Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jollof Chicken and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jollof Chicken and Rice

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2012

      Definitely a five-star recipe! I prepared this lovely fragrant and very flavourful dish using freshly grated ginger, fresh thyme and a cinnamon stick to replace the dried spices and I was pleased with the results. I followed the recipe up to step 8, when I added the rice I put the ingredients into a large covered casserole and finished the cooking in the oven for 35 minutes. The rice was perfectly cooked. Prepared for the New African Recipe Tag Game in the African forum February 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      A very nice dish! It is so fragrant, with a lot of great flavors. We really liked the spices in this. Thanks for sharing! ZWT7

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      Excellent! I was surprised by how much I LOVED this recipe. It's super easy to put together, smells wonderful while cooking and tastes amazing. Don't skip the cinnamon, it makes this recipe special. Yummy! Made for ZWT 7 for the Golden Gourmets. Naa goodee (Thank you in Nigerian)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      This was a very flavorful and satisfying meal. The flavors complimented each other very well. While this is nothing like the jollof rice I enjoyed in Chicago at Vee Vee's restaurant, it was still pleasant nonetheless. It is more like jambalaya as you mentioned. Thank you for the recipe, I'm sure I'll be cooking it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      This is my absolute favorite chicken recipe of all time! I had this recipe years ago in an Avon cookbook, but lost the cookbook. This is a delicious way to prepare chicken, and I haven't served it to anyone who didn't like it! Thanks for posting, I'll be making this tonight for supper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Enjoyed this chicken recipe a lot. Very easy to make and all the ingredients I had on hand. I used two packages of chicken breast tenderloins and petite diced tomatoes. Had brown rice so used that and dried parsley. Wonderful warm flavor from the cinnamon and ginger. Would make this again! Made and reviewed for ZWT 4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      This dish was OK, but did nothing special for my family or me. The spices gave it an interesting combination of flavors. I did use brown jasmine rice which required a longer cooking time. OK for an easy weeknight dinner, to throw all ingredients into a pan and simmer. Made and tested for 2008 All New Zaar Cookbooks Tag: Cooking Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      Such simple ingredients, but the seasoning blend gives it a lovely complex flavor. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts that I cubed, so it was done in about 50 minutes. Tasted great! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      Wow, this dish was amazing. It was quick and easy to make, using ingredients I always have in the pantry. I used chicken thighs and they were moist and juicy, the rice was rich and flavourful, the seasoning blend was perfect. I'll be making this again often. Thank so very much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jollof Chicken and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (319 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 479.2
     
    Calories from Fat 233
    48%
    Total Fat 25.9 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 6.7 g
    33%
    Cholesterol 103.5 mg
    34%
    Sodium 556.7 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 29.7 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites