Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti

    Average Rating:

    1,116 Total Reviews

    Showing 121-140 of 1,116

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2011

      I was a little skeptical when I made the recipe, but I was wrong. This is the BEST spaghetti sauce I have ever tasted. I went to bed at night wondering if it would be too weird to eat this for breakfast because I didn't think I could wait until lunch to eat some more. I used some hints from other reviews and used 1 pound sausage and one pound ground beef, doubled the onion and garlic and added some diced celery and carrots. I didn't add any water, but put in 1 cup of red wine. After one hour of simmering it tasted a bit acidic so I was worried that I had put in too much wine, but after a total of 3 hours of simmering the sauce was divine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      Absolutely the best spaghetti sauce I've ever made! I came across this recipe a few years ago & will not EVER make any other sauce! Great for lasagna too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2011

      Amazing! I followed other people's recommendation, and the only thing I might have to add (besides double garlic and onion) is fennel seeds!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      Amazing! This recipe is simple and great! My mom always made homemade sauce sound so hard! I leave out the sausage and add meatballs. I double the recipe and use the leftover sauce and meatballs to make lasagna. This is so good and my family requests this at least once a month. I never thought I could make homemade sauce! Thank you so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      This was ok. For nearly 1,000 reviews I was expecting something phenomenal, but I didn't find that here. I followed the directions exactly, with the exception of eliminating all the water and simmering all day in my crockpot to allow flavors to meld. Certainly good, but so far I've not found anything that, in my opinion, tops my own recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Best spaghetti I've ever made! Followed the recipe exactly as written and was not at all disappointed. No more jar sauce for me, thanks for posting:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2010

      My super picky Italian husband only likes sauce made like his Gramma's, but he loved this. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2010

      This is absolutely better than any jarred sauce you'll ever find!!.....My DH will only eat this from now on!.....It makes so much that I freeze half for next time. Just looooove it!!!..... Great recipe Sharlene and a big thank you for posting it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2010

      This is by far the best spaghetti sauce I have EVER tried!!! I did what most people said on the reviews and used less water! Only enough water to rinse out the tomato sauce cans! It made it the perfect consistency! My Family absolutely loved it! <3

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2010

      i made this tonight for my family! we all LOVED it! I will never again use jar spagetti sauce! this is now what we will be eating when it is Spagetti night!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2009

      I followed the recipe exactly and wasn't too thrilled. It was good sauce but not as flavorful as I hoped. It didn't make me want to eat the sauce by itself, like other spaghetti sauces have. ****UPDATE****** I made this sauce again because I was sure I was doing something wrong. Well I tripled the amount of spices, let it simmer all morning long, added some bay leaves, ground beef, oregenao and italian seasoning and decreased the amount of paste. I let it sit overnight to blend the flavors. The result was a robust sauce, that tasted just like ones I had in Italy!! I could drink this stuff!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2004

      I ran out of spaghetti sauce tonight, and I am so glad I did. I tried your recipe instead of the good ol' "jar", and WOW! Yum! I didnt add the wine however, but the sauce was fantastic even without. For some weird reason I always have pleanty of spaghetti noodles on hand, but after making the sauce I discovered I had run out!! Fettuccini it was. Oh Well, GREAT SAUCE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2003

      Overall this was a very good sauce - my husband and daughter loved it. I used 1 lb of mild Italian sausage and I didn't add wine. After all the ingrediants were put together, I tasted the sauce, and I'll admit it wasn't great, but it wasn't bad either, just kind of bland. I added a little thyme and some more brown sugar. After cooking for 2 1/2 hours the flavors blended together really well. I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2013

      I thought this was okay. My dish was a bit too sweet for my liking. I'd also skip the water next time as mine was too runny.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2012

      Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2012

      Excellent!!! I normally have spaghetti left over, after making this recipe it was all gone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      I made this recipe, but used Yves Veggie crumbles in place of the pork sausage to make it vegan. awesome recipe, great depth of flavour. I use red wine in mushroom stroganoffs and other things but would never have thought it was great in spaghetti! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      This sauce was very good although I wonder if anyone else thought it was very acidic. I tried all of the suggestions to reduce it...a little more sugar, a carrot, a bit of baking soda etc. but I still think that it's the predominant "flavor". I did add pork neck bones, as someone suggested and did 50/50 beef and sausage. If not for the extreme acidity, I would give this 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2012

      Very good recipe,and makes a ton of sauce that you can freeze for later use. I have used this sauce for other recipes as the base Italian sauce for casseroles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2012

      GREAT spaghetti sauce! I would suggest making it two days ahead of time - I had it the day after I made it, and it was good. Two days after I made it, the sauce was AMAZING. The flavors really had a chance to blend together beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 ... 56

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti

    Serving Size: 1 (285 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.8
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    42%
    Total Fat 26.3 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 51.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 2058.6 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 29.8 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites