Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Joshua's Favorite Tilapia With Jasmine Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Joshua's Favorite Tilapia With Jasmine Rice

    Average Rating:

    76 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 76

    Sort by:

    • on July 01, 2010

      Really good and SO easy!!! Even my boys enjoyed it. After the tilapia was cooked, I threw a bunch of fresh spinach on top and put a lid on it to wilt. Used brown rice (what we prefer), but that was the only change. I don't think I even used 1/4 cup of salad dressing, and that is such a low cal/fat way to prepare it. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2014

      Thank you for the recipe, I didn't have all the ingredients so what I did was substitute balsamic vinaigrette for Italian dressing, garlic salt for regular salt, and dried parsley for cumin and Old Bay. Regardless, the tilapia came out soooo delicious! Next time hopefully I can try it with the original ingredients, but thank you for the initial recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2013

      This was pretty good but the salad dressing was a little overpowering to the fish. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2013

      We really enjoyed this dish. The kids 2 & 5 ate it without a problem. We had this with sugar snap peas and wild rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2012

      I thought it was OK. One son liked it, the other didn't. I was in the middle. I might make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      we all 4 ate it kids too. It tasted okay, it was not bad just wouldn't be excited about making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      Well, Shirley, I finally got some Old Bay seasoning on a trip to Buffalo so I was able to finally try this recipe. We just loved it. The only change I made was to substitute basmati rice for the jasmine rice as I don't really care for jasmine rice. Otherwise, it's a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      This was really good and easy. I didn't have fat free on hand, I used Wishbone Robusto italian dressing. Served with my "fried" cabbage. Thanks for sharing with me Shirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      We liked the flavor well enough but I had a big problem with it sticking to the pan. After reading reviews that mentioned the dressing being overpowering I used just a little bit and that might have been the problem. I think I will try this again but I will pour a little dressing in the bottom of a baking dish and bake it and see if that works better for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      I have no idea what went wrong for us with this recipe but none of us liked it and I ended up throwing the entire pan of fish away. I followed directions exactly except I used a different brand of dressing then the one mentioned. We thought the dressing taste overpowered everything and that the fish was very salty. Thanks for the recipe though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Very good! I used Mahi and a Tuscan Italian dressing. My 4 yr old ate a ton! Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      My husband like the dish, so I am giving it the 3 stars on his behalf, however, I didn't care for it at all. I followed the directions exactly but I wish to heaven I'd left off the Italian Salad Dressing. It overpowered the entire dish and utterly ruined it in my opinion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      So easy and so yummy! even my hubby who doesnt like fish would eat this again! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      Mighty tasty. I followed the directions exactly and it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      So good and easy!!! Next time I think, I'll just take it a little easier on the salt. My husband thought I was a cooking genius when he had this dish. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Absolutely AMAZING!!! This is one of the best recipes for Tilapia that I have tried. I was initially skeptical because of the cumin but even if you have to go and make a special trip, make sure you use it! The seasonings blend so well with the nature of the fish, it is sure to be a big hit at any dinne party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2009

      My family really enjoyed this recipe. I will definitiely make this again. I made 8 fillets and there were no leftovers my husband eight half. I actually served it with a julienne potato and brocolli casserol. In the future I will cut down on the itilian dressing as I used a non stick pan that didn't need as much. Overall, I was very pleased. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      This was so easy and so good! I made a few changes: eliminated Old Bay Seasoning because I didn't have any and sprinkled a little Parmesan cheese on top. I also served it with garlic mashed potatoes and steamed asparagus with red peppers. Next time, and there will be a next time, I'll use less cumin and drop the Parmesan cheese (because you couldn't taste it). Thank you Shirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      Wonderful recipe. The spices gave the tilapia a nice "kick." We couldn't find jasmine rice so just used brown. Thanks for sharing, Shirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Loved this! My husband didn't like the smell of the Old Bay Seasoning but it tasted great. I think next time I will not use the cumin. The Italian dressing is wonderful. I didn't use the rice 'cause my kids wanted a mock mashed potatoes (made with cauliflower) and it went well together along with some wilted spinach which I used as a bed for the fish. I'll make this meal again for sure. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Joshua's Favorite Tilapia With Jasmine Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 394.6
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    14%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 373.0 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 75.9 g
    25%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Old Bay Seasoning

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes