11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A new favorite. I baked the the eggplant because we are avoiding frying. Other than adding garlic to the tomatoes I followed the recipe to the letter. Fresh Mozzarella took it over the top. I served with a side of pasta and roasted asparagus. Great cookin S'kat!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
riffraff March 20, 2003

The flavor of this is wonderful but I must have done something wrong. The dish just turned into a mushy, cheesy mess. Is it supposed to be like that or was the eggplant supposed to hold its shape a bit?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandy_in_VT August 19, 2013

I think there's an error in this recipe. If you just pat the eggplant dry after sweating and don't rinse it off this comes out horribly salty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindymancini2000 March 19, 2009

YUCH ! Threw it all out. Waaayyy tooooo salty. I even wiped the salt off the eggplant first AND I DIDN'T add any salt to the tomatoes like the recipe called for. If I had my blood tested right now I think my sodium level would be critically high. Don't get me wrong - I like salt - but this was inedible.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
red setter February 05, 2009

It wasn't too bad to make time wise, The eggplant looked rough after it sweated, but forged ahead anyway...with no regrets. It never got to the "freezing stage".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Old College Kid September 05, 2006

I thought this was good...but I made a little mistake and over salted the eggplant while I was sweating it so mine was a little salty. I did halve this recipe and layer in a 8x3 loaf pan since I am cooking only for 2. I froze this after layering it in the pan, then took out of the freezer the night before and defrosted in the fridge till it was time to bake as directed above. Update: I have since made this again, a little lighter on the salt this time and I must say this is awesome!!!I did this time around make a double batch of the tomato part and then I split the recipe into 2 8x3 loaf pans, which one I froze for another day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef jessica June 09, 2006

Using ricotta cheese, mixed with an egg is a big plus, to the layering process. Also...using italian bread crumbs for the eggplant is what i've always used...and seems to add some flair.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
philcraine February 22, 2006

I made this recipe a few months ago and somehow forgot to submit a review! this is fabulous!! I made everything from scratch and froze before baking. It was wonderful--still very good after being frozen. Like Riffraff, I baked the eggplant instead of frying it to save some calories for that wonderful fresh mozzarella!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spatchcock August 23, 2004
Judy's Eggplant (Aubergine) Parm