Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / John and Erin's Beer Butt Chicken / Beer Can Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    John and Erin's Beer Butt Chicken / Beer Can

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on February 28, 2010

      Great Bird!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      This bird was sooo Juicy! this was also my first Beer Can Chicken. I did not use the Chinese 5 Spice powder because when i went to buy it , there were several ingredients that i dont care for, and i didnt want to risk the chicken. Otherwise, I followed the recipe 100% I purchsed one of those Holder/Stands specifally made for beer can chicken. It worked awesome. I love how the basting spray crisps the skin (my favorite part), however the BF doesnt care for the skin so I think next time the only thing i might do different is use my meat injector and inject some of the liquid Basting Spray into the breast of the chicken for some flavor. This Is an AWESOME RECIPE.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Such a good recipe. The chicken was very flavourful and moist. I added a little Louisiana Hot Sauce to the spray for a little extra zing. I can't wait to make this recipe again. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Well I tried this recipe this weekend. I put the chicken in the oven and OMG what a delicious chicken it was. I was wondering how I can adopt this for turkey. This is a fantastic recipe. I used Chinese spices from a soup mix that I had because I did not have the Chinese 5 Spice Powder and it was still fantastice. Just the perfect balnce of sweet, salt and sour. The meat was so moist and tender. LLOVED IT RAVENHAVEN

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      This is very good. I did change it from "beer butt" to "orange soda butt" but other then that followed the recipe. We really liked the rub and then the spray put it over the top....delicious. I am having a bbq next weekend and this is going to be the main event. thank you for this delicious chicken recipe.....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      I have made a few Beer Butt Chicken recipes and this rates #1 with my family! I did not use the Chinese five spice but otherwise followed the recipe for the rub exactly. I used 2 small frying chickens and they took about 1 hour on indirect heat. I think it is the basting spray (which I applied with a brush) is what made the difference. Yum, can't wait for sandwiches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      This was a very good recipe. The only changes we made were omitting Chinese 5 spice as we did not have it on hand, cooked chicken in oven instead of grill (too cold outside!), and we used a basting brush instead of spray. All in all, very tasty dinner! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      Awesome tasting, we prepared this en mass this summer up at the cottage and everyone loved the flavor. We will definitely be trying this again, thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2006

      I made this knowing that I'm not a Chinese 5 spice powder fan but figured with only 1/2tsp it would be fine. It wasn't, but that's not the fault of the recipe. Dh enjoyed it. I made 1/2 a recipe of the spray-on basting liquid and that was just the right amount.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2006

      This is awesome! Both my daughters (ages 8 and 10) loved it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2004

      This was my first ever "beer butt chicken" and it was wonderful. I used a special tripod that had a "plate" on the bottom for vegetables so I put some baby redskins and chopped onions on it. I cooked the whole thing over inderect heat for two hours and it was about 15 minutes too long for the chicken and 45 minutes to long for the veggies. But the flavor was to die for. I also think you can halve the amounts in the spray bottle. I had LOTS left over.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2003

      Bravo! I have had so much fun this summer cooking various recipes to beer-butt chicken. This recipe was by far the best. I rubbed the spice in the both cavities, under the skin and on outside of chicken. I also placed a tablespoon of the rub inside the beer can omiting the sea salt in the beer. Misting the chicken was not only fun but such a great way to crisp up the skin. It only took 1 1/2 on my grill. I placed a large cookie sheet under the chicken to catch the drippings so that it would cause scorching to the meat while in my gas grill. The chicken needs to be 8" from the lid when cooking it on the grill. I also suggest placing an onion or potato in the neck cavity to keep the moisture in while grilling. I also purchased a beer-butt chicken holder at Walmart that keeps the chicken balanced and has a place for the beer can. I also would spray the can with nonstick cooking spray. When removing the chicken from the beer can, slowly twist but don't dip over because the beer is extremly hot. I would wear heat resistent rubber gloves. A true keeper in my house. Seved it with corn on the cob, sliced watermelon and Kozmic Blues' Creamy Parmesan Mashed Potatoes #66315. MMmmmmm....gooood

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Chicken Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for John and Erin's Beer Butt Chicken / Beer Can

    Serving Size: 1 (692 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2319.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1363
    58%
    Total Fat 151.4 g
    232%
    Saturated Fat 41.1 g
    205%
    Cholesterol 680.3 mg
    226%
    Sodium 4142.2 mg
    172%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.2 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 30.3 g
    121%
    Protein 172.4 g
    344%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Chinese five spice powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes