Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti

    Average Rating:

    1,120 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 1,120

    Sort by:

    • on May 09, 2002

      This is a really simple but excellent recipe. I followed the advice of some of the other cooks and reduced the amount of liquid added. I also adjusted the ratio of water to wine so that there was more wine than water added. The flavour and texture of the sauce is exactly right and it only gets better when it's frozen and reheated. I fed it to a set of finnicky teenagers and they gave it two thumbs up. The freshly grated Parmesan cheese was the icing on the cake (so to speak). I'm looking forward to my third and fourth servings. ;-) This is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2002

      I'm not one for making sauce from scratch b/c it's alot of time when the kids prefer jar sauce. But, I gave it a go. I followed everything to the T. It was a great sauce, just wish I'd read anything about how spicey it was. We are not fans of "heat" in our food so it seemed too much for us. Definitely too spicey for my 4 and 6 yr. old boys. It smelled heavenly all day long and we did like the consistency of it. Next time will omit pepper flakes. Maybe go 1/2 ground beef, but the sausage made it different. Just thought some might find it helpful to know it on the spicey side as written. Will make again with adjustments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      This was a pretty good recipe,but it was a lot of work and ingredients for the flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      I had to try this after all the rave reviews. I did make two changes after reading the reviews. I used 1 lb of ground sirloin instead of sausage. I also added about 1 cup of wine (merlot). This is terrific sauce! We let it simmer for most of the afternoon and when it was actually time for dinner, we were full from having "tasting" the sauce all day, we ended up not even making the pasta but just had the sauce in bowls and dipped fresh italian bread in it. I have two bags of this in the freezer that will surely make for wonderful future pasta dinners! Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2003

      I've made several batches of this sauce and we really love it. But today I actually used it as a base for chili and it was awesome! I just added beans and chili spices and some more wine - YUMM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2003

      Very, very good sauce. My rather-picky 12-yr old doesn't do most spaghetti sauce and he loved it! He'd rather eat the noodles plain. The texture of the sauce was just right to "hang" on the noodles and the flavor (complimented by a really good cabernet) was divine! I did monkey around a bit with the spices-I added 3 tsp. of italian seasoning in place of the basil (personal preference), a full teaspoon of red pepper flakes and four tsp of garlic. As I was under the gun, I browned 1/2 ground beef and 1/2 sausage last weekend and froze it. I thawed it in the fridge overnight and added frozen, chopped and peeled tomatoes I had from my garden instead of the canned tomatoes. I think the secret is the brown sugar and the wine...it takes the edge off the canned taste. Thanks for a really pleasing sauce! I'll definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2002

      My whole family loved this recipe, even my Italian father who normally only likes the sauce he makes. The only change I made was to use half the amount of meat. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2003

      After 90 reviews, I'm sure you don't need ME to tell you that this was terrific! But - it really was. Typically, I don't care for meat sauces with my pasta, but my husband was in the mood for something like this, and since I never make sauce this way, I decided to check the 'Zaar for a recipe, saw this one, and decided to give it a try. I did add about a cup of a decent quality burgundy along with the water and simmered quite a while, until the sauce was fairly thick. Considering I don't care for meat-sauces, I thought this was really fantastic. And it was even better the next day. I would make this again, and again and again. Wonderful sauce, Sharlene - really wonderful. It's going in my permanent file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2003

      easy, easy. i made this for our thirteen guests and it was enjoyed by all. i used 1 lb sausage and 1 lb ground beef and i left out the peppers for the kids. i usually make a meatless sauce so it was nice for a change. we will have this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2003

      Awesome sauce. I made it according to the directions but let it simmer without the lid, on high, in my crockpot for about five or six hours. It was nice and thick and everyone raved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2003

      I followed the recipe exactly and used ground beef and 1/2 hot sausage and 1/2 sweet sausage. the second time I made it, I tripled the recipe so I could store in the freezer for a future Italian attack. This sauce is perfect for a hearty pasta like rigatoni. Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2002

      This was really tasty. I won't carry on and on, since I'm just not much of a tomato sauce person no matter how good it is. I'll stick with this recipe since it's certainly much better than any I've tried in the past. And it makes a ton...I've got 2 containers in the freezer for future meals and gave another to my mom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2003

      Excellent! I followed earlier comments and skipped the water. It made a nice thick sauce and it has become our favourite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2003

      this was the best sauce i have ever made. i made the recipe exactly as it was written, and i would'nt change a thing. i had have for dinner, then the next night i used the other half of the sauce to make lasagna. just fabulous! thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2003

      What more can I say? This is a really GREAT, simple sauce that tastes terrific! It will definitely be replacing my old stand-by recipe. The only changes I made were to sub one cup of wine for one of the cups of water (total wine used 1 1/4 cup- hey, I'm a wino!) and increse the amount of red pepper flakes. Everyone in the family loved it! Thanks for sharing, Sharlene!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2003

      Love this sauce! There were a few things I usually don't put in "my old" sauce, but I followed it to the letter (simmered a bit longer..I like a long simmered deep red sauce). I liked the flavor, the chunky sauce, the amount of meat..Yum. A Keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2003

      This sauce was delicious. I followed the recipe and let it simmer for 3 hours. My family loved it. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      Well, this is not my mama's spaghetti sauce, that's for sure. I have used my mom's recipe for 20 years now and have to keep this a secret...but everyone went gaga over Jo Mama's! It was so great, my daughter was drinking it out of her bowl after she dipped her Italian bread in it! The only change I made was using crushed tomatoes instead of diced and I simmered for about 3 hours. All I can say is WOW...Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2002

      Definitely some of the best spaghetti sauce I have tasted! Like many others have said, I put in only one pound of mild Italian sauage and then a pound of ground turkey. I also only used enough water to clean out the tomato cans and then let it simmer for about 4 hours. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2002

      Mercy!!! This is awsome. I am making it right now and I don't know if there will be enough sauce for dinner! I cut the recipe in half. I used diced tomatoes with basil, garlic and oregano. The paste was italian paste, too (I love spices). I left out the basil that it call for and still added the other spices. I also added 1/2 cup of Chianti (red wine, that is what I had on hand). Added mushrooms and the sauce was done! I oil my noodles and put Italian seasoning with parm. cheese. I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti

    Serving Size: 1 (285 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.8
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    42%
    Total Fat 26.3 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 51.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 2058.6 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 29.8 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes