Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti

    Average Rating:

    1,114 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 1,114

    Sort by:

    • on March 25, 2003

      So many reviews already...I add mine because this recipe deserves a five-star overall rating. This sauce was wonderful. I have always thought of spagetti as quick, cheap and easy: package of noodles and jar of sauce, boil one and microwave the other. My opinion has changed...this is what spagetti should taste like! I made the lasagna with the leftover sauce, which I would recommend. I will only change one thing next time- I will cut the pork sausage down to 1 lb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2003

      This sauce is better than restraunt quality. This is little old Italian lady quality. I used 1lb ground beef and 1 lb mild Italian sausage. I cooked the sausage in the oven then chunked it up and threw it in the sauce (in an attempt to reduce fat). I used enough water to rinse out the cans and it was perfect for us. We were really impressed - thank you so much. And my freezer is now stocked. I think that jar of sauce I had is going to sit in the pantry for a good while.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2003

      Oh my Lord this is good. I have made this several times since discovering this web site. I used 1 lb of Italian Sausage and 1 lb of extra lean hamburger. I think the secert ingredient is the wine so instead of 1/4 cup I used 1 cup. I use fresh tomato sauce that I am fortunate enough to be able to buy at a local Italian Grocery Store. The family can't get enough of this sauce and I find them sampling it as simmers on the stove.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2003

      I made this last weekend. It was my first time making homemade sauce (a die-hard Sauteed Onion and Garlic Ragu fan), but since my dad was doing a big deal out of "Pasta Night", I decided I would try it. I didn't have sausage because we were using lots of other meats (we brown everything and then people add what they like), so I started with olive oil. I added extra seasonings to make up for the lack of sausage. The whole thing was delicious!!! I made it in the morning and left it open all day. My sisters were hesitant because of the wine smell, but after it was left for about 3 hours, the smell went away and the flavor wasn't too strong. I thought it was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2003

      This was a superb recipe! Kinda' fun to make, smelled divine when it was simmering, and dang yummy! Added red bell pepper chunks and sliced mushrooms but I mis-read the ingredient list and added 3 tablespoons of basil instead of 3 teaspoons! Didn't matter, it was still fabulous...thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      This was fantastic! I will never go back to the jar sauce! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      Bravo! I didn't have an hour to spare, so I added 2/3 cup Merlot instead of the water. Also, I threw in about 12 thinly sliced mini carrots, one small onion, and one finely chopped stalk of celery to the sausage while it was browning. Delicioso!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      Absolutley awesome!! Made and kept it simmering in the crock pot for about 5 hours and it was delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      When I read this recipe I could not believe it. I have been making almost the exact recipe for years that I just made up on my own through experimentation. I use one pound of burger and 3 italian sausages (how ever much that weighs) I use whole San Marzano tomatos (to me it is worth it to search out San Marzanos) and break them up as they cook. Also, you can buy anchovy paste (toothpaste like tube). Give a squirt about 2-3 inches long and stir into the pot. Can't noticeably taste it but it gives the sauce an umami flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      THIS needs 100 Stars! This is the best Spaghetti Sauce I have ever had, including restaurants! We had company over for dinner and everyone wanted the recipe. My son was going fishing, and I had him taste the sauce (just as I put it on to simmer) and he stayed home to eat! NOTHING has ever kept him from fishing, need I say more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2010

      I'm a big fan of this recipe. Me and my room mates made this the other night, with a few very favorable alterations. One of my good friends had just bagged a doe during black powder season and was generous enough to fill our freezer to the brim with high quality venison. So, naturally, we replace the Italian sausage with venison, to our delight. Another friend of mine had a nice garden going so we were able to source several fresh herbs (especially lots and lots of fresh basil) for this recipe. We threw it all in a crock pot for about 3 hours and ate it with some whole grain spaghetti, Parmesan cheese and garlic buttered bread fresh out of the oven. It was an incredibly delicious meal that satisfied everyone. Not to mention, the left overs lasted us almost three days with a house hold of four. I will definitely use this recipe again. The only thing I really changed (other than substitutions) is that I definitely put at least double of all the seasonings in, as well as some other spices from the local co-op. Swapped cracked red pepper for chili/cayenne powder. This recipe itself isn't exceptionally cheap to make, but you can really stretch the sauce far if you try to put more pasta on your place, and less sauce. Either way, I would happily recommend this recipe to anyone. Just follow the guide lines to start with and once you figure out how good it turns out, you can really start to experiment. I hope my buddy gets an elk this weekend and we'll be able to try this recipe with some ground elk meat...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      This is hands down the best spaghetti sauce I've ever tasted. Just follow the recipe and you will be very pleasantly happy. The quantity is a bit much so just adjust it down, otherwise you are going to be eating spaghetti for a week! Thank you for an awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      Well, I'm adding one more 5 star review! Why not?? I made this earlier this week for my family and everyone loved it! I asked my husband the BIG question I always ask when I make something new: "Should I make this again, honey?" His response, "ABSOLUTELY, YES!!" It was so easy and wonderful. I have a VERY picky 16 yr. old daughter and she loved it as well...even heated up some the next day! Thank you for this fantastic recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      My family enjoyed this one, but we made a few little changes. I didn't add any water, used a California Merlot as wine, ground meat instead of sausage and added oregano.
      Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2003

      Sharlene, I remember adding this recipe to my cookbook the day it was published, yet I have only now gotten around to preparing it. I now can only ask myself, why did it take me so long? Your years of perfecting this recipe has paid off as this is a superior spaghetti sauce! I had to prepare this while my husband was out of town because he has always told me never to make any spaghetti sauce other than my own. Once he tastes your recipe, he may change his mind! I followed your directions to the letter, using 2 pounds of sweet Italian sausage, removing the casings and stirring to crumble. I used Kendall-Jackson Merlot which proved to be a perfect choice for red wine, and my husband's favorite ;). I served over spaghetti with freshly grated parmesan and freshly sliced mushrooms sauteed in butter and a warmed baguette.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2013

      Truly one of (if not) the best spaghetti sauces I've ever eaten. The only thing I didn't add was the parsley flakes because I erroneously thought I had some already but did not when I got back from the store. The very precise amounts of each ingredients come together to make this sauce sensational and well-deserving of the high rating it's received. Personally, I would try this one first before trying to tweak it--it's just too darned good to not give it its day in court before ad libing. I used a decent Cabernet (Kendall Jackson Vintner's Reserve 2010) but am intrigued by the suggestion about using the very expensive Cabernet. If you want to impress someone that like spaghetti, follow this recipe TO THE LETTER. Outstanding. (Tragically, I didn't have a good parmigiana-regiano like I thought I had in the fridge and had to settle for the canned stuff. But this sauce even elevated that.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2012

      It's ok - somewhere between Chef Boyardee and pretend Italian restaurant.

      Made exactly to the recipe and it seriously lacks taste.
      No rich robust flavor at all and is flat and boring unfortunately.

      We compared it to a "touch" above Ragu in the plastic jug.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2011

      This is a good sauce, but on the sweet side, and I used a good red wine and thought it would make it less sweet, but it didn't work. If I made it again I would use less water, add more wine, leave out the sugar and go from there.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2011

      This was pretty darn good! Ya, see, my Dad is an excellent chef (born and raised in Italy) and he makes excellent homemade sauce. He has given me the recipe, but I CANNOT duplicate the taste. After much frustration, I decided to give this a try. My husband was impressed, and that doesn't happen too often. I did use turkey sausage to cut down on the fat. This sauce was a little thicker than what I like (I just prefer a lighter sauce), but again, flavor was good. Might make again, either using less tomato paste or more water.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      This has got to be the yummiest sauce ever!! I made the full recipe even though it is just me and DH, and I'm glad I did! After reading the other reviews, I made a couple small tweaks. I used 1 lb regular and 1 lb spicy sausage, and I used about 8-10 garlic cloves (the 3-4 that the recipe calls for is not nearly enough if this is supposed to make 10-14 servings, right? hehe). I bumped the basil and parsley up to 1 Tbsp each, and I doubled the red pepper because we like it spicy. I threw in some sliced mushrooms, too. It was perfectly thick and tasty - I could eat it like a soup!! - and normally I'm not a fan of sausage but this recipe is FABULOUS! My husband keeps asking when we can have it again. Thanks Sharlene!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti

    Serving Size: 1 (285 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.8
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    42%
    Total Fat 26.3 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 51.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 2058.6 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 29.8 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites