1143 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was the third recipe I have tried from this site...and each one was terrific!!! I didn't think anyone could top my own spaghetti sauce (been making it for 36 years!) but...you have definitely "topped" my recipe! What a great (and easy) way to make a terrific sauce! I will definitely throw my recipe out the window and make this one, from now on! It was sooo good that when I tasted the finished sauce, I was so amazed that I phoned my girlfriends and told them to come over and try it!! Thanks so much for sharing it with us.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BB502 July 11, 2002

Been meaning to make this for ages. What I did was use half pork and half groung beef and also added more Basil and also added Italian Seasoning,Majoram and Rosemary. And I used Mrs Dash spicy instead of the crushed red peppers.. This recipe is a keeper. It makes enough that I could feed the family and send some home with my son.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim1 June 30, 2002

Alright, let me be the 45th person to write a review for this sauce. IT'S WONDERFULL! I made it exactly as the recipe called for. (I like my sauce a little on the thinner side.) it turned out delicious. My boyfriend had 3 sevings. Made lasagna w/ the leftovers, and I think that was better then the spaghetti. Again my bf gorged himself, as well as I. =)

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Clark June 20, 2002

This was a VERY good spaghetti sauce! It tasted like the kind of sauce you get in a good restaurant! Like others, I altered the ingredients slightly - I used 1.5 lbs lean ground beef and .5 pounds mild italian sausage, then added a small container of mushrooms (which I sauteed first) around a half hour before serving. I think it simmered around 3 hours, and it turned out great! It might have been even better if I weren't so wine-ignorant - didn't know what bottle to buy. But I was amazed at the difference only 1/4 cup of wine made in that large a quantity of sauce! Wish they sold wine at my store in smaller bottles - poured the entire bottle minus the 1/4 cup down the drain! Definitely a KEEPER!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yaycarter May 08, 2002

Absolutely delicious!!!. I was skeptical about making a sauce other than my own, because I knew mine was pretty good. But, in an effort to try something new, I said what the heck. This sauce beats the one i've made for years, hands down. It's BETTER THAN ANY SAUCE I'VE TRIED. If you've got the ingredients on hand, make this sauce, you won't be sorry. I mixed a 1/2 pound of hamburger with 1 1/2 lbs. italian sausage.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tsmith70 May 04, 2002

Easy to see why everyone loves this recipe. Made it for dinner tonight using Turkey sweet Italian Sausage. It makes alot...that's good cause you'll want more than one serving!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Indiana Debbie May 04, 2002

OooooWheeee, Sharlene~W!! This was soooo tasty! I added ground beef, too (because DH requested it) but it would be EXCELLENT as is! It reminds me of the spaghetti sauce the little Italian grandmas made in the old run-down (yet extremely popular) Italian resturants we used to go to at closing time in the 70's. They always had a 20-quart stockpot simmering 24/7! I'll be making this often - thanks!!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee April 22, 2002

I used both mild and hot Italian sausage, fresh basil and simmered the mixture for about three hours. The recipe was very simple (a non-negotiable requirement) to prepare. My wife and I both agreed, that it was the best spaghetti sauce we had ever had.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neil Baxter April 22, 2002
Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti