Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Julia Child's Cherry Clafouti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Julia Child's Cherry Clafouti

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on November 15, 2010

      I used a combination of frozen peaches and blueberries, which I simmered in some cognac and agave syrup. I also used three egg whites and one whole egg and agave syrup to lighten the recipe a bit. It turned out very well--a simple recipe with an impressive outcome. I simmered some additional blueberries in cognac and pureed for a warm sauce to serve on top. Got great reviews from my fiance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      I loved this recipe! I had some delicious fresh cherries, and I wanted a simple recipe to make something great. This was it! I also added about a cup of blueberries...wonderful! I especially liked that all the ingredients for the batter are things you usually have on hand. I will make this again for sure, and may try it with some other fruits mentioned in the comments here!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2010

      this was a wonderful dessert! i used rainer cherries and it turned out to be a sweet and sour dessert. delightful! it had an eggy flavor though, which wasn't bad. thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      This was a simple and delicious dessert! It was so pure in flavor-how can you go wrong with sugar, eggs, milk and flour, right? Yummy! I will try it with different fruits soon, but it was scrumptious with sour cherries and blueberries! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      This was very, very, very good! I made a couple of changes to fit our lifestyle: 1. Rice Milk for the milk 2. Gluten Free flour combo for the flour 3. Only 1/4 cup of raw cane sugar in the batter and none on the cherries. It was divine and I can't wait to try with whatever fruit is in season. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Delicious!! This is on page 655 From Volume I of Mastering The Art Of French Cooking and it's great!! There are many variations of it after that. You can do this with different fruits and add liqueur, etc. While I was pitting my cherries and mixing my flan part, I soaked the cherries in a little cognac and sugar to enhance the flavors. It tasted wonderful!!! Since I did that, I might have added a little bit more flour for better presentation of the flan but it still baked up wonderfully keeping it the same! I have yet to get a cherry pitter. I just stuck all of my cherries into the bottom of my stainless steel sink with some clean stopped up water and halved them with my thumb and removed the pits. It didn't take too long and I was watching TV while I did it. Love Julia and any recipe of hers so thanks for posting this one!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2014

      As someone who's not a baker, this dessert recipe was perfect for me; quick and easy!!! It's definitely going into my repertoire. I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      I was sorry to have wasted my valuable blackberries on this recipe. Not very tasty and only saved by ice cream on the side. Old fashioned cobbler would have been a better use of the berries. I was doing a complete Julia Child menu. The boef bourguignon was terrific.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      I made this exactly as written in a peach clafouti recipe. The recipe called for three peaches and I used only 2 and a half, but the center was still a little too juicy even when fully done. Juicy is usually good, but it made the texture at the center a little weird - a bit like a custard that hadn't fully set. It was delicious, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      Julia's done it again! Perfect French comfort food. I've used this recipe as a base for about three or four different fruit(s) and all have come out wonderfully. While black cherries were, in my opinion, one of the better ones, I've also made it with other fruit that I had around and wanted to use up. Fresh peaches, assorted berries and fresh mangoes. We Americans tend to expect our desserts to be very sweet. As posted this one is not all that sweet so one may want to add additional sweetener(s) to it. However, left as is, it's perfect both as a dessert and if "nuked" the morning after for a quick breakfast. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2011

      Oh my god this was delish and so easy to boot, I didnt have cherrys so i substituted frozen blueberries and OMG,.. so easy and delish .. for one of the eggs i substituted EGG Replacer and it was still very light and fluffy,.I think mixing everything in the blender attributed to that .. Will def make again using another fruit.. YUMMMM-O

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2010

      Loved it! This was my first time making a clafouti, and Julia Child's recipe was an excellent place to start. Simply delicious and very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      I'm updating my review to say that I tried this recipe using canned apricots, putting them cut-side down in the pan. The flavor was amazing! I highly recommend trying that variation as well. I've made this clafouti a number of times and I, as well as those I 've served it to, have loved it. I espcially like the extra step of baking a little of the batter first, making a thin crust to put the fruit on. Sort of an "impossible pie" type of thing, but mucb, much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      This is very good, and very simple. I have made it with peaches and with cherries. With the peaches, which were very sweet, I skipped the extra sugar altogether. With the cherries, I only added an extra 2 tablespoons over the fruit and didn't pit the cherries. Very easy, very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      I made this two nights in a row. Once with the cherries and once with blueberries. Both were wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2008

      This is truly a keeper. It tastes like a gourmet dessert. I used blueberries instead of cherries. DH can't wait to have it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      I purchased a "cherry pitter" so I can make this recipe easily. It is wonderful and I made it with egg whites, so it is almost guiltless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      This is a wonderful dessert that is pretty enough to impress guests or for a special occasion. I used peaches instead of cherries. We all loved it and I am sure we will make again. Thanks Julesong!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Julia Child's Cherry Clafouti

    Serving Size: 1 (140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 246.9
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    16%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 100.1 mg
    33%
    Sodium 109.4 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.3 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 32.4 g
    129%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes