18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this at least four times and it's always amazing. One tip: don't soften the cream cheese or the filling will be too runny. I use a different recipe for the crust to make it gluten free and have used pears each time. I have one in the oven right now though that I'm doing with cherries and I can't wait to taste it!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
contactjessicaporter June 28, 2011

I made this for Thanksgiving, and wow! I'll definitely be making it again, and I love the idea of using different fruits. My husband loves peaches, so this would be great to make with fresh peaches in the summer. I used fresh pears instead of canned, and I added dried cranberries. I poached my pear halves and cranberries in apple juice with some apple pie spice added. I think I ended up using 4 or 5 whole pears.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
poptart77 November 28, 2010

Babs says this is an impressive dessert, and she is absolutely right. The buttery, crumbly crust complements the flavorful creamy filling perfectly. I had very ripe red bartlett pears and peaches that were even more ripe, so I used a 9" tart pan and two individual size tart pans. I used pears in the larger pan, and peaches in the small ones, and both were excellent. Thanks for a recipe I know I'll make many times! Updated review: I first reviewed this in September, but made it again twice today (12/30/07). I made a Pear Tart for a New Year's Eve party tomorrow and it's beautiful, as usual. I also was craving a cherry dessert, so I re-hydrated some dried cherries in hot water and let them sit overnight, then drained and put them on top of the filling instead of the pears. Also used almonds in the crust instead of pecans, and put a few sliced almonds on top with the cherries for a pretty presentation. Very yum - was a great dessert for our 15th anniversary. Will try this with dried blueberries next. What a wonderful, versatile recipe. 5/12/08: Made this again for Mother's Day, but with fresh blueberries. It was a big hit, but I still want to try it with dried, reconstituted blueberries. This one always keeps its 5-star rating from me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bkwilson May 12, 2008

I make a lot of pear desserts and this is my new favorite. I respectfully disagree with the poster that said this was too sweet. It's perfect and the filling is WOW! I love the texture of it with the crispy crust and the fresh pears. I used a ten inch tart pan and the crust was perfect. I also used three fresh pears. My husband raved. This one is easy to make yet impressive.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ihvhope January 31, 2010

The crust was great--and one recipe of it was perfect. The filling ... WAY sweet!!!! SO sweet that sugar was about all we tasted from the filling ... I'll try it again, but will use half as much sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeborahSu November 09, 2009

The reviews are right...this is wonderful! Beautiful presentation! Your friends will think you worked sooo hard. A couple of members of my family don't do nuts, so I made my own pie crust instead of following the crust recipe, but I can hardly wait to try it with the pecans when they aren't around! :) I will be trying this with cherries also in the very near future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kerry_H October 21, 2009

Very soft and fluffy. Easy to eat with braces! I put the pears in first then poured the custard on top. They came out very soft and full of flavour. * Update I have made this twice since I got the recipe, It is VERY GOOD .We had friends over for a slice, they ended up taking the rest of the tart home with them they liked it so much : )

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blonder May 26, 2009

WOW! =) This is so good and so easy to make. Looks really pretty too! Tart's have always been my favorite dessert and I never knew they could be so easy to make. Thank you so much for this recipe. I can't wait to try it with other fruit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iheartsprinkles February 14, 2009

this tart is absolutely delicious. The crust is wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvtigger76 October 26, 2008
Joan's Pear Tart