Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Johnny Jalapeno's Easy Refried Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Johnny Jalapeno's Easy Refried Beans

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 22, 2009

      Yum! I made this omitting the bacon grease and using olive oil. I enjoyed with chili rellenos! Thanks! Made for the TYM game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2011

      Very good. Easy way to doctor up canned beans into something special. I did not drain the beans and I liked the consistency after simmering for 10 minutes. Because the liquid in the canned beans already has plenty of salt (and so does the cheese and probably the adobo seasoning), I did not add any additional salt to the mixture. Turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      This was good and easy for a nighttime snack. Made for PRMR.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      this is a great recipe and so quick and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      This was very easy and quick! Tastes great too. Next time I will not process my beans as much...I prefer a mix of paste and whole beans. The onion, jalapeno and garlic mix was perfect cooked in the bacon grease. This is a great quick and easy recipe. Made for PRMR tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      I absolutely love this recipe. Its SO EASY and tastes like any of the best refried beans you'd find at a mexican restaurant. My family love these! Thanks for the awesome easy recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      I halved the recipe since it's just my husband and me, and it worked great. This is such a good recipe. It was my first time having (or making) refried beans, and it won't be my last! Thanks for the great recipe 2Bleu! Made for PRMR Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      My first time making refried beans, and yes, it's much better than canned and so easy and tasty that you might as well make them yourself! My only problem was deciding whether the cans should have been drained first or not because the recipe didn't say. The first can I processed undrained, and they seemed watery, so the second can I processed drained and they were too dry. So the 3rd can I processed undrained, and as far as I was concerned they turned out perfect after boiling a bit. I left a few pieces of whole beans in for texture. I thought I had adobo seasoning at home, but I couldn't find it so I used a chili rub instead. That added some depth to the taste, though I'm sure adobo would have been great too. The only other change I made was to substitute 1 tablespoon or so of butter for the bacon grease. I used queso manchego cheese, which is Spanish not Mexican, but it melted up fine and was the perfect topping to this dish! Thanks 2Bleu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Johnny Jalapeno's Easy Refried Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 341.5
     
    Calories from Fat 69
    20%
    Total Fat 7.7 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 6.1 mg
    2%
    Sodium 108.8 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.1 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 17.7 g
    71%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 17.8 g
    35%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    adobo seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites