1143 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made your lasagna. It was the bomb. My daughter ate lasagna for two days. They love it thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous May 22, 2015

As I write, the sauce is simmering. Look no further. I have been wanting a recipe like this for over twenty years. Simple to make and delicious - more complex than you would imagine. I used Johnsonville mild Italian sausage, fresh basil, parsley, and garlic. I used Hunt's Diced tomatoes (no added herbs), Hunt's tomato paste and Dei Fratelli's tomato sauce. Use a good pan to brown the meat, then transfer to a large pot before adding all the liquids. It makes at least a gallon of sauce. Can't wait to share the bounty with some crusty bread and a good Italian salad.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ahejt May 21, 2015

While my 4 year old picky eater didn't like the spiceiness of it, everyone else loved it. I still have 5 stars because while my youngest didn't care for it, she hates everything so it didn't surprise me and wasn't a reason to remove any stars. I have to admit, I made homemade sausage, emeril l recipe for mild Italian sausage and it really made a difference the second time I made it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erik.wade May 20, 2015

The BEST sauce I've had! I mixed 1lb hot Italian sausage with 1/2lb ground turkey and it is phenomenal. I let it simmer low and slow for 1.5 hours, the longer the better is true. This recipe will be my new sauce

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 30, 2015

I a making this right now, but I only had white wine, I hope it comes out as good as you all say it is!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 26, 2015

Great sauce. In place of the onion a bag of Publix store brand of "seasoning mix" (onion, bell pepper and celery). Also added a couple of bay leaves as well. Merlot gave it a nice flavor since I had no Cabernet open. I believe the addition of the water and simmering for an hour gave a chance for all the flavors to blend and concentrate a bit. Not to thick even with the tomato paste. Good reviews from the home crowd....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cs2272 March 25, 2015

I thought this recipe was delicious! Definitely a keeper. I also used 1 cup of water and split the meat between italian sausage and hamburger! Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msgerke March 09, 2015

Best Speghetti I've ever had. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe with me and my family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
themysticgraphic March 09, 2015

I made this spaghetti for my roommate and I last week. Like other reviewers suggested, I only used half the amount of sausage in the recipe. Other than that, I followed the recipe to the letter. This was excellent. I thought this was the best spaghetti I've ever had. Next time I'm going to make a double batch and put some in the freezer for making lasagna.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andieemail308 February 26, 2015

Perfection! I made this for hubby and kid and they loved it! I followed the recipe but used half a lb of hot italian sausage and half a lb mild. I also used fresh parsley (I had no dry available) and only 1 cup of water (i also had no patience). Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shyboomer February 23, 2015
Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti