Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Juicy Cornish Game Hens Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Juicy Cornish Game Hens

    Average Rating:

    60 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 60

    Sort by:

    • on December 25, 2011

      Delicious! I made it for Xmas dinner. I did change it slightly....I sprinkled the salt and pepper directly onto the hens and marinated it in the butter/paprika/orange juice/ honey sauce for 12 hours. Then I basted it with extra sauce I made on the side, in which I added basil and Rosemary, every 10 minutes when baking. easy and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      I hate this recipe because it is so good I ate the whole thing! I simply could not pass up on the wonderful glazed skin , I even had trouble leaving the bones! The hen was fall off the bones tender & moist The flavor was heaven;y. I cut the recipe in half doing only 1 hen for the two of us and it worked perfectly. The only change I made was to cook the hen for 25 minutes without the glaze and then basted the hen with the glaze and continued baking for a further 25 minutes. Chuck this is a winner Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2013

      My family loved this. I didn't have any orange juice though so I used lemon juice, worked great. Made extra sauce for dipping. Thank you for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      This is a great recipe! Very easy, but no one will ever know going by the taste and the presentation. I put 2 thin orange slices under each half of hen, and used about 2 tablespoons of the juice from the remaining orange. Both times I have fixed it, it has come out amazing. I'm not a fan of chili powder, so I was very surprised at how wonderful I thought this dish was.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      YUMMY!!! Not only is it EASY...but fabulously TASTY!!! Someone else had mentioned that it lacked herbs or flavor...so I added 2 large cloves of minced garlic [per someone else's suggestion] to the mixture and it was scrumptious. I also put salt and pepper on the hens directly prior to baking. Not at all greasy! Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      I use this recipe and my cornish hens were perfect. I made them for my parents and it was the first time that they had it and they really liked it. I left out the chili powder and used rosemary and thyme instead

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2014

      The sauce was great. I took the other reviewers advice and doubled the sauce recipe. We served this over rice with some of the sauce poured on top, my family liked it a lot. Next time I think I'll marinate the hens for a few hours because all the flavor was on the outside.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      I can't believe that I have forgotten to rate this recipe! I've made it three times now and love it every time. If you make it don't change a thing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2013

      WOW! This was the first time I have EVER made cornish hens and they turned our fantastic. This recipe is named appropriately, because they did turn out juicy. I follow the "sauce" recipe and that turned out great. I did add a few things. I salt & peppered the hens on both sides and place sliced onion and garlic on top, as the skin side was placed down. When I flipped them, i made sure the onion and garlic was underneath as they cooked. The "sauce" isn't over powering, which is why I like this reciped so much. Thanks for posting this wonderful keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2012

      The birds were very juicy and had a nice mild flavor. The recipe deserves 5 stars. This was my first experience with Cornish game hens and probably my last. They tasted just like chicken. I guess I expected a slightly different flavor. For the money, chicken is a better alternative.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      Wow was easy and good...I get so tired of figuring out what to fix for dinner..my husband is extra picky..and he was most enthusiastic about this recipe. I wondered after I fixed it if sauce would also be good on chicken..as it is so easy and tasty.

      The next morning after having the hens for dinner..he said he would eat leftovers for breakfast!
      Couldn't believe I was hearing that from such a picky man!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2012

      Quite enjoyed this recipe. Haven't had Cornish game hens for a long time so this was a nice treat! I would do this one again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

    • on September 13, 2011

      This is a great recipe!! So easy to do, I love it! I had to sub in Emeril's Original Essence instead of chili powder. It was very good, my wife even liked it and she doesn't like anything I make, lol!! Thanks again for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      This was good. It was simple to make and flavorful. Thanks Chuck in Killbuck for sharing. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I would recommend adding 2-3 more teaspoons of chili powder to the liquid mixture. Also, the mixture did not leech very well beyond the skin, but for that, I can provide another solution or reccomendation. Oh, the drippings mixture makes an excellant dipping sauce for teared chicken pieces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

    • on June 23, 2009

      We really tried to like these, but there was something missing. The hens DID come out juicy, though, but way too bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      Excellent recipe. This was my first time making cornish game hens and they came out perfectly. I added garlic and basil to basting sauce and used remaining to dip in...so yummy! I also cooked on orange slices as suggested. Will definetly make again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Sorry, but I didn't care for the flavor of the sauce. I could taste the chili powder and it just didn't taste right. I was surprised that one of my kids ate it - other didn't, but she's very picky. Chicken cooked up nice and was very juicy, but the taste wasn't for me....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Juicy Cornish Game Hens

    Serving Size: 1 (156 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 297.6
     
    Calories from Fat 143
    48%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 139.2 mg
    46%
    Sodium 227.6 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 13.4 g
    53%
    Protein 24.5 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites