11 Reviews

I LOVE BBQ, and this is some of the BEST! Definitely the best I have ever fixed. We loved it! I made the roast in the crock pot so it would be nice and tender, and I used another reviewer's suggestion of using beef broth instead of water. Other than that, I made it exactly as directed. Thanks for the recipe! It will be going in my favorites.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover January 20, 2009

Great recipe!! I tripled this recipe to serve at a football dinner - made it "as is" except left the celery out because I was serving teens and you never know with them! I cooked my chuck roasts ahead of time in the crock pot and then put it all in an electric roaster and cooked on 200-250 for about 6 hours. The boys went crazy over it and my son said the boys are still talking about the meal. This one is a keeper and will be made again. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DDW September 18, 2011

We loved this, but I, like others, did not follow the recipe. Used a bone-in chuck roast, browned in a Dutch over, then into oven with 2 cups of water, covered for 2 hours. I didn't have 2 c of ketchup, so used about 1 c plus some bbq sauce and an 8 oz can of tomato sauce. Skipped the Tabasco and used 1/2 t cayenne instead. Used only 1 T sugar and it was plenty sweet for us. Yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princesstrish October 14, 2008

Outstanding as it is. If you need to make adjustments as per your taste, feel free to do so. A recipe is no more than a guide. Break your mother's cardinal rule and play with your food to make it to your taste or simply reject it. It comes down to personal taste.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vieux,loup November 29, 2011

Delicious! Made roast beef in crockpot and then used the liquid from that instead of water in the recipe, which I also made in the crockpot. Other than that, I followed the recipe. Made great sandwiches for today's football game! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sybrsuzy January 11, 2009

This was wonderful but I ended up making so many changes that I decided not to give it any stars as I wasn't sure how the original recipe would be. I am reviewing it anyway so I remember what I did for next time and so everyone can see how forgiving this recipe is. I had no ketchup so I planned to use plain tomato sauce. Therefore, I added 50% more cider vinegar, sugar and worcestershire sauce. I also added a bit of extra mustard. I was out of tabasco so I used about 2 tsp of Rooster hot pepper sauce. Then when I was about to add the tomato sauce I found half a bottle of Bullseye Barbeque sauce and ended up using that instead. So it had way more spice than this recipe called for but we thought it was amazing. We like things very spicy so I'm glad I made the changes. However you make this I'm sure it will be good. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marysdottir June 04, 2007

We LOVED this recipe. I used a 3.36 pound boneless rump roast. I pan seared it and the it went into a dutch oven, covered, with a little water in the pan. It roasted at 325 degrees for about 3 hours...my meat thermometer said it was overcooked, but the meat till shredded and seemed yummy after it all cooled down. I followed the recipe exactly and was not disappointed. I will make this again and again and for company as well. It was delicious! Thanks EdsGirlAngie for a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twixxy December 28, 2005

OUTSTANDING!We actually love the sweetness of this.Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow..Thanks Angie for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pj in Illinois April 24, 2005

We thought these were just a little on the sweet side, so next time I'll cut down the sugar by a Tbsp. We also added a little more water as it cooked-for some reason ours wanted to dry out. Other than that, the blend of flavors was great! I used venison, and had to leave out the celery (dh won't eat anything with celery). We'll definitely be eating this again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin March 22, 2005
John Madden's Bbq Beef Sandwiches