Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Juicy Cornish Game Hens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Juicy Cornish Game Hens

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on September 19, 2007

      Outstanding recipe!!! I add more to the basting sauce because I love chili powder. The taste is OUT OF THIS WORLD!!!!You've got to boil the sauce down after the hens are done and use it to eat with them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      Very nice! We had this for dinner tonight. After baking the hens, I had a bit of glaze left over in the pan, which I boiled down a bit & slathered on each piece before serving. My dh said he's not a huge fan of cornish hens, so I will make this again with chicken. But I really enjoyed it. Thank you very much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      Nice glazed skin. Just a wonderful recipe to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      Very simple, and makes a nice presentation. A little bland for my taste, but that can be easily remedied next time. Adding to my recipe box!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      Very good. A lot of messy work to cut the hens in half, but they looked great all browned and crispy on the outside. I baked them for 45 minutes and they were slightly dry, so next time I'd decrease the cooking time by 5 or 10 minutes or use a meat thermometer to be sure. The chili butter had nice subtle flavor... next time I'd add onion powder and some minced garlic for a little extra flavor. Thanks for a nice dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2007

      Yes, it's juicy! I've been baking these hens for over 20 years and couldn't overcome the dryness of the white meat. Honey and chili go great together, and they look gorgeously brown.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      An absolute winner!! I love how easy it is to prepare. I used orange concentrate and prepared the hens in the am and cooked them for dinner later. Served with green beans, corn and tomatoes and wild rice, it made a terrific presentation as well as a great tasting meal. Thanks for the post Chuck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2007

      These were good but they seemed to be missing something. I'm an herb girl so next time I'll add some herbs to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      We just made this as part of a Thanksgiving dinner for two. The hens were amazingly moist and delicious. We usually roast them whole, but this made a much tastier meal. The honey and orange worked very well with the chili powder -- we used ancho chilis and really loved the zip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2006

      Fantastic. Very interesting list of ingredients, that blended so well with each other. Served this with Savory Rice and 'so Simple' Cauliflower Mash Thanks Chuck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      Now, I have made many recipes from recipezaar. This is the only one that has compelled me to write a review for! I absolutely loved this dish. My husband was so impressed. I might have to make this once a week now. A Very tasty meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      very good...i had to adjust for a family of 5. i baked with skin side down for 15 min. vs. 6-8 and increased final baking time to 60 minutes; basted half-way through, again. easy to prepare and family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2006

      I made this for Christmas dinner and it turned out fabulous. It was easy to make, everyone loved and it made a nice presentation. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2005

      Oh my god this was soooo good! My boyfriend usually doesnt have a big appetite so I only made one hen for the two of us, and he was looking for seconds! I also added orange slices to the bottom of the pan as someone suggested, and it came out great! The hardest part was cutting out the backbone and the little bones, but it was worth the time! Thanks for the recipe I will definately make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2005

      Made this tonight for dinner and it came out great. Me and my DH enjoyed it immensely. For orange juice, I used a real orange and then lined bottom of casserole dish with 4 orange slices. Thanks will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      I agree with all of the other reviews. This is juicy and flavorful. I fixed this for our Easter dinner and we all loved it. I've got leftovers that I can't wait to dig into. I'm thinking that next time I make it though I will inject the breasts with some of the wonderful sauce to get even more of it's flavor into the meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2004

      Chuck....made these yesterday...awsome, really 10 stars!!!I didn't have honey so I used maple syrup....what a great taste....this is surely a keeper...thanks Chuck

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2004

      Occasionally one just has to try a new combination of ingredients. I hesitated on the chili powder but went with the recipe as printed. The flavor was fantastic. They were juicy, moist and so incredibly good. Made for an impressive meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2004

      I was cooking 8 hens so you can imagine I had to increase the sauce. I had two big trays full of hens lol.... I basted them a couple of times but I don't think it was necessary. They looked wonderful and everyone thot they were great. My son ate 3 halves. thanks for posting this Chuck... Lee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2004

      This is a wonderful! The sauce is simple yet amazing. Hard to beat that! A big hit in this house and a keeper. Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Juicy Cornish Game Hens

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 297.6
     
    Calories from Fat 143
    48%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 139.2 mg
    46%
    Sodium 227.6 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 24.5 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes