Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / John's Cucumber Sweet Onion Salad With Lime Pepper Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    John's Cucumber Sweet Onion Salad With Lime Pepper Dressing

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2012

      Very nice recipe. I used English cucumbers, left the peel on, scooped out the seeds and sliced them on my mandolin, along with the sweet onions. I also added the zest of the limes, as they are too expensive to just use the juice. Took it to our church pot luck where it was well received. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      Made yesterday and yum! I increased the sugar to 1 teaspoon and may go even a bit more on that the next time. I also peeled my cucumbers and cut them using a mandoline. So I would have some "kick" I added one dash of cayenne in addition to the hot pepper flakes, great! Thanks for posting, Baby Kato, this is a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2011

      This was very refreshing served next to a spicy pork chop. I love the flavors of this since I am not a big cucumber fan - but I love pickles! I will definitely be making this again as it is so easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      Yum! After 24 hours this was like a semi pickle cucumber and onions salad. I don't normally eat raw cumbers because my stomach gets upset, but I was able to eat this without a problem because the cucumber were "pickled" and the acids that make my tummy upset didn't affect me. My daughter loved the juice, even with the chilli (which is unusual for her). Thanks Baby Kato for a lovely recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      I was looking for a salad to have with some ribs I was cooking up to have when company came. Everyone loved the salad, including me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      Great stuff! Cool and crisp with a kick from the red pepper flakes. I was able to let mine marinate for almost 20 hours. I agree, the longer it chills the better it gets. I used extra sugar, but otherwise stuck to the recipe. Thanx for a new use for my cucumbers!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Excellent salad. Crispy, with a bite. I used mini cucumbers, which are about an inch in diameter. No need to remove the seeds in this particular case. I did let it marinate for about 48 hours. Even after that amount of time, they were still quite crisp and very fresh. Thanks so much for a terrific way to serve cucumbers. Made for the Auzzie/NZ Swap #30.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      I used pickling cucumbers for this for some added crunch, and what great taste to this salad! Loved the dressing! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2009

      This is a tasty and quick salad. I used an English cucumber which didn't need to be seeded. The cucumber was simply sliced thinly and the rest of the recipe was followed as written. I usually make cucumber salad with an oil and vinegar dressing. This recipe is a nice alternative. Made for Zaar Stars Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      Delicious! This salad is a tasty way to use up the overabundance of cucumbers from my garden. I didn't have vidalia onions, but used fresh red onions out of the garden and they worked perfectly. Also, I added some additional sugar as my family prefers a sweeter oil/vinegar dressing. Thanks BK for sharing this wonderful recipe...it is definitely a keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      A nice cucumber salad. I did add more sugar (personal preference). A great side dish to summer grilled foods! Marinating for 24 hours or longer is a must. THANKS

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      Another WOW recipe for cucumber salad! I agree - the flavors really are amazing.The vidalia onions perfect with the lovely garden fresh cucumbers - loved the dressing! Looks great tastes great! Thank you Baby Kato, be sure to thank John, for sharing a recipe that is just so good - going right into my 'Favorites Cookbook'

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      This was as refreshing as it was easy to make! I loved the fresh taste of the lime combined with the cucumbers and vidalias. So easy to throw together and I am sure this will become a favorite at our summertime table. Thanks, Baby K!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2006

      This is a terrific salad I can see myself making all summer. I reduced the amounts to 1 large cucumber and 1 onion and made half of the dressing. I waited about 6 hours before sampling and taking the photo...it was good then, but so much better after waiting the 24 hours. The cucumbers are not swimming in a watery mess here. They are lightly coated and have a mild taste. Good job Baby Kato!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2004

      This turned out nicely. I like the taste of the lime. I added a touch more sugar(just personal preference). Thanks Kato!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2004

      Very yum! Next time I'll double the lime. This is a wonderful refreshing summer salad--would be perfect for summer bbq's--served ice cold!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2012

      Easy and very good! I added fresh veggies from both our CSA box and a local community
      garden. I also threw in a few Hungarian black hot peppers. What I thought was a pickling cucumber was in fact a small zucchini. Standard cukes and lemon cukes were in the mix. I liked the lime juice in this. Red onion in addition to white onion was added for color. Will make again next summer with a bumper crop of cucumbers. Reviewed for Veg Tag/September.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2012

      Attractive salad! A mandoline makes easy work of the cucumbers and onions. I made a half recipe as listed for my small family and it was plenty. We love cucumber and onion salads, but I will need to adjust the dressing on this one next time. Thank you for sharing, Baby Kato!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for John's Cucumber Sweet Onion Salad With Lime Pepper Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 74.9
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    56%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 101.3 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.6 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 1.2 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites