Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Joe's Special (Ground Beef, Spinach & Eggs) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Joe's Special (Ground Beef, Spinach & Eggs)

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 22, 2011

      I added cooked rice and Feta cheese-Wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      I made this recipe with ground turkey instead, with baby spinach, and added quinoa to make it a bit more hearty yet healthy and it was really good! Considering turkey has less sodium, I would have added more salt in hindsight, and I can see how the flavors may need more time to come out in full force so I can't wait to try the leftovers tomorrow. I will be making this one again, thx!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2004

      Yummy comfort food. I like to add a diced tomato or two and some rice OR garbanzo beans. This is really nice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2014

      I am not going to rate this. I used cinnamon because I didn't have nutmeg and I don't know how this affected the taste. This dish was just ok for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

      I have been eating this and cooking it since the 1950's. My mother went to a restaurant in the LA area called Diamond Jim's and this was the Diamond Jim special. This was always a dinner I looked forward to, as my mom was only a mediocre cook. My children loved it as well. I usually cook the onions/garlic first. If you use frozen spinach, be sure to drain/dry well. The texture of the eggs is best if the heat isn't too high.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      Our family loved this! Quick, super easy, and the spices added something special without overpowering. Made exactly as directed except for throwing in a few extra eggs. Definitely will be a regular for us! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Very simple but yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      A version of this recipe is one of our favourites. I usually use 4 tablespoons butter (no oil) and I add about 1/4lb sliced mushrooms that I saute with the onions and 6 eggs, instead of 4. Excellent served with sourdough bread

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      This is a good one! I didn't use any oil or butter. Used Pam in skillet to brown ground beef, then I followed the recipe except to add sliced mushrooms and double the garlic. This is the first time I've used a recipe for Joe's Special but felt it was needed for more consistent results. I am very glad that you posted this recipe, my husband and I both loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Pretty good. I added some shredded cheese on the top and thought it was good too. This reminds me of something like a quiche. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      Thanks for posting! This has become a regular meal in my house as it's so delicious and simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      I halved the recipe and found it needed three eggs. I had some frozen cooked ground beef so it took only five minutes to make. I added part of a chopped baked potato to the mix and topped with Tabasco sauce. I really tasted the spices and when I sampled the next morning, the spices tasted the same strength. I much preferred the mixture hot out of the pan. Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

      This was in a Sunset Basics cookbook in the 70's, and was one of our family favorites then. Try going heavy on the garlic and seasonings, and then topping with parmesan cheese to make this a five star recipe. Thanks so much for reminding us of this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2005

      Fabulous recipe! As ClareVH says “not fancy” but certainly delicious, and if you like the sound of the key ingredients – ground beef, spinach, onions and garlic, eggs and basil, oregano and nutmeg – you’ll just LOVE this recipe. I doubled the recipe. I increased the amount of garlic (I used 10 cloves for the two pounds of meat) and probably more or less also doubled the quantity of spinach, but I otherwise made this exactly to the recipe (which I rarely do!). It took a bit longer than 5 minutes to prepare (!), but for one meal on the table and three more in the freezer, it was certainly quick and easy to make even if you double the recipe as I did! Thank you for a great recipe! The blend of flavours was fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2005

      I know I've reviewed this one already, but I have to amend my earlier comments. Later that night, after the meal was cold, I had a bite before putting it away. WOW. What a difference. I can't believe the different flavors that exploded when it cooled off. I munched it all down the next day for a cold breakfast! Everything finally "melded" and you could taste all the seasonings..oh yes. I craved it still the next day. Yep. I just had to wait a bit before serving. THAT I think was the trick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2004

      This recipe grew on me as I ate the leftovers for lunch the following couple of days. The basil and oregano give the meat a really nice flavor. You could easily stretch this even further by adding a couple of more eggs. I'll make this again when I have some extra fresh spinach

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Joe's Special (Ground Beef, Spinach & Eggs)

    Serving Size: 1 (231 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 376.8
     
    Calories from Fat 208
    55%
    Total Fat 23.1 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 8.5 g
    42%
    Cholesterol 267.3 mg
    89%
    Sodium 292.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 1.8 g
    7%
    Protein 34.3 g
    68%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites