68 Reviews

Tasty! Recipe was very easy! Quick and very well liked by the hubby and the kids.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brittmnelson25 November 04, 2015

This recipe is fantastic! My husband and daughter are both picky eaters, and I was worried they wouldn't like it, but both gobbled it down. Like some others, the only thing I changed was seasoning the hen with salt and pepper rather than putting it in the sauce. It's so easy and delicious, can't go wrong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy S. September 01, 2015

I had invited a longtime friend for dinner and decided to try this recipe for the first time...this has to be one of the best dinners I have ever made i was somewhat stunned as to how good the hens tasted...I tried cooking the hens for half hour skin down and turning them over, basting them and cooking for another half hour...fantastic...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dcrhodesian42 July 28, 2015

Per some other reviews, marinated all day, and also added garlic and some dried herbs. Very easy and tasty. Will try on the grill next time. For those that commented on it being difficult to split the hens, use kitchen shears, super easy. Have to giggle at those that don't like cornish hens but like chicken, the cornish hens you buy in the grocery store are just immature broiler chickens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joannpence April 23, 2015

Excellent, the only thing I changed. Was after I washed and dried the Cornish Hens I had season the hens. But other than that this is a very good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DIVACHEF2THY10THPOWER January 11, 2015

The sauce was great. I took the other reviewers advice and doubled the sauce recipe. We served this over rice with some of the sauce poured on top, my family liked it a lot. Next time I think I'll marinate the hens for a few hours because all the flavor was on the outside.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvcookies! October 13, 2014

I can't believe that I have forgotten to rate this recipe! I've made it three times now and love it every time. If you make it don't change a thing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka February 10, 2014

The birds were very juicy and had a nice mild flavor. The recipe deserves 5 stars. This was my first experience with Cornish game hens and probably my last. They tasted just like chicken. I guess I expected a slightly different flavor. For the money, chicken is a better alternative.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spencer #2 December 07, 2012

Wow was easy and good...I get so tired of figuring out what to fix for dinner..my husband is extra picky..and he was most enthusiastic about this recipe. I wondered after I fixed it if sauce would also be good on chicken..as it is so easy and tasty.

The next morning after having the hens for dinner..he said he would eat leftovers for breakfast!
Couldn't believe I was hearing that from such a picky man!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wyeriver December 05, 2012

Quite enjoyed this recipe. Haven't had Cornish game hens for a long time so this was a nice treat! I would do this one again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl November 29, 2012
Juicy Cornish Game Hens