn't entirely impressed. It was an okay curry but it definitely didn't taste like any korma I've had yet. I cooked the rice separately and shorted cook time because my chicken was done well before 4 hours.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smarahcakes August 01, 2010

This wasn't exactly like the korma from our favorite Indian restaurant, but it was darned good! Being able to cook it in the crockpot was an added bonus. I cooked my rice separately, so I ended up with a LOT of sauce, and using just 1 1/2 pounds of chicken thighs didn't seem to give us nearly enough chicken. Next time I'll still cook the rice separately and add more chicken. I'll also add more cayenne next time, as we like our food a bit spicier. But it had a nice flavor, and my six-year-old even gave it a thumbs up. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bunkie68 March 24, 2009

This wasn't bad, but it definitely wasn't korma. It was extremely salty, probably due to the chicken bullion powder, so I added some brown sugar. Don't cook this any more than 4 hours, because the chicken ends up shredding and getting extremely mushy. I probably won't make this again, but it tasted okay.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IAteMyGluestick January 14, 2009

This was just wonderful! It's a very mild dish so if you like spicy dishes, definitely add more cayenne or spicy curry paste or powder. I had to make a couple of adjustments according to what I had on hand. I used peanut butter instead of cashew butter, light coconut milk, i didn't have any cream so I used milk and greek yogurt. Next time I make this I'll try to have the ingredients on hand, but even if you're missing a few things or have to make substitutions, this still turns out wonderfully. The texture of the chicken was just like it is when i order from an Indian restaurant. Both my bf and I adored this dish and when he took the leftovers to lunch the next day, his coworkers were supremely jealous. Upon reading the other reviews I cooked the rice separately.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GibsonGirl.V August 31, 2008

Made for freezer tag March 2008: I am rating this fully on my husband's opinion as I discovered tonight I really do not like curry. My husband stated it tasted like an okay curry. He prefers it hotter. I did add the rice into the crock pot and don't recommend that unless you are going to watch it closely as my rice (even long grain) turned to mush at less than 4 hours. I also added the cauliflower as suggested, steaming it and adding it in at the last minute before serving. I would suggest serving the dish over rice rather than putting the rice into the crockpot. To freeze: Combine all ingredients except rice, coconut milk and half-and-half in a zip top bag. Freeze. To serve: Thaw overnight in refrigerator. Cook in crock pot as directed. You may add the rice in at this time or serve over hot cooked rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erindipity March 29, 2008

You really have no idea how long I have had this recipe in my cookbook!! I finally made this today and thoroughly enjoyed it! I used instant rice and added it with the half n half & coconut milk. I may increase the cayenne next time but my 6 yr old was also eating it and he loved it as well! That was a pleasant surprise:) Thanks Jules for a great crockpot recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ang11002 February 17, 2008

Incredible! I used fresh onion instead of dried - and also used chicken broth in lieu of water and bouillon - then served it over jasmine rice made in the rice cooker. The flavours melded together so nicely and produced an excellent, restaurant quality korma. Thank you, Julie!!! If you happen to have any other east indian recipes you've adapted for the crockpot please post them!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ejmatl October 15, 2007

Very good, for crock pot food! I added some Thai green sauce for an extra kick; and added steamed cauliflower and brown sugar at the end - I felt it needed a tad of sweetener. I did not cook rice in the crock pot, so next time I'll only use 2 c. stock. I also omitted the half-n-half. Without cooking rice in the crock pot I have lots of good sauce left over. Thanks. I'll keep this recipe. Jan

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stgmngrjan September 04, 2007

Yum! I know nothing about Indian cooking, but was able to make this with no problem, and comes out tasty every time. I do think it's better to cook without the rice and make it separately because of the goo factor, but both ways it comes out delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John Skreet February 12, 2005
Julie's Crock Pot Korma