Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti

    Average Rating:

    1,113 Total Reviews

    Showing 141-160 of 1,113

    Sort by:

    • on July 21, 2012

      I googled best spaghetti sauce and this recipe had so many 5 star reviews I had to try it. I followed the recipe exactly aside from adding one bay leaf. Hands down the most well-balanced sauce I have ever tasted. It amazes me how simple it is,, yet I think simple is key when it comes to classic foods. Thank you for perfecting this sauce. I will ONLY use this recipe for spaghetti.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2012

      I really am not much of a cook. Don't have the patience. One thing I do know is that I love a good spaghetti sauce and this was fantastic. Very easy to prepare, that is a must for me if I am going to do the cooking. The sauce got rave reviews. Thank you Sharlene. All of your tweaking of the recipe paid off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      This is now my "go to" spaghetti sauce and lasagna base. I don't measure the herbs but chop up fresh herbs and throw them in, including oregano and marjoram. I can't imagine spaghetti sauce without origano. I also (probably) add more wine. I simply "glug, glug" the wine into the sauce. I love this recipe. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      I made this sauce with 1/2 Sweet Italian Sausage and 1/2 Lean Ground Sirloin. Also added more garlic. Used whole tomatoes in sauce as I did not have diced in pantry. Used only 1/4 tsp Red Pepper flakes and ended up adding a little more sugar. Two tsp. granulated. Did not add salt. Canned tomato and tomato sauce plenty salty for me. Otherwise followed quantities as posted Loved the sauce. Thank you for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      Let me voice my one objection first before I go on to praise this excellent recipe. I doubled it but only included slightly over 2 lbs. of meat. We like our sauce thick and meaty, but 3 lbs. would have been overkill. I can't even fathom 4! Other than that, the seasonings were excellent, and it was enjoyed by all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      I tried this recipe using fresh tomatoes from our garden...............it was outstanding! EVERYONE loves it............very delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!! When I dont have fresh tomatoes on hand (I freeze some from the summer and still am using them now) I will use the canned sauce..but either way..its GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      Positively the best sauce my family has ever enjoyed. My 17 year old son requested this recipe every time we have spaghetti. Thanks for the recipe it's a keeper....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      Love love love this! So easy to feed a large number of people - I like to make it the night before , this seems to help bring the flavours out. It also freezes really well.
      I am from the UK so had to make a couple of changes. I couldn't find italian sausage but a cheap pork sausage meat from the supermarket worked fine. Also, I wasn't sure what tomato sauce is in america so I use a large jar of passata. Everything else is pretty much the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      We've been looking for a spaghetti sauce recipe since my husband and I got married a little over 7 years ago and I think we've found our winner! Tasty with a little kick of heat. I used 1 pound of mild italian sausage and 1 pound of ground beef--I also drained the meat after it cooked because it was very greasy. This recipe will definitely be our "go to" spaghetti sauce recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      I have my own special homemade spaghetti sauce that I make, but I have to admit that this is definitely a very strong contender. I used half hot Italian sausage and half mild, but otherwise made as directed. This sauce is full of flavor and a bit spicy from the red pepper flakes -- just like we prefer it. I have been sampling all afternoon, but will have to wait until we return from our meeting tonight -- just hope I can keep my mind on the agenda vs. the delicious spaghetti that is awaiting me. This sauce will provide some great leftovers for this week as well. Made for the Cookbook tag, January, 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      I made this for my parents and I actually got a "this is good, I'm throwing my recipe out and letting you cook spaghetti from now on". My mom has had her family recipe for 40 years or more and my dad makes his own preferred sauce and they both loved this recipe. I think the brown sugar is what makes it. We normally use regular granulated sugar. Unfortunately I am not a spaghetti eater but I did give it a try and I agree it was some of the best sauce I've tasted. My secret ingredient i added was cinnamon.... my folks loved the secret spice. Thank you for the great recipe. I rarely cook spaghetti sauce and I needed a recipe to cook since my mom was running late.

      *I substituted the sausage with ground beef. I added fresh mushrooms. I added to the seasoning a dash of each of the following: celery salt, herbs de Provence, tarragon, cinnamon and 2 bay leaves. I was out of red wine and only used 1 can of tomato paste since we were out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2012

      Very good! I made it just like the recipe except I did not use any of the water (we like thick sauce and it just didn't seem to need it). I wasn't sure if I would like an all sausage sauce, but I used sweet Italian sausage and it was great! One member of the family commented that although they had grown tired of spaghetti, this sauce was different and flavorful enough to make an exception. Everyone loved it. Definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      I used 1lb. ground chuck and 1lb. Italian sausage, other than that, followed recipe. This was amazing and I too will never buy pasta sauce again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      Not just five stars...I'd give it ten! I have to tell you I am a real "recipe snob" when it comes to so-called "good Italian" so I am very happy to tell you Sharlene that THIS is the real deal! I used half sweet Italian sausage and half hot Italian sausage and changed nothing else. I did add all the water because I believe in a very long simmer (four hours - lid ajar). I went on to use this sauce for your lasagna recipe. I use sliced mozzarella instead of shredded (not sure if the recipe specified but I like sliced better for some reason). Honestly it was better than any I have ever had in a restaurant. I don't even know why I made it as I was happy with my current recipe but WOWZA this is fantastic and a keeper. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      well, I decided to make this recipe but I had to make a couple of adjustments because we have a house of a vegan, a vegetarian and a meat eater...lol! I used a combination of Yves brand vegetarian Italian sausage and veggie crumbles, other than that I followed the recipe. Everyone loved this sauce, they say "hands down" the best sauce yet. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      This was great as you can imagine after 1400 reviews. I used 3/4 of a pound of turkey sausage and 3/4 of a pound of 90% lean beef. I drained the fat from the meat but added about a tablespoon of fat back in later when onions were cooking and it appeared a bit dry. Oops meant to mention that I swirled the pan with olive oil when I started. I also added a full green pepper diced which added great flavor and took up some of the bulk missing from cutting the meats back. I used two heaping tablespoons of diced garlic which I think is probably more than was called for but was great. I went for the whole 1/2 tsp of red pepper flakes. I used a 1/2 cup o f beaujolais nouveau and only one cup of water which I added in small increments watching the consistency. I simmered only one hour because we couldn't wait to eat it. It was served on thin wheat spaghetti and topped with reduced fat parmesan. All of these changes really helped to improve the health quotient and didn't distract from the flavor. This was excellent. Given that only my husband and I were dining we have lots left for freezing. I looked at the Jo Mama lasagna recipe and it is surprisingly similar to my own. I am one of the only people I know who makes lasagna with cottage cheese but go Jo Mama. I do one variation there where I add two lightly beaten eggs to the cottage cheese. I will use some of my leftover sauce to make a lasagna.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2011

      I've been searching for a sauce that is unbeatable! I always tried to add extra flavor to the sauces I make, but this... OMG! Best sauce ever! I made it exactly as the recipe stated, and it was amazing! We ate that meal in minutes! It smelled amazing and it tasted incredible! Thanks! So glad I found this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      That spaghetti sauce was AWESOME!!!!!!! I will make it again for sure! I accidently put 1/2 cup of red wine instead of 1/4 cup and I don't think I would put 1/4 cup in it. Half of cup tasted awesome (i simmered it for 2.5 hours). I made it with Mama Iuliucci's FAMOUS MEAT-A-BALLS (Italian Meatballs) [found on here]. They were awesome too!!!! I will double the recipe next time I make it so I can freeze some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      Try some of Coastal Spice Traders Tomato and Basil Sea Salt on this. its awesome...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      Yes, yes...I know..like you really need another review. This was fantastic. I made it using "Apothic Red" wine for a dinner party with friends. No, I won't claim to never need jarred sauce again, as this is time consuming..but if you have the time, this is SO worth it. I added chopped fresh mushrooms. Delicious. Only down side: I should have tripled or quadrupled the recipe...I will, next time, and freeze the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 ... 56

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti

    Serving Size: 1 (285 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.8
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    42%
    Total Fat 26.3 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 51.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 2058.6 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 29.8 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites