150 Reviews

This is good ole comfort food. I followed the sugestions of several reviewers and added onion (3/4 C), added an additional cup of potatoes & used all cheddar cheese. I also took it another step and added 1 cup of chopped cabbage and 1/3 C of orange bell pepper. Sauted the veggies in the leftover grease from browning sausage. The added veggies add nutrician, enhance the flavor of the dish and they do not over-power. The most time consuming step is dicing the potatoes, so I may use another suggestion of frozen diced hashbrowns potatoes next time. Served with cornbread. Simple, quick and yummy. Thanks for posting.

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Lady May 22, 2010

Great easy and inexpensive recipe! The leftovers were good too! To make things a little easier/faster, I diced the potatoes before boiling and left the skin on. I also added some garlic powder, onion powder, and a squirt of mustard into the cheese sauce. YUM!!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BadgerLuv March 06, 2010

I didn't have any potatoes on hand, but I didn't let that stop me from making this. I used egg noodles, so what I really had was a nice cheesy mac and cheese meal. It was great and my husband loved it! I used taco blend cheese on top (it's what I had) and I liked that just fine. Yummy, easy, just what I needed!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy2two February 01, 2008

This was a keeper. Of course I read reviews before making. I did use onion that I sauteed first. I used ham as my youngest dislikes sausage. I also threw some shredded cheddar to the sauce. Will be making this again. Next time I will add some bacon.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NetteS35 August 20, 2012

This is comfort food at its best! I used Louisiana Hot Links, frozen hash browns and added some garlic and onion powder to the white sauce. So good!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickoholic83 July 30, 2010

This is frugal to make, easy to throw together and comfort food is an understatement. I didn't have the 1/2 pd. of Velvetta so I subbed in a can a of cheddar cheese soup with 1/4 pd. velvetta that I had on hand and it still turned out wonderful. We really enjoyed this! It's a keeper and I will make it again. Thanks!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashleigh12 October 26, 2009

I made this tonight and we liked it very much. I used what I had on hand and that was a Hot smoked sausage. I added peas to it so we would have our vegetable too. Turned out to be very good this way. I will be useing this one again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LRMyers1968 February 13, 2012

Great recipe! I added onions and changed two little things. I used hash brown potatoes instead of cubed potatoes and I used a pound of Jimmy Dean Original sausage instead of cutting up links. My family absolutely LOVED it!! The Velveeta cheese is the ingredient that made this dish a hit! I may try to add some veggies next time. I will DEFINITELY be making this a regular item in our menu rotation. Thank you for posting this great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mother_earth May 12, 2011

My family LOVED this. I fried up the sausage with about 3 green onions, and that added a nice flavor. Otherwise, I kept it the same. It was pretty simple to make, although it did make up a lot of dishes to wash afterwards.We'll be making it again though.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ultraviolet Catastrophe December 04, 2010

This was amazing!!!
I did make a few changes. I doubled the potatoes, cut two green peppers into strips, chopped white onion, some green onion, garlic powder and a full bag (2 cups) of cheese.
We will be making this again and again. Thank you!!!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MrsSmitty519 March 05, 2013
Jolean's Cheese Potato & Smoked Sausage Casserole