139 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this was soooo good the whole family LOVED it.. I did add onion and instead of velveeta I used a block of colby jack in cubes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nikki1123 January 31, 2011

Good, but way too rich for our taste, this is what we call "ice fishin" food in WI! I'd make it again if I had a crowd of hungry people to feed, but I would add more meat as others suggested.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angela P. May 10, 2010

This was delicious! Everyone ejoyed it! Very feeling, probably because of the potatoes. The only thing I'll do different next time is probably add more sausage, only because it seemed it got lost in the potatoes and cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsTasha April 22, 2010

This was very good! It was very easy to make and my whole family loved it. The only thing I changed was I only had 1/2 of a 1/2lb of velveeta so I added in some cream cheese also (awesome). I will be making this one again. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amcarroll November 11, 2008

First of all, this is a delicious meal that's perfect for a cold snowy evening. Second, although this is admittedly not the healthiest meal, I don't think the nutritional value listed with the recipe is totally accurate. I used an online calculator and all the numbers came in lower. That being said, there are some ways to make it a little healthier: use 2% or skim milk, either leave out the butter or only use 1 tbsp (that's what I used), use turkey sausage. And like anything, just don't take a second helping. Third, I made very minor revisions: sauteed a small onion with the sausage (I used beef) and only added 1 tbsp butter. Easy, although it did take me a little longer than I thought it was going to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goldenparadox1978 January 26, 2015

This was incredibly delicious! My husband absolutely loved this! I am giving it 4 stars simply because of the high fat and sodium content. I substituted the smoked sausage with smoked turkey sausage in an attempt to make it a little healthier!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Courtney M. June 07, 2014

I made this with my son in mind. We both loved it! I made it exactly as posted and can imagine adding some other veggies for color, but it was perfect just they way it is. Thanks for sharing. Made for Zaar Cookbook Tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom May 11, 2014

Awesome stuff. Subbed turkey ham, and blended 1/2 Neufchatle Cheese and 1/2 Velveeta Cheese for a creamier sauce. Definitely not a dish for those dieting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimjam63 April 12, 2014

I've made this 20 times. I've been making it for over a year. Can't imagine why I never reviewed. I can't I'd give the original recipe 5 stars, because I don't like Velveeta. I have always used all cheddar. This has become one of my fall back recipes. It's also great that my 3 year old picky eater sees cheese and

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KaisMama3911 March 29, 2014

This was an awesome recipe. It has now become a family favorite recipe and gets requested and made frequently. Did add some sauteed onions the second and rest of the times I made it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imtoolate March 15, 2014
Jolean's Cheese Potato & Smoked Sausage Casserole