159 Reviews

This was delicious and the kids even liked it. I did use frozen diced hashbrowns just threw the sausage and potatoes in the skillet and cooked them. I also just used shredded cheddar instead of velveta. It was more time and cost effective and turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
claslo1 June 25, 2015

So yummy! Made this to take to a celebration of life event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jfhurong June 11, 2015

I was excited to make this, but I took the advice of others and made a few changes, doctored it up a bit, added some nutrients with veggies. I sauteed 1.5 cups shredded cabbage, 2 medium sized shallots, and 1/2 a yellow bell pepper in the pan I used to fry up the kielbasa (after I took the kielbasa out). Also added sriracha garlic chili pepper sauce (2 tablespoons) to the cheese sauce, doubled the cheddar in the sauce, but kept the other stuff the same. Still added the shredded cheddar on top afterward as well. SO FREAKING GOOD.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hlemirern June 06, 2015

Very good and I even screwed up, I was trying to multitask and forgot I was boiling potatoes, so they boiled long enough to be mashed....I drained them best I could and still used them. Also as suggested by another reviewer added a squirt of mustard to the sauce mix and browned my sausage with about 1/4 a chopped onion. Delicious, all members of an very picky family loved! Added to permanent dinner rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathi O. April 27, 2015

Comfort food at it's finest right here, ya'll. I cut up my potatoes and then boiled them for about 10 minutes, got the sausage to frying up (used 2 packages of sausage), after draining off the fat from sausages and taking them up, I cut up an onion and let it get all the brown bits up from the pan (also helps with not having so much to scrub on later). This was really a very favorfull dish. Family said it's a keeper. Can see, how you can add so many other vegetables or different meats, etc to this. Throw it in the oven and while it bakes, clean up kitchen and dinner is served. This is really good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rtle_Dallas April 23, 2015

I tried this tonight and I guess cheese sauce and smoked sausage together is just not a good combination for us. It was okay but not something we'll want again. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kris.hodges_12155422 March 31, 2015

I made this tonight because I came across it & thought oh yum! I did change a few things but more for the lack of not having it at the store & a suggestion from my mother in law. My walmarts was out of the block velveeta cheese so I purchased a 2c bag of the shredded original velveeta. I went ahead & used all of it so omitted bout 1/3rd - 1/2 of the milk saving it in case it was needed. I found the sauce to be pretty thick so added a tad more milk to the actual mixture after adding the cheese/milk mixture as I wasn't 100% sure of the consistancy needed. I instead of skinless long links got little smokies & cut them into 3rds frying them about 15mins as the directions said. I do wish there was a more specific way to 'cook' the potatoes - I cut mine before boiling them leaving skin on. I cooked them about 20mins so they had almost a mash-able feel they were defin. fork tender. I wonder if there was a better way to cook em since I've no idea what else to do to them aside throw em in the oven and then do so again with the rest of the recipe's ingredents :3

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebecca H. March 22, 2015

First of all, this is a delicious meal that's perfect for a cold snowy evening. Second, although this is admittedly not the healthiest meal, I don't think the nutritional value listed with the recipe is totally accurate. I used an online calculator and all the numbers came in lower. That being said, there are some ways to make it a little healthier: use 2% or skim milk, either leave out the butter or only use 1 tbsp (that's what I used), use turkey sausage. And like anything, just don't take a second helping. Third, I made very minor revisions: sauteed a small onion with the sausage (I used beef) and only added 1 tbsp butter. Easy, although it did take me a little longer than I thought it was going to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goldenparadox1978 January 26, 2015

This was incredibly delicious! My husband absolutely loved this! I am giving it 4 stars simply because of the high fat and sodium content. I substituted the smoked sausage with smoked turkey sausage in an attempt to make it a little healthier!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Courtney M. June 07, 2014

I made this with my son in mind. We both loved it! I made it exactly as posted and can imagine adding some other veggies for color, but it was perfect just they way it is. Thanks for sharing. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom May 11, 2014
Jolean's Cheese Potato & Smoked Sausage Casserole