Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti

    Average Rating:

    1,110 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 1,110

    Sort by:

    • on December 03, 2002

      This recipe has so much flavor. I used a pound of sausage and ground beef. I browned the sausage, ground beef,onion and garlic in an electric skillet. I then placed the meat in my slow cooker along with the other ingredients and mixed well. Cooked it for six hours and it turned out great. Served with angle hair pasta, side salad, and Garlic Texas Toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2002

      This was my first attempt at making spaghetti sauce from other than a jar-and this was a wise choice. I used 1lb. ground beef and 1 lb. of italian sausage-DELICIOUS!!!! This was absolutely perfect! A+++++++++++

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2002

      This is one of the best spaghetti sauces I have ever made. My family thinks mine is the best, as families are prone to do, but they were very pleased with this recipe and it got five stars all around the table. I did add just a tad bit more red pepper and wine, and we used half ground round and half italian sausage. I also added about 1/4 cup chopped green onion and a freshly chopped ripe tomato. I served with garlic/mozzarella bread, a fresh salad and a bottle of Jacob's Creek Merlot. Truly delicious, well deserving of the praise it has received. Thanks for a outstanding recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2002

      I just liked it! I scaled it down by half, and was still wonderful. Reminded me of my dad's spaghetti.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2002

      Mmm,Mmm,Good! The whole family raved about this last night. I halved the recipe because we only had four people, but they did not leave any left overs for my lunch! BOO HOO! I made it with Italian turkey sausage to reduce fat a little, and increased the speed with the low pressure cooker because it was a week night meal (including prep time it was ready in 45 minutes). Otherwise, I followed the recipe. Wouldn't change a thing. I recommend it to any spaghetti lover. We'll sure make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2003

      I thought it was a tasty sauce although too spicy for my tastes ... I was unsure about the red pepper but decided to give it a go - I don't like changing a recipe then giving it a lower rating, you know? But I will definitely leave it out next time - to me, that level of spiciness doesn't belong in a classic red sauce. I'll also have to make my mother's now to compare - haven't had hers in quite some time but it's a good one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2010

      This recipe is absolutely awesome, and I've been making it for many years. My husband will not eat any other spaghetti sauce after tasting this one so I make a double or triple batch and then can it for quick and easy dinners later. We also love the lasagna recipe which uses this sauce. Several people have asked me for my recipe, and I am always happy to pass it on with credit given to Sharlene! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      Excellent! After 92 reviews this recipe still holds a 4.5 star rating. There's not much more I can say other than this will be my spaghetti sauce recipe from now on. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2003

      WOW! This was good! I made the same change as most people-I used 1 lb. sausage and 1 lb. meat. I let it simmer for about 4-5 hours so I used all the water and even added a little bit at the end. My fiance absolutely loved it! We had it the next day as well and I still have sauce left over-so it will make an excellent lasagna. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2003

      Revision to previous comments: In addition to being lower in fat content & colesterol, I prefer the taste of lean ground beef over Italian sausages. Most other reviewers have made that decision also - as well as substantial other modifications to the original recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2003

      I made this again and used 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 Italian sausage and it came out even better than the first time! We absolutely love this sauce and it makes alot so I am able to freeze some and make lasagna later! This is my tried and true spaghetti sauce now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2003

      I halved the recipe which was easy enough to do,and followed it to a "T." We really liked the flavor of the sauce but it was quite watery even though I simmered it for about an hour and a half - at least. I think next time I'll omit the water too,as someone else mentioned. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2003

      Excellent Sauce Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2003

      This sauce was very good indeed. I made a few substitions like 1lb hamburger and 1lb sausage I left out the chilies and used white wine. I've been looking for a good sauce for awhile and I believe yours is it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2003

      Very, very good!!! My kids (ages 5 & 10 ) liked it as well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2003

      Well, what can I say?? This recipe was so darn good! I made the sauce with 1 1/2 lbs. of Italian sausage and 1 1/2 C. of water. I did all the rest of the recipe as written. I used most of the sauce for a spaghetti dinner and then used about 2 cups the following night for a meatball sandwich dinner (I just used store bought frozen meatballs, heated, for the sandwiches). My family loved both dinners. Thanks for a great recipe Sharlene!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      This was excellent, this will be my new go to recipe for spaghetti. No more hunting for recipes because this is like something you'd expect at an Italian restaurant. I did alter it somewhat and used only a cup of water instead of 2, glad I did 2 would've been way too runny. I also changed the meat to 1 lb. Italian sausage and 1 lb. ground sirloin and that was perfect, for me it would've been too much sausage with 2 lbs. of it. I don't think you can go wrong with this one, it makes a lot so be prepared to feed a crowd with it or have lots of left overs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2004

      Wonderful! Freezes well. I wouldn't change a thing. Very nice in Nancy Gould's Spinach Orzo Pie #52514. I'll keep this in my freezer always.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2003

      The BEST! I only changed the meat ingredient to 1 lb ground beef and 1 lb Italian sausage. I had time to simmer this slowly (3 hours) on LOW and it was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2003

      My main comment about this recipe is.... WOW!!! I made this for dinner, originally for my DH and I only. We ended up with six people, who all agreed that this is THE BEST spaghetti sauce they have ever tasted. We delayed dinner because friends showed up, so our sauce simmered for about 3 hours. I almost always modify recipies I use to "make it my own", but since I had never made homemade sauce before, I followed this one to the letter, and it is delicious! I will make it again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti

    Serving Size: 1 (285 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.8
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    42%
    Total Fat 26.3 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 51.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 2058.6 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 29.8 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites