1193 Reviews

Your spaghetti sauce has become my spaghetti sauce! Thank you for a GREAT recipe! We have been using it for a while now. For my family, we spit it into 3 portions and freeze 2/3 for future dinners. We use it for spaghetti, lasagna, and manicotti; really for anything you would use spaghetti sauce for. Gone are the days of jar spaghetti sauce! The only bad thing is when we run out. That means no spaghetti until I have time to make more.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joybeth05 August 05, 2016

This might be world-famous in your eyes, but it is only ONE of the Best Spaghetti recipes I have taken the time to make. I can guarantee that there are much more world famous spaghetti recipes out there. Thank you for misleading me with only one of the best, and not the best spaghetti I have ever made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anonymous July 26, 2016

Love love love this recipe!! Thank you for sharing. It does make a lot and I'm wondering how to freeze it? (Ziplock, Tupperware?) How long does it keep in the freezer? Reheating suggestions? Thank you in advance :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jobethrachel July 15, 2016

My husband and I love spaghetti, and I am always looking for a new (and good) sauce recipe. After reading all the wonderful reviews for this sauce, I made it. We didn't like it, but I made it again just to make sure I made it right. Unfortunately, the second time wasn't any better than the first. I will stick to my tried and true recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
paulgwen July 07, 2016

Unbelievable!! A definite keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jsnteacher July 02, 2016

I tried this recipe out since at the time, it had five stars. Also, I always make it (the first time) exactly as stated in the recipe...while it's fine to change things in the recipe, I don't think it's a "fair" review if you decided to change things since this has the potential to change the entire dish. In any case, the spaghetti sauce as stated in the recipe is good, but not great. The sauce itself is decent, but the meat actually gets in the way since it's so one dimensional for this sauce just to use sausage. Also, the brown sugar used is probably just a little too much. My suggestion would be if you plan to make this as stated, use hot Italian sausage, not mild, as the sauce is already fairly sweet and mild Italian sausage will just add to that. However, my overall suggestions would be to use half sausage and half ground beef/turkey and to cut the brown sugar in half. Add a bit extra red wine to compensate if you want to replace the brown sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
q10suited July 01, 2016

Just started simmering 1/2 hour ago. Followed recipe exact except for I used half ground round half bulk Itailian sausage. So far... OMGOODNESS! THE SMELL! THE FLAVOR!! YUM!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
userkrs8953 June 18, 2016

What a great recipe. The only change I made was to add a sundried basil sausage to the mix. This is my go to recipe for spaghetti sauce. Love this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hilaryvardy June 05, 2016

I used ground turkey meat instead of the sausage and added an Italian seasoning packet (from the salad dressing isle) for flavor. I also used much less water. It was to die for! I will be making it again on mothers day!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie R. May 04, 2016

I love this website, not only because it has the best recipes, it also tells you the nutritional value. This recipe is delish. Made a few boo boo's, however didn't think it changed the dish. I was making another recipe for soup at the same time and crossed some ingredients, however it was still great. For instance, put in 2 bay leaves and 1 tsp. of oregano.( I put that stuff in everything) This is incredible. I will always make my gravy like this, I can't believe I'm saying this after 45 + yrs. of cooking: This is better than mine. Can't believe anyone that could give this 4 stars. My original recipe was handed down to me by my mom. Thanks again. Kathy Walsh

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kswal520 April 06, 2016
Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti