Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jolean's Franks & Sauerkraut Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jolean's Franks & Sauerkraut

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on November 13, 2008

      I love sauerkraut and hot dogs but I usually open a can of kraut and warm it up with the hot dogs in a skillet, no extras added. This recipe was very good and I enjoyed the sweet sour flavor. Had a 32 ounce jar of Clausen sauerkraut and Ball Park bun lenth hot dogs and instead of the 1/2 cup of water I used the juice from the kraut. Next time I will chop the onion finely as I didnt care for the larger pieces and I only used 1 tablespoon of brown sugar. Served with mashed potatoes and enjoyed my supper very much! Made and reviewed for the In Memory Of Stacky5's cookathon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      A really nice way to fix kraut and sausage or dogs. I did cut back on the sugar (personal preference), and my sister's both said I could cut back even more. Otherwise, this is a great comfort food. Served with mashed potatoes. Thnx for posting, Stacky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2008

      This was an excellent and simple way to prepare kraut. The sauerkraut is very adaptable and I think this would be great with a mixture of wursts, such as smoked sausage, Polish sausage, chorizo, bockwurst, Mettwurst, franks or bratwurst. Thanks for sharing! ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2007

      Really easy to put together and a nice change from regular saurkraut! My bf said that this is "pretty good!" and I thought so, too. Actually, at first I was a little concerned, as the taste didn't strike me as that great right away. Halfway through my first serving, it kind of sank in nicely though. I did have to make one change; I had no red wine vinegar, so I had to sub that with apple cider vinegar. When I was measuring the amt though, the bottle tipped kind of heavily so I dunno if that's why it overpowered the kraut so much, or if it was just b/c of the kind of vinegar it was. Either way it was better tasting the longer I ate, hehe. I saved the leftover kraut for another dinner to mix with the leftover regular kraut (I halved the original recipe for 2 ppl). But omg you should have seen how the franks absorbed the liquid, they nearly tripled in size! I laughed when I opened the lid. I will let you know how this worked out for leftovers w/kielbasa. Oh, btw, the franks I used were Omaha Steaks brand gourmet beef. Thanks so much for sharing this Stacky! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      Great tasting! I modified to better suit my low carb diet by eliminating brown sugar and adding a couple of splashes of balsamic vinegar. I also used cajun spiced sausage. Easy and wonderful. I bet the leftovers will be great too. Thanks for posting. Smilynn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      Great lunch . . I used smoked brats instead of franks . . . thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      Stacky, the recipe sounds great and the franks in the photo look delicious. Can you tell me the brand name? Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2006

      I had this for lunch today. Very Good, thanks for submitting. Nick's Mom

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      I'm typically not wild about sauerkraut, but this recipe is an exception. The flavors blended so well, it was more like sweet/sour kraut, and very tasty. I used a real good quality beef frank and a regular hot dog bun. We'll be making this again, and I plan to make the sauerkraut when having brats next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      We really enjoyed this for dinner.Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2005

      Delicious! A simple, but filling meal with great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2005

      Quick, easy and delicious! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jolean's Franks & Sauerkraut

    Serving Size: 1 (174 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 317.2
     
    Calories from Fat 221
    69%
    Total Fat 24.6 g
    37%
    Saturated Fat 10.9 g
    54%
    Cholesterol 49.0 mg
    16%
    Sodium 1589.4 mg
    66%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.8 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 9.9 g
    39%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites