Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jolean's Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jolean's Chili

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on February 03, 2010

      This was delicious! It was very much enjoyed by the whole family. I used Tinkerbelle's suggestion and served it over spaghetti noodles with garlic cheesy bread on the side. I topped the spaghetti with shredded cheddar cheese.....it was sooooo good. I added a tablespoon Worcestershire sauce, a bay leaf, and a teaspoon each of dried oregano and basil and some fresh cracked black pepper and a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes to the recipe.I will use this for chili spaghetti all the time! R.I.P. Stacey, thanks for posting all these treasured wonderful recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      We really enjoyed this chili recipe. Great flavor to it and very easy to prepare. I didn't start in time to use the crock pot, so I let it simmer for about 2 hours on the stove. Delish! I served it over spaghetti noodles (as I do most often with chili) & garlic sourdough toast on the side. Made in remembrance of Stacy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      A really lovely Chili, great flavor, easy to make and easy on the pocket too! I served it with lots of crisp salads and crackers. thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      Absolutely wonderful chili! I forgot the celery at the store so that didn't end up in it but will not hesitate to add it next time. I combed this site for 3 hours looking for just the right chili and am so glad I picked this recipe. My picky husband loved it (rare for him) as well as I. Only substitution made was the kidney beans. What I had in the cupboard was way past the expiration date (which I found out at the last minute) so I used black beans which ended up being just as superb. Thank you very much for this 10 star recipe!! Note: this is a suber tasty base recipe. If you like hot chili you may need to adjust the heat level a bit up. Don't hesistate to give it a try thought as it's very very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      EXCELLENT and just wonderful full of flavor tasting chili! Your mom has a winner of a recipe here! Thanks for posting and thanks to your mom to Stacky5LRC....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      Wonderful! We had this for lunch yesterday, and I will definitely make it again. I love the rich tomato flavor of this chili! I didn't have mushrooms on hand, so I just left those out. I also added 1 t cayenne pepper. Thank you for sharing the recipe for your mom's fabulous chili!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2005

      Yep, your mom knew what she was doing. I had to use the speed method (stovetop -- wife was soon coming home from work hungry and I much fear "she who must be obeyed"), and I confess that I added 20 oz. of water and 20 oz. of chicken stock because I can't abide thick chili -- but the great flavor held up to my reckless machinations. I doubled the recipe and at the very end, it seemed to need a little salt (I like salt) so I tossed in a tsp. of Lowry's seasoned salt and it was just right for me. I will freeze some of this and I will make it again. Thanks, Stacky, for a super traditional-type chili.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2005

      OUTSTANDING chili and a wonderful reflection on your Mom's cooking. Lucky you to have had such a great cook in the house and lucky us for getting this recipe! I did make some changes based on what I had on hand, omitting the soup and mushrooms, but I can tell they'd be great additions and will make sure to have them handy next time. And there WILL BE a next time. Several! I served it with cornbread muffins which paled in comparison. Thanks so much, Stacy, for a great keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2005

      its the best . and give my best to your mom,and my thanks to you both for sharing it with us all. any more of moms recipes, i would love to try. tks debbie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2005

      I'm Stacy's sister and I can attest to the awesome way this recipe smells and tastes...Mmmmmmmm....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jolean's Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (368 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 456.1
     
    Calories from Fat 182
    39%
    Total Fat 20.2 g
    31%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 73.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1493.2 mg
    62%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.6 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 9.3 g
    37%
    Sugars 14.6 g
    58%
    Protein 32.2 g
    64%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites