Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Joan's Pear Tart Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Joan's Pear Tart

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 28, 2011

      I've made this at least four times and it's always amazing. One tip: don't soften the cream cheese or the filling will be too runny. I use a different recipe for the crust to make it gluten free and have used pears each time. I have one in the oven right now though that I'm doing with cherries and I can't wait to taste it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      I made this for Thanksgiving, and wow! I'll definitely be making it again, and I love the idea of using different fruits. My husband loves peaches, so this would be great to make with fresh peaches in the summer. I used fresh pears instead of canned, and I added dried cranberries. I poached my pear halves and cranberries in apple juice with some apple pie spice added. I think I ended up using 4 or 5 whole pears.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Babs says this is an impressive dessert, and she is absolutely right. The buttery, crumbly crust complements the flavorful creamy filling perfectly. I had very ripe red bartlett pears and peaches that were even more ripe, so I used a 9" tart pan and two individual size tart pans. I used pears in the larger pan, and peaches in the small ones, and both were excellent. Thanks for a recipe I know I'll make many times! Updated review: I first reviewed this in September, but made it again twice today (12/30/07). I made a Pear Tart for a New Year's Eve party tomorrow and it's beautiful, as usual. I also was craving a cherry dessert, so I re-hydrated some dried cherries in hot water and let them sit overnight, then drained and put them on top of the filling instead of the pears. Also used almonds in the crust instead of pecans, and put a few sliced almonds on top with the cherries for a pretty presentation. Very yum - was a great dessert for our 15th anniversary. Will try this with dried blueberries next. What a wonderful, versatile recipe. 5/12/08: Made this again for Mother's Day, but with fresh blueberries. It was a big hit, but I still want to try it with dried, reconstituted blueberries. This one always keeps its 5-star rating from me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

    • on January 31, 2010

      I make a lot of pear desserts and this is my new favorite. I respectfully disagree with the poster that said this was too sweet. It's perfect and the filling is WOW! I love the texture of it with the crispy crust and the fresh pears. I used a ten inch tart pan and the crust was perfect. I also used three fresh pears. My husband raved. This one is easy to make yet impressive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      The crust was great--and one recipe of it was perfect. The filling ... WAY sweet!!!! SO sweet that sugar was about all we tasted from the filling ... I'll try it again, but will use half as much sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      The reviews are right...this is wonderful! Beautiful presentation! Your friends will think you worked sooo hard. A couple of members of my family don't do nuts, so I made my own pie crust instead of following the crust recipe, but I can hardly wait to try it with the pecans when they aren't around! :) I will be trying this with cherries also in the very near future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2009

      Very soft and fluffy. Easy to eat with braces! I put the pears in first then poured the custard on top. They came out very soft and full of flavour. * Update I have made this twice since I got the recipe, It is VERY GOOD .We had friends over for a slice, they ended up taking the rest of the tart home with them they liked it so much : )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      WOW! =) This is so good and so easy to make. Looks really pretty too! Tart's have always been my favorite dessert and I never knew they could be so easy to make. Thank you so much for this recipe. I can't wait to try it with other fruit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      this tart is absolutely delicious. The crust is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

      This tart recipe, is indeed an impressive and easy dessert to make for dinner guests. I peeled, cored, and sliced fresh Bartlett pears to use in the tart, but must admit that I am not much of a crust maker so I used a ready-to-bake pie crust. The tart came out so creamy and full of flavor. My dinner guests were impressed with the tart. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      I also used fresh pears, but I used the red ones and the color "wept" into the cream cheese mixture and made the whole Tart a beautiful rose color. Definitely a hit with my family and guests! Will be making this one again! It's easy, fast, and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2006

      I think this is one of the best desserts I have ever made. It went over so well at Thanksgiving that I've had requests to make it for Christmas! I also took one to work and have been talked into bringing another to our office Christmas party. What a hit! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      I have been cooking and baking for over 40 years. This was, without a doubt, one of THE most impressive desserts I've ever prepared. I'll be making another one, for a holiday brunch, this weekend. The comment about increasing the crust was most helpful! So was the syggestion to use the fresh pears. I can't wait to impress my friends with THIS scrumptuous beauty, this Sunday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2006

      I would just like to point out that this is a tart, not a torte. A torte is a cake made of short wide layers with a cream or fruit filling in between.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2004

      What a Fantastic Torte! It was absolutely beautiful and the flavor was wonderful. I did not use canned pears, I used 4 large Bosc pears (Peeled, cored and sliced)The only problem that I had was that there didn't seem to be enough crust to cover an 11 in tart pan so I made another half batch which was perfect. Thanks so much for the recipe, I will be making this for dessert on Thanksgiving

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2004

      I followed the recipe as written but using fresh pears (microwaved to soften) instead of canned. My husband loved it!I cannot wait until pears are actually in season!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2003

      This dessert is to die for! Absolutely fantastic! Not only does it taste great but it's very easy to make and looks wonderful. I used almond essence in place of vanilla for a change of flavour, but either way would be good. Also I didn't have enough walnuts for the crust so I added some cashews and almonds as well and it was really good. The crust is delightful. I didn't use a tart pan with removeable sides and it still came out really well, no sticking! Great recipe, thanks. I'll use this one again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Joan's Pear Tart

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 482.7
     
    Calories from Fat 256
    53%
    Total Fat 28.5 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 13.5 g
    67%
    Cholesterol 84.9 mg
    28%
    Sodium 206.0 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.9 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 41.5 g
    166%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes