1140 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe has so much flavor. I used a pound of sausage and ground beef. I browned the sausage, ground beef,onion and garlic in an electric skillet. I then placed the meat in my slow cooker along with the other ingredients and mixed well. Cooked it for six hours and it turned out great. Served with angle hair pasta, side salad, and Garlic Texas Toast.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M December 03, 2002

This was my first attempt at making spaghetti sauce from other than a jar-and this was a wise choice. I used 1lb. ground beef and 1 lb. of italian sausage-DELICIOUS!!!! This was absolutely perfect! A+++++++++++

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christina Chavez November 10, 2002

This is one of the best spaghetti sauces I have ever made. My family thinks mine is the best, as families are prone to do, but they were very pleased with this recipe and it got five stars all around the table. I did add just a tad bit more red pepper and wine, and we used half ground round and half italian sausage. I also added about 1/4 cup chopped green onion and a freshly chopped ripe tomato. I served with garlic/mozzarella bread, a fresh salad and a bottle of Jacob's Creek Merlot. Truly delicious, well deserving of the praise it has received. Thanks for a outstanding recipe!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! November 08, 2002

I just liked it! I scaled it down by half, and was still wonderful. Reminded me of my dad's spaghetti.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melany * November 01, 2002

Mmm,Mmm,Good! The whole family raved about this last night. I halved the recipe because we only had four people, but they did not leave any left overs for my lunch! BOO HOO! I made it with Italian turkey sausage to reduce fat a little, and increased the speed with the low pressure cooker because it was a week night meal (including prep time it was ready in 45 minutes). Otherwise, I followed the recipe. Wouldn't change a thing. I recommend it to any spaghetti lover. We'll sure make it again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan October 30, 2002

I thought it was a tasty sauce although too spicy for my tastes ... I was unsure about the red pepper but decided to give it a go - I don't like changing a recipe then giving it a lower rating, you know? But I will definitely leave it out next time - to me, that level of spiciness doesn't belong in a classic red sauce. I'll also have to make my mother's now to compare - haven't had hers in quite some time but it's a good one.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jane*in*RI March 31, 2003

This recipe is absolutely awesome, and I've been making it for many years. My husband will not eat any other spaghetti sauce after tasting this one so I make a double or triple batch and then can it for quick and easy dinners later. We also love the lasagna recipe which uses this sauce. Several people have asked me for my recipe, and I am always happy to pass it on with credit given to Sharlene! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
D&KKnight September 19, 2010

Revision to previous comments: In addition to being lower in fat content & colesterol, I prefer the taste of lean ground beef over Italian sausages. Most other reviewers have made that decision also - as well as substantial other modifications to the original recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady September 25, 2003

Excellent! After 92 reviews this recipe still holds a 4.5 star rating. There's not much more I can say other than this will be my spaghetti sauce recipe from now on. Thanks

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sdowney March 07, 2003

WOW! This was good! I made the same change as most people-I used 1 lb. sausage and 1 lb. meat. I let it simmer for about 4-5 hours so I used all the water and even added a little bit at the end. My fiance absolutely loved it! We had it the next day as well and I still have sauce left over-so it will make an excellent lasagna. Thanks for posting!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SiSi March 04, 2003
Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti