Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti

    Average Rating:

    1,120 Total Reviews

    Showing 161-180 of 1,120

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2011

      I never liked tomato based spaghetti sauces, but I needed to cook up a huge batch of food for a family dinner. I chose this one based upon the simplicity and the reviews, and I'm glad I did! I added it to my recipe book; it's a keeper! The only modification I made was to double the red wine, and I went towards the high range for the crushed red pepper flakes. Also used spicy italian sausage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      This recipe prompted me to create a "favorites" cookbook because it got rave reviews from everyone. I will be the first to admit that I used to use Ragu from a jar with minimal alterations because it tastes just fine to me. From now on I will be making up large batches of this sauce and freezing it because it is that good. I also wanted to let those that are leery of using wine know that it really does make a considerable difference. We don't drink wine here and we tasted it before and after adding the wine. The wine gave it a much more robust flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2011

      Very good recipe. Had ground beef on hand, so used that instead of sausage. Delicious. Will make this again and again. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2011

      So good, let me say! I doubled the garlic, halved the water, put in one cup of cab, and added a pound of ground beef! Also added one finely chopped orange bell pepper and two finely chopped carrots when adding the onions.... Everyone loved it! The best spaghetti sauce I have ever made or tasted!

      Thank you for your hard work on this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      OMG this was so good, this is similiar to paula deens lasagna sauce. I halved the recipe but used the original amount of onion and garlic. I used ground turkey to make it leaner. And i made this with whole wheat spaghetti bc im watching my weight. turned otu awesome, and im so happy because ive been looking for a good spaghetti suace recipe for a while. this is it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      My husband absolutely LOVED this sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2011

      Wow, this is a great recipe! I have been making a similiar sauce for a while, and like others, either add or subtract someting. When I use this recipe for ravioli, I omit any meat, for calorie reasons, since ravioli is so rich by itself. I just add finely diced carrots and onions for a more vegetarian sauce, but I don't tell the kids. They love it!
      I also tried a port wine, which is sweeter, so I omit the brown sugar, and it was just right!
      This is actually similiar to a sauce that my Italian grandmother and mother made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2011

      This is excellent!! I added 3/4 cup of wine....very good sausage from the Italian butcher.....whole tomatoes that I crushed in my hands......... and an additional cup of water after an hour of cooking. I pretty much stuck to the recipe and it was thick and delicious after 2 hours of simmering. So delicious and not the least bit runny. It coated the spaghetti perfectly. We pigged out on this one. Thanks so much, Sharlene, for laboring so long to perfect such a delicious recipe that others can just cook and enjoy. I will make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      VERY good spaghetti! My husband absolutely LOVES this, he always goes back for seconds. My preferences: I like letting everything simmer in the crockpot and will only use ground beef or turkey. For those like myself who don't feel comfortable putting wine in food, a nice mixture of grape and apple juices with a little chicken broth still gives the sauce an edge.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      Excellent and very simple to put together The taste was rich and the texture was smooth like velvet. This is a permanent recipe for our house so fast and a stunning presentation. I used the the Italian sausage for taste and flavor but added Bison meatballs as well yummy. Thanks for such a great recipe Sharlene~W!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      Love this recipe! I cut the recipe in half (because it makes so much) and it works well to feed my family of 4 (we still always have leftovers) Since I am not a fan of Italian sausage I substitute it with 1 lb.ground beef or ground chuck, add a little more sugar and less salt since we prefer a sweeter sauce, it turns out awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2011

      This was really good. I used 1 pound of sweet Italian sausage, and 1 pound of hot Italian sausage. I doubled the garlic to 8 cloves. I made no other changes. My husband really liked this. I do not care for sausage at all, but this sauce made it taste so good! I kept trying to scoop extra meat in to my bowl! I thought it was very easy to make, and it makes a ton! I will definitely make this again! Thank you for sharing your recipe, Sharlene! It was Deeeelicious!! Update: I had to change this from 4 to 5 stars! I LOVE LOVE LOVE this sauce. I made it again, simmered it longer, and it was even better! I froze half and used it for spaghetti pie. I will never buy jarred sauce again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      Love Love LOVE this sauce! Stocking up the freezer with it now! :) Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      Great flavor, easy to make. Watch the salt, as there is a lot of sodium in the recipe, but stick to what is listed and it taste find.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      This is soooo good.No need to change a thing.Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      I have made this twice now and its awesome! The first time I had to make a couple substitutions but the 2nd time I followed it more closely except I used only 1 pound of sausage. I like it much better with less meat. The other substitution I had to make the first time was b/c I didn't have any wine I had to use grape juice with a spash of balsamic vinegar. This time I used a cabernet and must say I liked it much better with the grape juice balsamic vinegar mix. I'd like to experiment with a couple more Red wines next time. I'm extremely picky when it comes to spaghetti sauce. I don't usually like the bottled ones b/c of too much garlic but b/c I can control the amount of garlic and Onions I LOVE this. Its definatley going to be my go to sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

      Best spaghetti sauce we've had at our house in a long time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      This is a very good recipe! I took the advice of some viewers here and used just a pound and a half of sausage, and I think that is plenty, unless you want your sauce super meaty. I also added a lot more garlic (never enough when it comes to spaghetti sauce). OK, everything was tasting great...and then....I added a teaspoon of baking soda to the leftover (about half). Lo and behold, the baking soda did something to the sauce and turned it into something totally different and I didn't like it at all. A really weird taste! I think the baking soda neutralized everything, the tomatoes, the spices...etc. and I could taste was the sweetness of the sugar. Oh lord!!!! Baking soda's supposed to be a secret ingredient in some other spaghetti sauce recipe and I thought I'd try that with the leftover. Please do not use it, unless you want your spaghetti sauce to taste like simple syrup (water sugar).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

      It was good but a little too much sausage which made it chewy..I would suggest adding half sausage and half beef unless you like chewy meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      Made this for the first time last night. Followed the recipe only I used 1 lb of Italian sausage and 1 lb of ground beef. Must say I may never be able to go back to my old sauce after this. I froze 1/2 for later use. Outstanding.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 ... 56

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti

    Serving Size: 1 (285 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.8
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    42%
    Total Fat 26.3 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 51.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 2058.6 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 29.8 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes