1140 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The BEST sauce I've had! I mixed 1lb hot Italian sausage with 1/2lb ground turkey and it is phenomenal. I let it simmer low and slow for 1.5 hours, the longer the better is true. This recipe will be my new sauce

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 30, 2015

I a making this right now, but I only had white wine, I hope it comes out as good as you all say it is!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous March 26, 2015

Great sauce. In place of the onion a bag of Publix store brand of "seasoning mix" (onion, bell pepper and celery). Also added a couple of bay leaves as well. Merlot gave it a nice flavor since I had no Cabernet open. I believe the addition of the water and simmering for an hour gave a chance for all the flavors to blend and concentrate a bit. Not to thick even with the tomato paste. Good reviews from the home crowd....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cs2272 March 25, 2015

I thought this recipe was delicious! Definitely a keeper. I also used 1 cup of water and split the meat between italian sausage and hamburger! Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msgerke March 09, 2015

Best Speghetti I've ever had. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe with me and my family!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
themysticgraphic March 09, 2015

I made this spaghetti for my roommate and I last week. Like other reviewers suggested, I only used half the amount of sausage in the recipe. Other than that, I followed the recipe to the letter. This was excellent. I thought this was the best spaghetti I've ever had. Next time I'm going to make a double batch and put some in the freezer for making lasagna.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
andieemail308 February 26, 2015

Perfection! I made this for hubby and kid and they loved it! I followed the recipe but used half a lb of hot italian sausage and half a lb mild. I also used fresh parsley (I had no dry available) and only 1 cup of water (i also had no patience). Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shyboomer February 23, 2015

I cut the amount of sauce in half, as well as used 1lb lean Ground Beef and 1/2 pound Hot Italian Ground Sausage. I also sauteed both green and red bell peppers, along with sliced Bella mushrooms and added those right before the red wine. Instead of thin spaghetti, I substituted Angel Hair. This sauce is amazing. I love preparing spaghetti sauce and this recipe is great to tailor and make your own.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
khariuking February 15, 2015

Awesome recipe. Made this last night and I was impressed! Delicious! Definitely going in my recipe book :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BVKrupa February 12, 2015

This is an absolutely tremendous spaghetti sauce....thick, rich and extremely flavorful. I always make a double batch and freeze what's left over. It freezes beautifully. This will be my "go-to" sauce. I always get compliments on it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rolofadang February 04, 2015
Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti