Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Judy's Egg Foo Yong Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Judy's Egg Foo Yong

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 31, 2009

      Quick, easy, and a great way to clean out the vegetable drawer! I used a combination of broccoli, celery, onion, green onion, bell pepper and shredded carrot. It came to about 3 cups of veggies total. I left the meat out and used 8 eggs. I added a little grated ginger to the egg mixture and I also added some to the sauce (doubled) along with a tablespoon of oyster sauce and a 1/2 teaspoon of sesame oil. Served with rice. My kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2008

      This was my first time making Egg Foo and it was wonderful. Actually, I've now made it twice. I used fresh bean sprouts and added some cabbage and bok choy. I kept it vegetarian and it was delish! I will add some meat next time. Thanks for sharing! P.S. This makes an EXCELLENT low-carb meal...tasty and satisfying

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      This recipe truly deserves 5 stars. My family loved it. My 10yo son can't stand to eat eggs, but he loves this recipe, so I'll probably start serving it for breakfast. I might add a bit of oyster sauce and white pepper to the sauce next time, but that's about all I would change. Thanks for posting this recipe, Judy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      Been making this on a regular basis since I found your recipe, sorry haven't reviewed til now. This is wonderful, have made it with shrimp as well. I cut the recipe in half, use fresh sprouts and sliced mushrooms, also a couple handfuls of coleslaw mix and saute' in nonstick skillet (nofat) til coleslaw is whimpy, then add beaten eggs, cover cook til set and browned on bottom then turn and brown on otherside. The sauce is what makes it! Sometimes I make it with only the sprouts and coleslaw mix but always the sauce. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2005

      Okay - the recipe could really use some tidying up because I kept having to go back and read the narrative and make sure I was doing everything right. It just needs to be bulleted out a little more so that it is easier to read. Having said that, the end product is ABSOLUTELY WORTH IT. This was my first time to try and make egg fu yung. I did it with my DH -- I put it together and he cooked up the patties. He doesn't like bean sprouts so we left these out. We added a couple of chopped mild chillies because we love chillies in everything. Our chosen meat was chicken which I chopped up pretty small -- I will say that it does seem important that everything is chopped small so that the patties don't break up. I started with 5 eggs and ended up adding 2 more for 7 total. We served the patties hot over brown rice with the sauce -- truly delicious. The next day we ate them over green salads for lunch. I still had a couple left over patties but they appear to have disappeared from the fridge...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2013

      I wish I had a photo to upload, but it was all gone before I had the chance!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      WONDERFUL! I'm no whiz in the kitchen, but even I could do this with no problem and it turned out great. I tweaked it a little bit...added 3 tablespoons of hoisin sauce to the egg mixture for added flavor. A dollop of Chinese bead molasses would be good, too, but it's hard to find...the only place I can get it is at Asian grocery stores (regular supermarkets don't seem to carry it). The original recipe called for peanut oil to cook the patties, but I can't buy it in small bottles here so I used an Asian stir fry oil instead. The recipe also advised to drain as much liquid as possible from the canned veggies--a great tip is to throw all the veggies into a big piece of cheesecloth or a "flour sack" towel (buy these no-fuzz towels at WalMart) and s-q-u-e-e-z-e all the excess water out. Double or triple the sauce ingredients, cook REAL rice (no instant stuff) in a rice steamer for the side dish, and you've got low-carb Chinese restaurant perfection!! Thanks, Judy, for a real winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      Super Egg Foo Yong! I made this with leftover chicken and subbed fresh mushrooms and sprouts. As per another reviewer I also added a bit of sesame oil to the eggs for a little boost in Asian flavour. The sauce was very good as written but I could resist adding a bit of hoisin to it. We devoured them. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      This is a definite keeper! My DH, who has eaten more Egg Foo Yong than any Caucasian man has a right to have eaten, gave it a thumbs up : ) I followed the recipe pretty closely, other than substituting fresh vegetables. Tips that helped me: 1) I steamed the broccoli and bean sprouts and dry sauteed all the carrots and mushrooms 2) I ran all filler ingredients, including the cooked turkey, in my Cusinart so that everything was finely chopped, 3) I used 3 cups of filler (meat and vegetables) to the 8 eggs and those proportions worked well and 4) I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to scoop the egg/vegetable/meat mixture into the pan. I started with hot oil and lowered the temperature to medium halfway through cooking because the oil was very hot. Having said all this, it was the sauce that made this dish ~ don't skip it! Definitely double the sauce recipe.

      I did freeze the leftovers so, hopefully, those will make for a quick meal later in the week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      I'll admit, this recipe freaked me out at first. I get nervous about egg dishes sometimes... but it was delicious! I made it for my husband because he loves egg foo young at our local chinese restaurant and I figured it couldn't be that hard to make! I was right, this recipe is easy and the flavor is spot on. You have to make the gravy and lots of it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      There are only a couple of dishes I eat when we dine at a Chinese restaurant and Egg Fu Yong is my number one choice and so is the way it is made. Oh My Gosh, This is absolutely devine and one of the best Egg Fu Yong dishes I have ever ate or made. This is super great & thanks for sharing!! ~Dawna

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      Very very good...left out the mushrooms,and still tasted great.Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      Unfortunately, this is one recipe I will not make again. It was more like an omelet rather than Egg Foo Yong. Very bland tasting, and somewhat messy to make. I had such high hope for it, but was very disappointed. Sorry...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      The family loved this, even though I was short 1 egg to start with and dropped another one on the floor in the process, so it did want to fall apart. I used just under a pound of fresh bean sprouts and about half a pound of fresh mushrooms, chopped. I also took your advice to double the sauce and we ate nearly all of it. Thanks also for the excellent directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Excellent recipe Hey Jude! Made them for dinner last night and served them with steamed brown rice and Chinese Lobster Sauce (Weight Watchers). Very easy to prepare. We never use the sauce so I didn't make it - we prefer to use duck sauce when we order them. The recipe yielded approximately 12 patties. Made this just for the two of us so I have plenty left over and will freeze them for another meal.....or two. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2007

      Thank you for an excellent recipe. I used fresh bean sprouts which I rinsed and drained and then microwaved on high for one minute and then drained again. I didn't have water chestnuts on hand and it was fine without them although I'll add them next time for the extra crunch. Frozen chopped shrimp worked great. I used canola oil in a well seasoned iron skillet and the patties browned perfectly. For two light eaters, I made a half recipe of the egg mix and a full recipe of the sauce. Along with some leftover Jasmine rice, we had a nice brunch with enough leftover for a tasty midnight snack. This recipe is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2006

      Wonderful Egg Fu Yung. This is the first recipe Ive ever made and this will be the last. SO yummy! I double the sauce and serve with rice. Instead of water chesnuts I use bamboo shoots. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2006

      Loved it! I doubled the sauce so we had something to put on our rice. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2005

      These were wonderful! I used beef for the meat and I used 6 large eggs. I also used better than boulion beef in the sauce as someone else did who used beef as the meat. I followed your intstruction and wouldn't change a thing. I made them with Fried Rice Fried Rice and it was a great dinner. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2005

      All I can say is WOW! They were sooo good. I did use leftover steak, so when I made the sauce I subbed beef bouillon for the chicken, but that is the only change I made. I did make the mistake of not reading the directions all the way through tho and ended up with too much oil in the pan, so I had to be careful not to "lose" them in there but it worked out ok. All in all these were really very east to put together, and we will definitely be having these again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Judy's Egg Foo Yong

    Serving Size: 1 (443 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 319.0
     
    Calories from Fat 114
    35%
    Total Fat 12.6 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.0 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 412.0 mg
    137%
    Sodium 686.3 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.5 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 7.4 g
    29%
    Protein 33.9 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites