64 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was completely skeptical, despite the rave reviews. I don't know why this method works, but it does. Delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Pallack December 05, 2011

These certainly were juicy. I too added a couple drops of liquid smoke but otherwise followed recipe as written. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour July 05, 2010

Thank you for sharing! This is the only way I will make burgers on the grill from now on. I had a little A-1 marinade left over, so I added that to the ice water and it was great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IngridinSC May 14, 2010

I saw this recipe and I was very skeptical about making my hamburgers this way. This was the best hamburger I have EVER had!! I added bbq sauce lipton onion soup mix and worchestershire sauce. After I made these I called three family members to tell them all about it. Thank you soooo much for such a wonderful recipe. I will always be using this recipe for my hamburgers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
waffles823 April 16, 2009

Excellent burgers! I added liquid smoke and steak sauce to the ice water and pan fried them. They were very flavorful and juicy. Thank you so much for posting this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
More Sunshine February 16, 2009

This was the bomb!!!! The burger was so juicy and delicious. I loved that the recipes was so easy to do. Great recipe!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cbwi11iams January 18, 2013

Loved everything about this!! I followed exactly, as I don't think a "burger" needs a whole of anything, except - juiciness. When you are grilling the smoke just permeates the burger, and it is simply wonderful. Thank you for sharing your recipe, Marie!! Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm September 30, 2012

I just saw this recipe and decided to try them. After reading other reviews, I did add a little bit or worcestershire but otherwise I followed the recipe. The burgers were awesome. So simple but totally great. Thank you so much.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VP22 September 15, 2012

I too, like other reviewers, did not have ice cubes (teenagers who never refill) BUT, what I did have was frozen blueberries. I thought, what the heck, and crushed the blueberries and added them in with some Worcestershire sauce, garlic, BACON SALT (I know!!!), pepper and cilantro.

MMMMMMMmmmm good and juicy. THANK YOU, OP, for this great starter recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brenda_Lee December 24, 2011
Juicy Hamburgers