1140 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is one of the best spaghetti sauce recipes I have tried!! I used lean ground beef instead of the sausage and fresh herbs - wow!! We had plenty of leftover sauce so I used the rest as a base for my lasagna - yummy! I took the other's advice and reduced the water amount - glad I did! I also cooked my sauce on low for approximately 5 hours. Great recipe , this is one we will use again and again!!

40 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert April 27, 2002

Wonderful recipe!!This went well with Spoon Rolls.I wasnt sure about adding the water listed in the ing.,since it didnt metion it in the instructions but I ended up adding about 1/2c of it.This is definatley a keeper.I can see why your kids like it so much,my picky daughter even cleared her plate with a "mommy that was good".Thanks for sharing this special recipe!!!!

37 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crawfish pie March 29, 2002

I've been searching for a good sauce for a long time and I think I finally found one. It has a medium thick consistency and held its own on spaghetti without running. I made it with about 3/4 lb. of both lean hamburger and hot Italian sausage. I used enough water to rinse out the cans, and perhaps 1/3 cup red wine. I might try adding mushrooms and some diced green bell pepper next batch. Overall, this is a keeper!

33 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
augourmet April 20, 2002

This is REALLY good sauce!! I did use 1/2 sausage and 1/2 ground beef though. Froze what was left over (more than enough for 2 meals for a family of 4). I gave the 5th star because the sauce was EVEN BETTER the 2nd time around!! Used it on stuffed shells and OH MY!! YUMMMMMMMY!!!!!! :) UPDATE: I just made your sauce for the 2nd time. This time I used it to make baked Ziti with meatballs. One of my kids who doesn't do anything but pizza and cheeseburgers had 2 plates!! I have come to the conclusion that I am just going to make up a couple of batches at the beginning of every month and that way I have it in the freezer at all times. It is truly the BEST homemade sauce I have ever had!! Thanks again for such a great recipe!!!

32 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shae June 30, 2002

One more time-it was great! My husband said it was the best he's had in his life! I added 1 lb. of lean hamburger instead of the italian sausage (to save calories), one can of sliced black olives (no calories saved), 8 oz. fresh mushrooms (sauted and added during last 1/2 hour).

31 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
morelhunter May 14, 2002

This sauce was fantastic! I love my beggies though, so I doublt the onion, added about 3/4 cup diced bell pepper, and a pint of fresh mushrooms (I left about 1/3 of them in slices, the prettier ones - the rest I diced to spread throughout the sauce more.) I also increased the wine to about 1/3 cup, because I love the flavor, so I only used about 1 1/2 cups water. I let it simmer for about 4 hours before serving, and let the remainer simmer another hour or two before cooling and storing. With the added veggies, the sauce would be fine with the recommended amount of water as long as you're willing to simmer it for a few hours :) I also used 1 lb. ground chuck and 1/2 lb. mild Italian sausage instead of 2 lbs. sausage, it was great. The whole family loved it, I even sent some home to my dad (Southern custom, kind of.) It was truly a special dinner. Thanks so much, I'll definitely be making this again. I thought maybe next time I'd keep the recipe as is and use it as a sauce for lasanga or manicotti, I know it will definitely be great! :)

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginger_B May 20, 2002

Sorry, but my kids (and husband!) all voted my own recipe over yours. I will post mine as Jo Mama's Competition! Would love you to try it and voice an opinion!

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy Archer May 13, 2002

I made this because I needed to feed 8 people. This sauce is out of this world!! All present voted it the BEST. I made this exactly like the recipe says. I added all the water and let it simmer for 5 hours and the aroma while it was cooking was wonderful! Sharlene, I can see why this is famous. It truly is delicious! Thanks!

29 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MizzNezz August 30, 2002

I took the recipe to the store with me to get all these ingredients, assuming I could find my boxed up spices,(we just moved)which I could not locate. I had the recipe started using half mild sausage and half groung beef then I absolutely did not know what I was going to do. Well, I found a couple envelopes of generic seasoning for spaghetti and the wrapper said it contained most of the spices called for so I dumped in 2 envelopes. I let it simmer and geez, it was so, so outrageous. I didn't have wine either but I will always use this recipe. My family absolutely flipped out! No more bottled stuff for sure! Thank you for taking time to share this recipe!

29 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DustyPenny June 03, 2002

I made this recipe with 1 lb of mild Italian sausage and 1 lb ground beef. I also added fresh basil instead of dried. Otherwise I followed it perfectly. This made a very big pot of sauce and I will be able to freeze some for my next spaghetti dinner. One of my daughters friends came for supper and we all agreed it was delicious. Thanks for the recipe, Sharlene.

28 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bert April 29, 2002
Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti