161 Reviews

This was a very thick and rich casserole. That is the reason for only 4 stars on this one. Also as written the sauce would taste like flour. I made a roux first, to cook out the flour, then added the cheese, some red pepper and a dash of while pepper. I would suggest, and this is something I never do, is use less cheese (Velveeta) in this one too. I also used the same skillet to make the sauce in to extract extra flavor and to keep from dirtying one more pot. While cooking the sausage, at the end, I added some sliced green onions and cooked for about two minutes, then removed the sausage and onions to make the sauce. I also Topped the casserole with extra green onions, french fried onions, some extra shredded cheddar cheese, some cajun seasoning and paprika. It was very tasty, just very rich!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meekocu2 June 07, 2016

What a truly rich recipe. I made this recipe as written except I added half a onion. Next time I make it I will cut the cheese in half. And cut the milk by 3/4 cup. Because it is so rich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lkglancy_8637642 May 26, 2016

this is amazing, i mixed it with a mix bad of mix summer veggies, add cream of mushroom to it..and its amazing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jamie R. January 05, 2016

I am 19 and I love to cook. My parents were skeptical since I wouldn't tell them what I was making. I am making it AGAIN tonight actually because it was INCREDIBLE. I added a little more potatoes and about twice the amount of sausage because my dad demands it lol! So easy and incredible. Just a good southern comfort meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lnsimm056 December 08, 2015

This is comfort food at it's best. I didn't have Velvetta so I substituted a couple of slices of American cheese and a good handful of grated Colby Jack, finishing with sharp cheddar on top. When I asked my son if this recipe should go into "the dinner rotation", he stated that this one should be the starting line-up. Can't wait to make again as the weather turns colder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mhodge_10556366 November 06, 2015

My daughter made this last night for dinner. We loved it. It's creamy, cheesy and delicious. My only complaint is the potatoes were overcooked. I think boiling them is unnecessary. One reviewer suggested that it might be good made with frozen hash brown. Made me think it would be good made with tater tots. Will try that next time. Also, the cheese sauce would make a great mac & cheese. Update to my original review: I made this last night to take to a friends' house for Halloween dinner. I made it with tater tots instead of boiled potatoes. I baked frozen tater tots and then mixed them with the cooked sausage. I made the sauce using the classic roux technique instead of adding everything at once. One other big change I made was substituting Gouda for the Velveeta. I am not a big fan of Velveeta. The texture of the tater tots was more interesting than boiled potatoes. The Gouda was a great balance mixed with the sharp cheddar. Last night someone suggested that it would be great with andouille sausage. Can't wait to make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joinme4coffee November 01, 2015

I've made this a few times now with the smoked sausage and it's a big hit at our house! However, I have adjusted this a bit after following the original recipe the first time. I double the potatoes and cook red and yellow peppers and onion with the sausage. Great flavor with the peppers and onions, but even without it is delicious comfort food! Plan to try it with ham next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CaitJenn October 13, 2015

This definitely needs onion! If I make this again (doubtful), I would have to add onion to the smoked sausage while browning and do something about the sauce - I found it to taste of flour. Maybe cut back to 3.5 tbsp. flour and use all cheddar cheese as someone else suggested. That sauce was just too bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dody A. September 22, 2015

I love this recipe. A little pricey due to the velveeta but awesome. I added garlic sauce to the meat (which was wild hog sausage). Instead of dicing the potatoes, I cut them scalloped style. Next time we're going to try layering the ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
b.antonelli1987 September 04, 2015

This is amazing. I love anything smoky, so I was sold on the recipe. I threw in a chopped leek and a red bell pepper when I browned the sausage. I boiled my potatoes but left them fairly firm, and I used freshly shredded cheddar cheese instead of Velveeta. (I'm not a huge fan of Velveeta.) I made a white sauce first, and then I threw the cheese in after it was nice and hot, so I didn't have any melting problems. I also used Penzeys Smoky 4/S Special Seasoned Sea Salt in place of regular salt, and put smoked paprika on top. This is definitely not health food, but it used everything I already had on hand, and it's delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rai August 24, 2015
Jolean's Cheese Potato & Smoked Sausage Casserole