Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jolean's Chicken Broccoli Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jolean's Chicken Broccoli Casserole

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on August 27, 2010

      My family loved this! They couldn't get enough of this yummy casserole. I didn't cook the chicken or broccoli first. I just mixed everything up, poured it in the casserole and topped it with the stuffing mixture. It was so simple this way. I added a cup of shredded mozzarella cheese and some garlic powder. I left the salt out completely since I didn't boil the chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      I used cream of broccoli soup instead and sprinkled a little cheddar on top of the broccoli layer. We enjoyed it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2009

      Fantastic, easy recipe for a cold winter's night! We made it even easier but not cooking the broccoli or chicken first... chicken was nicely cooked and broccoli kept a bit of a crunch. Will be making often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      This is real good! Made this about 3 weeks ago and last night my 5 yr old was asking for this again! So Im making it tonight. Thanks for a keeper

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      I could not bring myself to make the recipe as directed with 57 grams of fat per person. So I cut the mayo in half and used Lite Mayo. I also cut the butter in half and added a little chicken broth. The resulting dish was wonderful, so it's hard to imagine ever making it the other way. I hope others might give it a try in the lightened version, because it's a great basic recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2008

      My family is the fussiest there is when it comes to casseroles - and they have begged me to make this again! It was really good. The crispy stuffing really adds a great texture, and the flavor was wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      This was an easy, enjoyable dinner. When I dished it up for my mother, she initially said, "oh, you gave a lot," but she had no problem polishing off all I served her! I didn't add cheese, but I think it would have been good. It was fine just as it was though. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2013

      Great combination of ingredients. Made for Name that ingredient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      Oh, this was good stuff! I think what makes this so different from other casseroles is that it's not heavily sauced - such a welcome change! Thanks so much for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2011

      I made this last night for guests, and everyone loved it! It's definitely a keeper. Instead of cutting up the breast meat, I left them whole. The next time I'll cut them in half because they were huge and no one except a teenager could eat a whole breast. I followed what other reviewers did and just let the chicken cook in the oven and just put the broccoli in frozen, but because I tripled this recipe, the cooking time took longer. That's my fault though for not realizing I'd need extra cooking time. Because I was using whole breasts, I didn't care for the two layers of chicken. The next time I'll just layer as follows: Chicken, broccoli, soup mixture and then stuffing mix. For the broccoli juice, since I didn't cook the broccoli first, I used chicken broth. I also left out the lemon juice, as many reviewers did, but I think I'll add it in the next time. I think it'll give it just a touch of tang. I also tripled the stuffing mix, but next time I won't do that. I ended up only using 1/2 the final amount because it covered the whole dish, which is what I think the main intent was anyway. Also, the stuffing mix was pretty salty, so next time I might even use less, or something else altogether...it's a lot of butter mixed in with the stuffing mix. I also used low fat mayonnaise and it worked out well. The other thing I did that I didn't realize would be a problem was that instead of covering the casserole with aluminum foil, I used the lid of the roasting pan I used, which left a dome of space between the top of the casserole and the lid. The result was that the very top layer of the stuffing mixture burned slightly. Next time I'll use foil so I can take it off the last 15 minutes for browning per the directions. But, despite my mistakes, the chicken was sooooo moist and tender, and other than the stuffing mixture, was not salty at all. It was absolutely delicious and I'll definitely add this to my recipes to make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2010

    • on January 18, 2010

      This is excellent! I've tried MANY broccoli casseroles in my day, including the one I grew up eating. However, this is by far the best broccoli casserole ever and my family (including 2 young boys) loves it! I have thrown out all the others in my recipe box and will make this from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      This was quite good and I think it will be a standard when I need an easy meal, but I did I make a couple changes for ease and health. I chopped and sauteed my chicken (to save time) and used light sour cream in place of mayo to reduce the calories (approx 200 cal less per 1/4 recipe serving), with no loss of flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2009

      I had some cooked chopped chicken already done in the freezer and I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. Very yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      This was very good and pretty easy to make too. The entire family said that I am to make it again (not the not asking part? LOL). I forgot to add in the lemon juice but it didn't make a difference. Was great without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      Yum! I was worried about boiling the chicken breasts for so long...thought they would be tough. But I made this the way the recipe said to, and my chicken was SO GOOD...falling apart. I was able to just pull it apart with a fork. I used fresh broccoli and steamed it, and accidentally used cream of mushroom instead of chicken, but it turned out great. Will be making again soon! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      we loved this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Excellent chicken casserole!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      This is one of the best casseroles that I have tried lately. Even my DH liked it and he claims he hates chicken. I didn't boil my chicken, I sauteed it in a little butter and sprinkled lightly with seasoned salt instead. I left out the lemon juice because I didn't have a lemon on hand. I used melted butter instead of oleo and Stove Top Chicken flavored stuffing mix. I also added a handful of shredded cheddar cheese on top of the soup mixture. This was delicious and my DH has asked for the leftovers in his lunch tomorrow - so this is definitely a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jolean's Chicken Broccoli Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (254 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 722.4
     
    Calories from Fat 310
    43%
    Total Fat 34.5 g
    53%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 110.7 mg
    36%
    Sodium 2901.4 mg
    120%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.9 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 8.7 g
    34%
    Protein 40.2 g
    80%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    oleo

    juice

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes