11 Reviews

I made this as directed with Red Killians. I have never tasted anything like it before. It was good. I didn't think it was too salty. I probably won't make it again, but I can't say anything bad about it either.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrivener1 April 06, 2014

My mother's favorite crockpot recipe. I really dislike olives but I love this. It is heavy on the sodium because of the olive brine so I don't salt the chicken. I use chicken thighs, the bones add flavor but if I use it for entertaining I use boneless. I pepper, paprika and lightly garlic powder the chicken then brown it in a pan. Then I combine a bottle of beer, the tomato paste and the liquid from a 7 oz jar of spanish olives in the pan I used for browning. This is a lot of liquid so I simmer it for a while to reduce it and concentrate the flavors. I add it to the chicken in the crockpot then pour in the olives and poke them under the sauce and let it cook on high for an hour then reduce to low for the rest of the day. Served with naked egg noodles so the noodles soak up the sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AS March 19, 2014

I can't believe that I have not reviewed this recipe. It is tangy and flavorful with moist, juicy chicken. DH and I love olives so this is a winner. The recipe is also great over buttered gnocchi. Thanks for posting one of our favorite recipes, Stacky5.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandabears October 17, 2012

This chicken is so tasty! My husband says it's the best chicken dish I make. I did some of these alterations: I used a whole chicken instead of breasts, I use adobo and paprika minus the salt (past reviewers said this recipe tends to be salty), and I add onions and garlic to the crock pot. Once the chicken was done, I threw fresh cilantro on top of the sauce and serve with rice. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linney15 October 16, 2012

I love this recipe! Hubby brought home green olives by mistake and the first thing I thought of was this recipe. Haven't made it in years but I am going to make it this week. Thank you for posting here Jolean!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loulou1476 September 19, 2011

Great recipe! I love Spanish chicken and this is a great crockpot recipe. As Michelle said, if you don't like olive, this isn't for you. The green olives are the key ingredient in this recipe. I wasn't able to use a crockpot when cooking it this time. I had no large crockpot, due to Hurricane Ike. I prepared it in a large skillet on the stovetop and used chicken broth instead of beer. I drained the juice from the olives and used extra chicken broth to make up the difference in the liquid amount. I also used boneless chicken breast tenders instead of the whole boneless breasts and substituted rotini for the egg noodles. The sauce was delicious. I'm thinking of doubling it next time I make the recipe because we wished there had been a little more to put on the pasta.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
islandgirl77551 November 23, 2008

This was a wonderful dish. I will say however, if you are lukewarm on lives, or do not like things a bit on the salty side this is NOT the dish for you. I, however love both, so this was right up my alley! I did sub boneless skinless thighs for the breasts and added a chopped onion and sauteed mushrooms for more veg. This is excellent served over buttered egg noodles. I enjoyed it so much I ate it for lunch and dinner one day! I felt the sauce "mellowed" over a day and the flavors melded more only adding to my enjoyment of this dish. I will make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. September 25, 2008

We liked this, but I don't know if I'd make it again. It had an unusual flavor- I felt like it needed more seasoning or less olives or something. I served this over rice and with a side of corn. The ease of preparation was nice on a busy day. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmyMCGS December 01, 2007

I love this recipe!!! I got this recipe with my crock pot in the 80s and I used to make it all the time. I got married 10 years ago and my husband doesn't eat olives so I haven't made it since. I have cravings for it. He's traveling so I looked all morning but can't find the crock pot recipe booklet it was in and I was praying I would find it online. This is an answer to prayer. Thank you for making my day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
campbellbrat March 03, 2007

Great! Thanks for such a great and easy recipe. Something about it is addictive.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
teale24 August 16, 2006
Jolean's Crock Pot Spanish Chicken