8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really tasty. 5 stars all around. I used fresh jalapeno and I think I would also like to try it with pickled jalapeno. I put a tbsp of butter in the skillet and into the oven as directed. By the time I was ready to pour in the cornbread the butter had started to get really brown. I was concerned if it was burnt, but it did not affect the taste. Next time I would wait a bit to start the oven. We LOVED the crispy cornbread. This will definitely be made again! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GibbyLou July 24, 2014

DH really liked this, so much he cleaned up the leftovers in no time. I thought it was alright, loved the crispy cornbread on bottom. Pretty easy recipe to make for a quick weeknight meal.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
packeyes June 27, 2011

This is very good - loved the cornbread in this. It's a very filling meal that is easy to prepare. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 May 07, 2011

OMG Thank you sweet Jesus for leading me to this man that knows how to cook and isn't afraid to post real homemade recipes with some grit to them. I'm to old to worry about my cholesterol at this point (normal levels thank you) so let me die with real food in my tummy, a fork in one hand and a jalapeno in the other....lol. Thanks Johnny, keep them coming and the "history" behind them too. Well I'm off to the store for some buttermilk and lard (not teasing one bit sweetie), fried chicken here I come.....Oh, got so excited forgot to tell you, had this cornbread as written with a bowl of freshly cooked pintos with ham hocks, now thats good eatin'. Oh Lord, so many recipes and so little time......gatta go

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixielee43_11494785 May 12, 2010

Johnny invaded my kitchen again and I'm glad he did. This was easy and tasty. I used pinto beans and a three cheese mexican blend instead of cheddar because that's what I had on hand. My favorite part was the crispy corn bread on the bottom of the pan. Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Love to Eat!! September 18, 2009

Well boy howdy, this here is some tasty stuff! I can't resist a good cast iron recipe. I used 3/4 lb ground beef and sauteed in some grated zucchini (I'm a sneaky mom like that!) and only 1 T jalapeno (I'm a worrywart mom like that!). I also discovered at the last second I was out of frozen corn so I used mixed veggies. I will use corn next time LOL. I also used Jiffy Corn Muffins Mix Clone, which worked out nicely. Thanks so much for posting...you done given us a keeper, Johnny Jalapeno. Made for PRMR.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian July 13, 2009

We all enjoyed this one! I used ground turkey instead of beef . Did use the onion.Used the "make your own taco seasoning" found on Zaar. Will be making often.Thanks for posting.Made for PRMR>

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boo Chef in West Texas July 07, 2009

Terrific flavor here. I cut beck to a single serving and used my little egg skillet. The cheese bubbled up and out and the bubbles of it burned but it was only the running cheese and the rest of it was perfect. It's hearty, I could only finish half of it!. Very simple to make. Thanks for this one Bleu :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia June 21, 2009
Johnny Jalapeno's Taco Cornbread Skillet