Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jolean's Cheese Potato & Smoked Sausage Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jolean's Cheese Potato & Smoked Sausage Casserole

    Average Rating:

    138 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 138

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2010

      This is good ole comfort food. I followed the sugestions of several reviewers and added onion (3/4 C), added an additional cup of potatoes & used all cheddar cheese. I also took it another step and added 1 cup of chopped cabbage and 1/3 C of orange bell pepper. Sauted the veggies in the leftover grease from browning sausage. The added veggies add nutrician, enhance the flavor of the dish and they do not over-power. The most time consuming step is dicing the potatoes, so I may use another suggestion of frozen diced hashbrowns potatoes next time. Served with cornbread. Simple, quick and yummy. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2010

      Great easy and inexpensive recipe! The leftovers were good too! To make things a little easier/faster, I diced the potatoes before boiling and left the skin on. I also added some garlic powder, onion powder, and a squirt of mustard into the cheese sauce. YUM!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      I didn't have any potatoes on hand, but I didn't let that stop me from making this. I used egg noodles, so what I really had was a nice cheesy mac and cheese meal. It was great and my husband loved it! I used taco blend cheese on top (it's what I had) and I liked that just fine. Yummy, easy, just what I needed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      This was a keeper. Of course I read reviews before making. I did use onion that I sauteed first. I used ham as my youngest dislikes sausage. I also threw some shredded cheddar to the sauce. Will be making this again. Next time I will add some bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      This is comfort food at its best! I used Louisiana Hot Links, frozen hash browns and added some garlic and onion powder to the white sauce. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      I made this tonight and we liked it very much. I used what I had on hand and that was a Hot smoked sausage. I added peas to it so we would have our vegetable too. Turned out to be very good this way. I will be useing this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      Great recipe! I added onions and changed two little things. I used hash brown potatoes instead of cubed potatoes and I used a pound of Jimmy Dean Original sausage instead of cutting up links. My family absolutely LOVED it!! The Velveeta cheese is the ingredient that made this dish a hit! I may try to add some veggies next time. I will DEFINITELY be making this a regular item in our menu rotation. Thank you for posting this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2010

      My family LOVED this. I fried up the sausage with about 3 green onions, and that added a nice flavor. Otherwise, I kept it the same. It was pretty simple to make, although it did make up a lot of dishes to wash afterwards.We'll be making it again though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2012

      This is really good! Makes a lot of sauce. You can easily add something else (red peppers, broccoli, whatever) and not worry about it being too dry. Thanks Stacky5.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2010

      Holy cow was this good. My DSS, 12, said it was one of the best things he has ever eaten. I dropped some small chopped brocolli in with the potatoes water for 5 mins or so at the end of cooking. I used left-over ham and subbed havarti cheese bc it was what I had. I added minced onions, like others suggested, and I also used skim milk. It was easy and real comfort food. Thank you, wherever you are!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      This is frugal to make, easy to throw together and comfort food is an understatement. I didn't have the 1/2 pd. of Velvetta so I subbed in a can a of cheddar cheese soup with 1/4 pd. velvetta that I had on hand and it still turned out wonderful. We really enjoyed this! It's a keeper and I will make it again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      This was yummy. I cut the entire sauce recipe in half to cut down on the crazy amount of fat. I also only used 1 tablespoon of butter, 2 % milk, and one sausage. Still delicious! Next time I will add cooked onions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2013

      I thought it was great as is. I melted the butter, then added the flour and cooked out the starchy taste, then continued on with the instructions. And when it said to sprinkle paprika on top, I used Cajun Seasoning instead to give it a pop, and it is now a family comfort food fave!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2013

      This is a great recipe! It's the same one I use with cooked Ham.I crumble Ritz Crackers on top instead of the cheddar cheese. I also cube my potatoes, dice an onion, salt and pepper them, and steam in the microwave while cutting ham, or in this instance, browning sausage. I can't wait to try with smoked sausage! Who would have thunk it?! <br/>Thank you for sharing this!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2013

      This was amazing!!!
      I did make a few changes. I doubled the potatoes, cut two green peppers into strips, chopped white onion, some green onion, garlic powder and a full bag (2 cups) of cheese.
      We will be making this again and again. Thank you!!!!!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2013

      Had this to night and thought it was awesome!! I added onion to the smoked sausage when I was heating it up. Also used shredded hash brown potatoes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2013

      This has always been one of our " go to" meals in the winter. Ive used real potatoes, but the easiest, and what I usually do is canned diced or sliced potatoes. Saves so much time and the taste is just not that much different to us. I also add a can or two of french green beans and diced onion to make it a one dish meal. For the sausage I usually use the Eckrich skinless Angus sausages ( like Polish sausage).or the Eckrich Jalapeno Cheese sausages if we want something with a little heat. Just alot of ways you can do this one and theyre all wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2012

      This was just awesome! I sauteed the sausage (Hillshire Farms All Beef) with half of a large onion and chopped up some leftover steamed broccoli into the mix. We used all sharp cheddar cheese (no Velveeta) and I think next time we will add more broccoli as it went so well with everything. I can't remember the last time I looked forward to leftovers so much.

      Thanks for posting this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2012

      I made this tonight using 2 left over baked potatoes and 1 left over sweet potato, While browning the sausage (deer ring bologna) I added 1 whole onion and 1/2 green pepper diced. My whole family loved it, my husband who is not a fan of sweet potatoes told me he thought with out the sweet potatoes it would have been bland and to try doing the sweet and baked potatoes 50 - 50 next time. Also because the potatoes were baked I added a little bit more milk to the white sauce. This is a keeper and I know we will be making it again in the near future!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2011

      I really liked this!!! Next time I'll add extra cheese on top!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jolean's Cheese Potato & Smoked Sausage Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (294 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 871.3
     
    Calories from Fat 587
    67%
    Total Fat 65.2 g
    100%
    Saturated Fat 31.7 g
    158%
    Cholesterol 176.6 mg
    58%
    Sodium 2326.7 mg
    96%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 33.5 g
    67%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites