Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jolean's Butterscotch Pie, Pennsylvania Dutch Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jolean's Butterscotch Pie, Pennsylvania Dutch Style

    Average Rating:

    42 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 42

    Sort by:

    • on April 27, 2010

      This is a great recipe! I did have to sub dark brown sugar (out of light) and used canned evaporated milk (had no whole milk) and the texture of this filling was superb. You really do have to be patient with the thickening because I think I stirred constantly for about 20-30 minutes before I thought it was really thick enough for pie filing. I then took it off the heat and while still warm whisked out any lumps that may have formed. But I did cook it on low on a gas stove too. My patience was rewarded with a silky textured pie and fabulous flavor. Very well worth the effort!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      Double (or triple) the butterscotch!! The recipe only makes an inch or two- not the four to five you need. I always top mine with whip cream, much better than mirange. It takes 30-45 min for the butterscotch the thicken. don't give up! A sweet vapor will start to rise continuously, and eventually the scotch will coat a spoon, and set a few min after going in the pie shell... so lovely!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2013

      Good pie. Here's a hint to speed up the process considerably. I had my milk at room temperature (to mix with the flour and yolks) and then heated up the remaining cup in the microwave until quite hot (not boiling but close). Then added it to the sugar/milk mixture and in less than 10 minutes it was nice and thick and bubbling up. I poured it in the shell and once it was cool, it cut like a dream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2012

      I used this recipe to make my first Butterscotch Pie. My Granny (81 years old) who has been making these pies for over 60 year tasted it and gave me an A! This is also my husbands favorite pie and when he finally got a taste he was thrilled. The texture is divine and I really packed the brown sugar so the taste is a sugary delight. I used cool whip instead of the meringue. I also drizzled caramel on the cool whip and sprinkled butterscotch chip on it as well. It made for a beautiful presentation and added to the flavor. You can not go wrng with this pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      My son-in-law loves butterscotch pie and this is the very best recipe I've tried. I've made it many times now.....absolutely LOVE it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Pie was fantastic. I used a double boiler which made it so easy. I also reduced it enough so it stayed firm when I cut it. Delicious, Easy and a wonderful pie I will make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      After reading the other reviews I was really excited to try this recipe. It was a very simple recipe. But, It does not taste like butterscotch. I was very diappointed. :( Hint.....While melting your brown sugar go ahead and mix milk, eggs and flour in another sauce pan. Heat it until warm but do not let it start to thicken. This will speed up the process when you pour it into the sugar mixture.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2014

      Someone brought up butterscotch pie at a ladies meeting. I'd never one, so I came home and found it here. I was worried I didn't have quite enough brown sugar, so I added a cup of butterscotch morsels. Very butterscotch!!! But my husband and children love the flavor of butterscotch, so this pie was a definite winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2014

      I have been looking for this recipe for years! My Scottish Canadian mother made this and it was always gone in a day! Sometimes she would slice a banana over the crust before adding the filling and over the top before the meringue. I always thought this recipe either came from Scotland or Canada.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

      Add a teaspoon or two of butterscotch extract. You can buy it online at you know where.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2013

      Yeah! I have an identical story of The Butterscotch Pie recipe. My grandmother made the best butterscotch pie for holiday dinners. She also guarded her secret recipe (cooked out of her head and I doubt she even wrote it down.). She never did share it with any family members. I have tried many recipes over the years to no avail....too runny, too grainy, not the right flavor, tasted like gelatin.....nada. THIS IS IT! It is an enormous amount of work to stir constantly for 45 minutes...but it DID work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      Wonderful pie! My stove faces a wall so I wasn't happy about standing there stirring for 45 min.so I used a electric frying pan on low and sat at my kitchen island. Worked wonderful and set up thick in about 20 minutes..I did turn heat off and kept stirring while the butterscotch kept cooking. Very easy I sure will make again. Electric frying pan and a stool is the secret! Wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      This was amazing! I made it at the hunting cabin and even with a few substitutions it turned out great. My mother inlaw used lemon juice instead of cream of tarter in the meringue as we didn't have it at the cabin. It does take a long time stirring to thicken but any home made pudding does if you want to prevent scorching. My Husband and inlaws loved it. I will definitely make it again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      This turned out terrible for me. I doubled the recipe as stated by some of the others, let it cook over 1/2 an hour and it still never thickened.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      There was not indication of how long to get it to thicken. Mine was like soup and never thickened so I had to pitch it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      I just made this pie and I LOVVVE Butterscotch pie. This not only was easy but delicious. I used 2% milk and it made no difference in the thickness of the butterscotch.It was thick and firm enough to cut and stay intact when I served it. Hats off to you and a well deserved 5 stars

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      Yum! Wonderful and old-fashioned butterscotch pie. Was a little concerned that the filling wasn't thickening enough, so after about 20 minutes on the stove, I whisked together 1 T cornstarch in about 2 T milk, added to filling, and cooked until a bit thicker. Chilled the pie before serving and it cut perfectly, wasn't runny at all. Everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      Wow, this is wonderful! It reminds me of my grandmother's homemade buterscotch pie! Thanks, Jolean!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      This pie was for my mother-in-law's 84th birthday. It is her favorite pie. I followed the directions as said and it looked beautiful. But, when we cut into the pie, my heart sank. It was runny not even thick like pudding. Tasted good but couldn't eat as a pie. I stirred for quite a while to thicken it up but never got thick like when I make pudding. Next time I will try to bring it to a full boil to see if that will thicken it up. The pie itself would have been delicious and it looked beautiful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      If your looking for a butterscotch pie recipe, look no further ,this is without a doubt the best I have ever eaten.It takes a lot of stirring for the filling to thicken but be patient it's well worth it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jolean's Butterscotch Pie, Pennsylvania Dutch Style

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 514.4
     
    Calories from Fat 203
    39%
    Total Fat 22.6 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 120.6 mg
    40%
    Sodium 326.2 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.7 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 52.5 g
    210%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites