Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Johnny Jalapeno's Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Johnny Jalapeno's Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on November 15, 2010

      This was absolutely delicious but had both DH and I sucking wind! I will definitely make this again but halve the amount of chiles in chipotle sauce. I think I would also like to make it again without chicken and with rice so that my vegetarian son can eat it. Thanks so much for a wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      Wow, wow, wow! Tasty and easy soup to make. It is really too hot/spicy for me, but I'm keeping the rating a 5 because it truly is a great soup and we were warned that it is fiery!! I like things spicy but this was above my limit - so next time I'll use maybe half of the chipotles in adobo because I think that is what put it over the top for me. The soup was enjoyed with cheese, avocado, tortilla chips and LOTS of sour cream. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      I make soup every Sunday, my ritual. This was great. Yes I was up at 4, soup done by 8 or earlier and already sampled. Just a taste, I'm not ready for tortilla soup for breakfast. Excellent recipe, I was hesitant with the tortillas in the soup, because some you can really see and they are just mushy, but this worked really well. I did add the seeds and ribs from the jalapeno, but that is personal preference - I love HOT. But made as the recipe states. Excellent! Garnished with avocado, sour scream and cheese. Will be making this again for sure. Thx for such a great spicy rich, deep in flavor soup. Loved it. Kim

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Wonderful flavors! I have a confession: I do love chipotle chiles in adobo, but I know they are pretty mighty compared to my heat tolerance. So I made one little change to make it my fiery hot level but still maintain the flavor of the dish: I deseeded all jalapenos and chipotles. Our mouths are still burning ;) The others eating it pretended to wipe sweat off their brows! :D We loved the addition of the avocado garnish especially. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      Wow, the description is right. It is fiery!! I followed the recipe except I used b/s thighs and left out the tortillas as I like to only sprinkle crispy broken chips on top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      Very delicious but I didn't want all that heat. I reduce the amount of chilies & left out the corn. I also doubled the beans to take the place of the corn. Made for PRMR

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      DH says a twelve. I made half a recipe and it is great. Loved the spice to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Great soup! I took a few liberties with the recipe, because while I love the flavor brought by chilies, my tolerance for heat is pretty moderate. I really appreciate how easy this goes together, everything that I needed was something that I had on hand in the pantry or freezer. I used b/s chicken thighs, replaced the Rotel with plain diced tomatoes, and omitted the jalapeno. I also cut the chipotle back to just a teaspoon. For garnishes, I used sour cream and shredded cheese. While I really enjoyed this soup, I have to say that if you don't enjoy fiery food, this may not be the recipe for you. Chipotles and jalapenos bring a lot of flavor along with their heat; and by omitting a large portion of them, I had to increase the cumin and chili powder in order to compensate. Even then, this was very spicy (for me), and I was glad to have the sour cream stirred in to cool my tongue. This dish was very welcome on a cold, wet night, and I wish I had the heat tolerance to enjoy it as written! Thank you for posting an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      Whew - this is great stuff! You weren't kidding about the spice - it's hot hot hot - but rich and flavorful too. I left out the onions and used less cilantro, otherwise made as specified. Served it with sour cream and shredded Monterrey Jack and really enjoyed - thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      This is awesome! My husband loves jalapenos, so this caught my eye. He is not a big soup person, but devoured this. Made exactly as stated except I left out the black beans as we are not fans. We dolloped with sour cream and fresh pico de gallo. Will make again this winter. Thanks for another yummy one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Johnny Jalapeno's Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (656 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 638.9
     
    Calories from Fat 295
    46%
    Total Fat 32.8 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 11.7 g
    58%
    Cholesterol 86.3 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1430.1 mg
    59%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.5 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 10.6 g
    42%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 36.7 g
    73%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites