Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Judi's Seasoning Salt Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Judi's Seasoning Salt

    Average Rating:

    29 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 29

    Sort by:

    • on August 23, 2011

      This stuff is DELICIOUS! I didn't have celery salt, so I ground up some celery seed (about a half teaspoon) and added an extra teaspoon of [kosher] salt. Also, the turmeric makes a huge difference. It adds a background flavor that is insanely good, but so in harmony with the other spices that it's difficult to isolate. To my second batch I added half as much more turmeric than the recipe calls for, and it was even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      Why thank you for this wonderful recipe. It cured my child of blindness. ;-) Made for Pantry Challenge recipe tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      Made this for Zaar Cookbook tag game. I used kosher salt and added just about 1 tsp. of dry mustard but otherwise followed the directions. Used in our hamburgers for lunch and we really enjoyed it. I will be using it on more...the chicken tonight. Thank you.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Silly me but I must of put back my spice jar empty. So this was really great being that I had everything in my spice pantry to make this. I added about a tsp. of dry mustard and beef bouillon granules and I used Kosher salt not regular salt. This is fantastic, I won't even bother buying the other stuff anymore. Thank so much for the posted recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      Would you believe I couldn't find seasoning salt at the grocery store?! Once again, Zaar is to the rescue...This turned out to be a very good mix! This is cheaper and tastier than the ones in the grocery store. These are very common ingredients that I had in my pantry (except for tumeric - which I left out). I also cut the salt in half as suggested by some. Thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      Just the right amount of finished product and great measurements. I wasn't a huge fan of the turmeric because I thought it overpowered my chicken a tad and would most likely leave it out next time. Otherwise yum! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2013

      This is simply wonderful!!! Enough said.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      I doubled this, with the exception of using only 4 tbls of sea salt (1/4 cup) and celery seed rather than salt. I used a 1/2 cup of the seasoning to make 2 lbs of boiled green peanuts. I boiled them for 24 hours in a crockpot and added water as needed. Adding the water did not take away from the flavor! They came out perfect! I love this blend and thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2012

      I'm so happy I found this recipe. I've been using it for months now and I use it on practically everything. It's so much more flavourful than the store variety. The combination of spices give it such depth. I made a big batch and shared with my Mum.
      Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2011

    • on August 05, 2011

      Very nice blend. Ran out of the brand name stuff at my restaurant and found this one. Did not have celery salt so used celery seed and the celery seed was overpowering. Doubled the recipe again and left out celery seed the second time. Combined both batches and wow! The flavor was amazing and we sprinkled a little on the home made fries. The customers complimented us on a regular basis. Thank you for the post. If you are looking for a seasoning salt recipe this is the one! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      My recipe calls for a seasoning salt and so I went to search zaar and found your recipe. It was very good. The amount is just fine. Thank your for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      I had run out of the store bought stuff and I had all these ingredients on hand so thought, "Why not?" I won't buy store bought stuff anymore. This worked out great. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      I used this on some hash browns and it tasted wonderful. I really sprinkled it on good as I was frying it and it gave the hash browns a wonderful color. Can't wait to try it on all types of meat. I didn't have any cayenne pepper on hand so I substituted it with chili powder. This is a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      Whenever I have a recipe that calls for seasoning salt...this is what I use. I also use this if I make something that tastes bland. I like that this seasoning includes the health benefits associated with turmeric and cayenne. Thank you...Tweeky...for posting this and contributing to my collection of fabulous recipes. Sincerely, Sherry Belle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Loved the flavor of this salt. Just the right amounts of everything. Will be my new "to to" recipe for seasoning salt. Thnx for sharing your recipe, Tweeky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      This truly is better than the store bought stuff. I love the turmeric addition. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      What a great combination of flavours. I used this for Kittencal's Best Blasted Rapid-Roast Whole Chicken and it turned out a very flavourful chicken. Glad to have this mixed and in my cupboard. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      This was so easy to make! I had everything on hand, though I used kosher salt instead of regular salt. I might actually cut down the amount of salt in the next batch, since there's so many wonderful flavours in there already and I tend to find things too salty anyway. I used this in a rub for my ribs, which are in the oven as I type this. Can't wait to eat!! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Yes, v good basis for lots of tasty stuff from company roasts to BBQ steaks or just cheese on toast. Personally, I leave out the turmeric, reduce the salt by half and add some mustard powder, a little mixed herbs, some beef stock and some cornflower. Yum yum. I also make this without any salt to use on brined steaks etc - to avoid them being too salty. NB I love salty food. I'm not a salt hater by any means. I'm saying that this is v salty. You can get more flavour into your food without making it stupidly salty by making this with less salt and then using lots... I like it so much that I filled another salt-cellar with it and put it on everything! Thanks for v good recipe that is easily adjustable to suit personal needs/tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Judi's Seasoning Salt

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 212.8
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    15%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 62883.3 mg
    2620%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 11.3 g
    45%
    Sugars 16.0 g
    64%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes