148 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I really liked this!!! Next time I'll add extra cheese on top!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 April 25, 2011

this was soooo good the whole family LOVED it.. I did add onion and instead of velveeta I used a block of colby jack in cubes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikki1123 January 31, 2011

Good, but way too rich for our taste, this is what we call "ice fishin" food in WI! I'd make it again if I had a crowd of hungry people to feed, but I would add more meat as others suggested.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela P. May 10, 2010

This was delicious! Everyone ejoyed it! Very feeling, probably because of the potatoes. The only thing I'll do different next time is probably add more sausage, only because it seemed it got lost in the potatoes and cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsTasha April 22, 2010

This was very good! It was very easy to make and my whole family loved it. The only thing I changed was I only had 1/2 of a 1/2lb of velveeta so I added in some cream cheese also (awesome). I will be making this one again. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amcarroll November 11, 2008

This was delicious and the kids even liked it. I did use frozen diced hashbrowns just threw the sausage and potatoes in the skillet and cooked them. I also just used shredded cheddar instead of velveta. It was more time and cost effective and turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
claslo1 June 25, 2015

I've had this recipe before, and followed the directions exactly as they are. It's delish. BUT, I made it again today, omitting the velveeta, butter, salt ect. And honestly, it was just as good! I took 8oz shredded sharp cheddar and tossed it with a tbsp of cornstarch, put it in a sauce pan with about a cup of half and half, and a splash of hot sauce. I poured that over my potato and sausage mixture, topped with shredded sharp cheddar, and sprinkled with paprika. I try to cut back on the processed cheeses as much as possible (velveeta, American..ect.) this is a great way to do that without sacrificing flavor!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachel N. June 24, 2015

So yummy! Made this to take to a celebration of life event.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jfhurong June 11, 2015

I was excited to make this, but I took the advice of others and made a few changes, doctored it up a bit, added some nutrients with veggies. I sauteed 1.5 cups shredded cabbage, 2 medium sized shallots, and 1/2 a yellow bell pepper in the pan I used to fry up the kielbasa (after I took the kielbasa out). Also added sriracha garlic chili pepper sauce (2 tablespoons) to the cheese sauce, doubled the cheddar in the sauce, but kept the other stuff the same. Still added the shredded cheddar on top afterward as well. SO FREAKING GOOD.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hlemirern June 06, 2015

My daughter made this last night for dinner. We loved it. It's creamy, cheesy and delicious. My only complaint is the potatoes were overcooked. I think boiling them is unnecessary. One reviewer suggested that it might be good made with frozen hash brown. Made me think it would be good made with tater tots. Will try that next time. Also, the cheese sauce would make a great mac & cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joinme4coffee May 19, 2015
Jolean's Cheese Potato & Smoked Sausage Casserole