40 Reviews

My family loved this! They couldn't get enough of this yummy casserole. I didn't cook the chicken or broccoli first. I just mixed everything up, poured it in the casserole and topped it with the stuffing mixture. It was so simple this way. I added a cup of shredded mozzarella cheese and some garlic powder. I left the salt out completely since I didn't boil the chicken.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night August 27, 2010

I used cream of broccoli soup instead and sprinkled a little cheddar on top of the broccoli layer. We enjoyed it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vickiva November 02, 2009

Fantastic, easy recipe for a cold winter's night! We made it even easier but not cooking the broccoli or chicken first... chicken was nicely cooked and broccoli kept a bit of a crunch. Will be making often!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SpydermanLA December 07, 2009

This is real good! Made this about 3 weeks ago and last night my 5 yr old was asking for this again! So Im making it tonight. Thanks for a keeper

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy ny October 12, 2009

I could not bring myself to make the recipe as directed with 57 grams of fat per person. So I cut the mayo in half and used Lite Mayo. I also cut the butter in half and added a little chicken broth. The resulting dish was wonderful, so it's hard to imagine ever making it the other way. I hope others might give it a try in the lightened version, because it's a great basic recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'Diva October 27, 2008

My family is the fussiest there is when it comes to casseroles - and they have begged me to make this again! It was really good. The crispy stuffing really adds a great texture, and the flavor was wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nor Cal Cook March 08, 2008

This was an easy, enjoyable dinner. When I dished it up for my mother, she initially said, "oh, you gave a lot," but she had no problem polishing off all I served her! I didn't add cheese, but I think it would have been good. It was fine just as it was though. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pattikay in L.A. January 30, 2007

Great combination of ingredients. Made for Name that ingredient.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lavender Lynn October 28, 2013

Oh, this was good stuff! I think what makes this so different from other casseroles is that it's not heavily sauced - such a welcome change! Thanks so much for sharing :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinay0618 May 06, 2013

I made this last night for guests, and everyone loved it! It's definitely a keeper. Instead of cutting up the breast meat, I left them whole. The next time I'll cut them in half because they were huge and no one except a teenager could eat a whole breast. I followed what other reviewers did and just let the chicken cook in the oven and just put the broccoli in frozen, but because I tripled this recipe, the cooking time took longer. That's my fault though for not realizing I'd need extra cooking time. Because I was using whole breasts, I didn't care for the two layers of chicken. The next time I'll just layer as follows: Chicken, broccoli, soup mixture and then stuffing mix. For the broccoli juice, since I didn't cook the broccoli first, I used chicken broth. I also left out the lemon juice, as many reviewers did, but I think I'll add it in the next time. I think it'll give it just a touch of tang. I also tripled the stuffing mix, but next time I won't do that. I ended up only using 1/2 the final amount because it covered the whole dish, which is what I think the main intent was anyway. Also, the stuffing mix was pretty salty, so next time I might even use less, or something else altogether...it's a lot of butter mixed in with the stuffing mix. I also used low fat mayonnaise and it worked out well. The other thing I did that I didn't realize would be a problem was that instead of covering the casserole with aluminum foil, I used the lid of the roasting pan I used, which left a dome of space between the top of the casserole and the lid. The result was that the very top layer of the stuffing mixture burned slightly. Next time I'll use foil so I can take it off the last 15 minutes for browning per the directions. But, despite my mistakes, the chicken was sooooo moist and tender, and other than the stuffing mixture, was not salty at all. It was absolutely delicious and I'll definitely add this to my recipes to make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonsterMaha December 19, 2011
Jolean's Chicken Broccoli Casserole