117 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

OMG...I'm not a cook, but spent time researching recipes one could freeze in advance...out of town group visiting and wanted easy pop-in-the-oven appetizers. This recipe was a huge success...have used it on 3 occasions and each time received requests for the recipe....as reviewers suggested used 1/2 cup butter, 1 can of chilies and 1 tablespoon finely chopped jalapenos to add a kick...I'm tellin' ya....people love 'em !!! Oh, I prepared the mix and bread...put in freezer on sheet for 15 minutes to set, then put in bag and froze until needed. Baked for 10 minutes at 350 (this really toasted and crisped the bread) then broiled a minute or two until bubbly....these might be even better frozen as the baking really crisps them up.....

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fwgal July 12, 2010

These are fast, easy and delicious. I made these for a family potluck because they can be served with anything. They were a big hit. The recipe can be easily improvised for what you have on hand- I have substituted the chilies for fresh diced tomatoes with fresh basil crushed into the mixture- delicious.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breyan November 18, 2010

Wow! This recipe is a home run. Easy, yummy, and even taste great a few days later...just zap in the microwave for a few seconds to warm up and enjoy. That is, if you have any left. They get gobbled up. (I hid a few in the fridge for later, LOL).

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
funkycamper March 02, 2010

These were fabulous, and a big hit with my guests. Instead of running them under the broiler, though, I put them on the outdoor grill, lowered the lid, and they were nice and crisp and gooey. I will definitely be making these again (indoors too)! Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! August 27, 2009

I made these to go along with our Italian dinner and they were yummy. I just made half a recipe and used regular bread since that's all I had but they still turned out fantastic! I added some fresh jalapeno & basil from our garden along with some salt but otherwise followed as written. We loved them and will definitely be making them again. Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit Katchen July 07, 2011

Great, easy recipe. I just use whatever bread I have on hand.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
care516 August 16, 2010

I made these for Bunco and they were a hit. I cute back a bit on the butter and added a little more light mayo. It worked out great. I didn't measure too much... seemed like it didn't matter too much.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wittlebit83 March 15, 2010

Oh my these are glorious little morsels!! I made exactly as posted and they were fabulous. I have some left over and I think I will freeze it for future use. Next time, I think I will 1/2 the butter and added some jalapenos as other reviewers have mentioned. Thank you Lorac, for this wonderful and versatile recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PleasantNancy November 28, 2010

I'm not impressed with this as an appetizer, but it is good garlic bread for an italian meal. I did not taste the chilies at all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5hungrykids October 21, 2010

I make this recipe alot. Everytime I feel like a superhero. Everyone LOVES it. Cant go wrong here! Wonderful served with spicey soups for dipping.. Great recipe Lorac!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leigh in WA May 17, 2010
Josephinas