Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Joe's Stone Crab Key Lime Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Joe's Stone Crab Key Lime Pie

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2002

      Key Lime Pie just doesn't get any better than this! Key Lime Pie is one of my favorites and this pie is so very easy to make. I cheated a little and used a ready made graham cracker crust and also needed to supplement some of the lime juice with refridgerated Florida Key West Key Lime Juice. Otherwise, I made exactly as directed for an excellent pie! Thanks for a wonderful dessert, s'kat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      DH said this was the BEST!! I love key lime!! Unfortunately I had the pie partially made before I realized I only had lime juice not key lime juice and i used a regular lime. But it was awesome. oops I also used a store bought crust. I will definately make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      Easy,creamy, with just the right amount of sweetness and tartness. Always comes out perfect.I always get rave reviews!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      I got so many compliments on this pie. I have never made or eaten key lime pie before, but I'll tell you what - I am not going to look for another recipe. I have this cookbook, "Pie: 300 Tried-and-True Recipes for Delicious Homemade Pie" by Ken Haedrich, and it also has a recipe by the same name in it. I am not sure which one is authentic or anything, but there are a few minor differences: His filling is the same, his crumb crust has 1 3/4 cups graham cracker crumbs, 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, 2 Tablespoons packed light brown sugar (instead of white sugar), 6 Tablespoons melted unsalted butter, and a pinch of salt, and his topping is the same. I didn't use the listed topping because I made Whipped Cream (Stabilized) to go on top of it and used the last few extra key limes to decorate the pie. I got a 1 lb. bag of key limes and used 18 limes (taking me a good 40 minutes to juice by hand!), which produced 2/3 cup of juice. I took this to a Memorial Day BBQ yesterday, along with Barefoot Contessa's Outrageous Oreo Crunch Brownies, World's Best Chocolate Chip Cookies, and Perfect Pasta Salad:, and everyone loved it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      12/25 O M G this is heaven in every bite! I simply love when a recipe comes with a bit of family history & a touching story. I made it for our Christmas dessert and it will now be a part of our family tradition. I used regular ol' lime zest along with Nellie & Joe's Key Lime Juice too. Easy as can be an oh so good! 12/28 Next time I will use non-stick spray on the pie plate, there were some problems with the crust sticking. This will be made OFTEN! It was loved by adults and kids. Thanks s'kat for sharing! 5/10 (photo) Can't get enough of this yummy pie! I added a few fresh raspberries to the top for a twist. The sweetness of the berries with the tart of the lime is a PERFECT addition! I used a premade shortbread crust this time. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Made this today for my husband's birthday dessert, as Key Lime Pie is one of his favorites. He loved it! He said it tasted just like it should (I myself had never eaten Key Lime Pie). He actually preferred it without the whipped topping, but I liked it with it. Will definately keep this recipe and make it for him again! And what a nice story on the history of this pie. I'm sure it was very special for your grandparents! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Absoultely LOVED this pie. It has a super twang and is nice and tart. I used a reduced fat graham cracker crust and fat free sweet and condensed milk. It turned out great. I'm a Weight Watcher person so I calculated it out at 6 points per slice...and it was worth EVERY point!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      This was EXACTLY how I remembered key lime pie to taste! I grew up in Massachusetts and Florida and was spoiled to have endless amounts of key lime pie throughout my childhood. Now living in CA the only chances I get at key lime pie are the frozen varieties, which are just no good. Since I am out in CA finding key limes or key lime juice was a bit tricky so I substituted key lime juice for 1/2 lime juice 1/2 lemon juice (freshly squeezed) and I just zested two limes in replace of the key lime zest. Honestly the pie tastes amazing, just as I remembered it. So refreshing on a hot summer evening!! Thank you SOO much for this easy and delicious recipe, I will be making this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      to save time used premade pie crust. Best key lime pie ever. I make it at least once a month.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      I make it constantly...it's AMAZING. The crust comes out best if you let it cool a little before adding the key lime filling to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Easy to make and tasted delish. I put a meringue on the top per my daughters request though. Next time will try with your topping. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2008

      Great, authentic key lime pie. (Needed to use up a premade crust, so can not speak to the crust part of this recipe.) Have been making key lime pies for over 30 years, used Nellie's bottled key lime jucie for the first time and really could not taste any difference. Sure saves a lot of time and energy! I did beat the egg yolks for approx. 5 minutes as directed, but skipped that beating part the next time I made this. No difference in the taste nor consistency of the filling. Note: I did hand beat the yolks for about 30 seconds. Also, a key lime pie is never, ever green!! Run from any restaurant that serves it green. (the picture of the green filling does not do this great recipe a service) Be sure to use some grated key lime peel, as directed. That always give the filling a bit more tartness/tang. And I did not freeze it right before serving as directed. Sounds rather interesting, so will try that step next time. The filling part (if using bottled key lime juice) takes literally 5 minutes start to finish. So, so easy and delish! Here's a hint to get your beaters really cold in order to whip the cream quickly: Put bowl with beaters- not whipping cream- in freezer for 3 minutes. Set your timer so you don't forget them. That will chill them to a perfect temp. and speed along the whipping process. Great pie that doesn't last long around here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      This is the first key lime pie that I have ever made. It was so easy and my husband loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      The best Key Lime Pie EVER!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2007

      I was told that this was the best pie I have ever made...which (all modesty aside) is saying quite a bit. It took my son about an hour to juice enough key limes for this, but after tasting the pie, says that it was completely worth it! This is definitely a tart, lime-y pie, but that's what we like. I made this in an 8" pie plate, and it had the perfect amount of filling. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe, and for helping me keep my pie-reputation alive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      This is the way my mom makes this pie and everyone in my family loves it! Of course, it's a tart pie...it's a key lime pie...I wouldn't have it any other way. The tartness is what I love about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2005

      I saw Key limes at the grocery store here in California for the first time, so I was excited to find something to make with them. With this recipe, I ended up with not enough filling for a 9-inch pie, so I filled the remaining space with whipped cream. Having never had any type of Key Lime pie before, I didn't know what to expect, but this was way to tart for my taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      This was so easy and delicious. I have made this twice. It's definetly a keeper in my recipe book!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Joe's Stone Crab Key Lime Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 473.1
     
    Calories from Fat 233
    49%
    Total Fat 25.9 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 14.9 g
    74%
    Cholesterol 147.5 mg
    49%
    Sodium 193.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.6 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 44.5 g
    178%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    key lime zest

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites