15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

4-7-09 Love Julia Child and I miss her, thank goodness I have her shows on DVD. I love the flavor of these ingredients together, perfect!! I used a mandoline to get all my zucchini slices the same size for even cooking and I minced one shallot very finely. I do not know why I grabbed my mandoline instead of my box grater, I was asleep today as I was supposed to grate the zucchini!!!!Oopss!! I used 2 to 1 olive oil to butter instead of butter to olive oil so mine was more the like the Mediterranean version today but had I had some creme fraiche in the fridge, I wouldn't have been able to resist trying that so I will definitely make that version next time!! Thanks for posting!! UPDATE: I had to make this again, shredding the zucchini the right way!! The flavor is outstanding and Julia really has a great one here because when you add the salt to your zucchini in your collander,,it starts to draw out the liquid immediately! I made the richer version this time by adding a bit of heavy cream but not a whole cup, just a little for taste. Love this recipe, thanks again!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef*Lee July 10, 2009

This is great, I did not salt the zucchini but squeezed it in my potatoe ricer. I did add some finely minced garlic and a tad more olive oil. Thanks for the new way to make zucchini.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Take a Letter Maria July 30, 2007

I was feeling particularly not-wanting-to-cook-anything-y one night and I had two zucchinis in the fridge that were nearing their end, so I decided to try this as my dinner. I put a bit of garlic powder in it (I tend to get kinda crazy with fresh minced garlic sometimes), and used 1 Tbsp dried minced onion (all I had, onion-wise). Be sure to squeeze all the liquid you can out of the zucchini once grated, or it will be pretty watery. It was very good, but I felt it needed....something. Another seasoning, maybe? I don't know, but I'd definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 October 15, 2014

One of our favorite ways to eat zucchini! I like to add a little half and half for the final stage of cooking. It's just the right amount of richness for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NVirginian August 12, 2014

This recipe is delicious though the proportions needed a bit of adjustment. I halved the butter and think I could go even less. Lovely way to use the summer's harvest.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos July 14, 2012

great way to use all that zucchini! Usually make it with the cream and include other miscellaneous veggies from the garden like a few green beans or brussel sprouts. Our favorite addition is sweet corn off of the cob! This gives the dish a slightly sweet flavor that the family loves.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krnorton August 14, 2011

I am giving this recipe a solo rating (not counting my family's votes) as I chose it in hopes I would find a way to fix zucchini in a way my family would like it. I have on DD who does like it raw especially if I make my blue cheese dressing to dip it in. Four other members of the family turn up their noses when ever they see it on their plates. Though my picky zucchini eaters still did not care for this dish, I loved it, and will continue to make it for myself. I did add a bit of cream and then I added just a little fresh grated Parmesan cheese on top just before I dished it up. Thank you for posting this simple and tasty recipe. It will definitely come in handy when summer gets here and I have more zucchini from the garden then I know what to do with.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Buggsy Mate May 13, 2011

This subscribes to my theory that simple is better. This was fabulous! I loved the zucchini flavor. I sliced mine with a mandoline but followed the directions after that, using green onions. Delish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trinkets July 16, 2010

This was great! What a easy dish. Didn't use butter, only olive oil and it still turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aaquwaa June 30, 2010

I thought this was excellent! Took very little time to put together and had wonderful flavor and texture. So much better than those boring sliced circles! Gotta love Julia! thanks for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elainia June 27, 2010
Julia Child's Grated Zucchini Sauteed in Butter and Shallots