62 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I hate this recipe because it is so good I ate the whole thing! I simply could not pass up on the wonderful glazed skin , I even had trouble leaving the bones! The hen was fall off the bones tender & moist The flavor was heaven;y. I cut the recipe in half doing only 1 hen for the two of us and it worked perfectly. The only change I made was to cook the hen for 25 minutes without the glaze and then basted the hen with the glaze and continued baking for a further 25 minutes. Chuck this is a winner Thanks for sharing

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy September 15, 2003

Delicious! I made it for Xmas dinner. I did change it slightly....I sprinkled the salt and pepper directly onto the hens and marinated it in the butter/paprika/orange juice/ honey sauce for 12 hours. Then I basted it with extra sauce I made on the side, in which I added basil and Rosemary, every 10 minutes when baking. easy and delicious!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kcsam2 December 25, 2011

My family loved this. I didn't have any orange juice though so I used lemon juice, worked great. Made extra sauce for dipping. Thank you for sharing

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momma213 September 19, 2013

This is a great recipe! Very easy, but no one will ever know going by the taste and the presentation. I put 2 thin orange slices under each half of hen, and used about 2 tablespoons of the juice from the remaining orange. Both times I have fixed it, it has come out amazing. I'm not a fan of chili powder, so I was very surprised at how wonderful I thought this dish was.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashleym#4 January 21, 2009

YUMMY!!! Not only is it EASY...but fabulously TASTY!!! Someone else had mentioned that it lacked herbs or flavor...so I added 2 large cloves of minced garlic [per someone else's suggestion] to the mixture and it was scrumptious. I also put salt and pepper on the hens directly prior to baking. Not at all greasy! Thank you!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dizzyfreedom November 12, 2008

WOW! This was the first time I have EVER made cornish hens and they turned our fantastic. This recipe is named appropriately, because they did turn out juicy. I follow the "sauce" recipe and that turned out great. I did add a few things. I salt & peppered the hens on both sides and place sliced onion and garlic on top, as the skin side was placed down. When I flipped them, i made sure the onion and garlic was underneath as they cooked. The "sauce" isn't over powering, which is why I like this reciped so much. Thanks for posting this wonderful keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Flanagan March 19, 2013

I use this recipe and my cornish hens were perfect. I made them for my parents and it was the first time that they had it and they really liked it. I left out the chili powder and used rosemary and thyme instead

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pbrown December 31, 2007

Per some other reviews, marinated all day, and also added garlic and some dried herbs. Very easy and tasty. Will try on the grill next time. For those that commented on it being difficult to split the hens, use kitchen shears, super easy. Have to giggle at those that don't like cornish hens but like chicken, the cornish hens you buy in the grocery store are just immature broiler chickens.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joannpence April 23, 2015

Excellent, the only thing I changed. Was after I washed and dried the Cornish Hens I had season the hens. But other than that this is a very good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DIVACHEF2THY10THPOWER January 11, 2015

The sauce was great. I took the other reviewers advice and doubled the sauce recipe. We served this over rice with some of the sauce poured on top, my family liked it a lot. Next time I think I'll marinate the hens for a few hours because all the flavor was on the outside.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvcookies! October 13, 2014
Juicy Cornish Game Hens