Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Go-To Meal Ideas

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    25 All-Time Dinner Winners

    Make Tonight's Meal a Knockout
    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    Grilled Cheese, 25 Ways

    It's Sandwich Night!
    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    25 Five-Ingredient Dinners

    Start With 911 Meatball Subs
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti

    Average Rating:

    1,114 Total Reviews

    Showing 181-200 of 1,114

    Sort by:

    • on December 30, 2010

      This was so yummy. To save on calories I used half ground turkey and the other half I kept as sausage; I also served it on whole wheat pasta. I can't wait for my hubby to come home and taste this masterpiece. I did add more sugar than called for- I have a sweeter side than most. ;)
      Thanks for such a new family favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      Okay, I m a die hard Ragu fan from childhood. I tried this recipe for a luncheon at work and man, is it ever good! I used half italian sausage and ground beef and was out of basil so I used an italian seasoning blend. I did add a lil more of cabernet than called for. I don't think I will ever use jar sauce again. Thanks Jo Mama!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      This was really delicious. Made with a few changes. Omitted brown sugar. Added 2 tsp oregano. Increased wine (cabarnet) to 1/3 cup and added only 2/3 cup water. I also made meatballs instead of using the italian sausage. Simmered close to 4 hours. The entire family loved this and definetly wants me to make it again. My ex MIL passed away last year. She was the spaghetti sauce maker of the family. DD has missed her sauce. This is really close to what she used to make. Thank you Sharlene for such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      This recipe right here is the BEST! Its so full of flavor and its like your taste buds are having a party inside your mouth! It was so wonderfully put together. Every flavor worked together in unison! I am a die heart spaghetti lover and now you have took me to a place that no spaghetti has with this recipe! And the best thing about it, is that i can make this whenever my poor little heart is yearning for some italian goodness! I revved it up a little with a little more pepper flakes and some season salt to the meat while it was cooking. Instead of dried parsley I used fresh. I also added a little garlic powder and garlic salt to the mixture once everything was in one pot- and let me tell you-I WILL NEVER BUY BOTTLED SPAGHETTI SAUCE AGAIN! Ragu has nothing on me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      I had an old spaghetti recipe favorite that I used for years...but this one has replaced it! I did however make a couple adjustments: 1 cup of water only, and I used "italian seasoned ground turkey" instead of italian sausage.....just for a heathier twist. GREAT recipe, and so quick & easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      I have made this recipe four times now and it is still absolutely WONDERFUL and so easy to make! My family loves the way it tastes and the way it makes the house smell so good while it is cooking! I will make it again and again. My only warning is it makes A LOT more than you would expect! The second time I made it I only used half of all the ingrediants and still had leftovers. So now i make a full pot and just freeze legtovers. I also only use 1lb of sausage and 1lb ground beef. Thanks for the awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      Delicious! The seasoning is perfect. I'm so glad I have lots of leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2010

      Anyone thinking this should be layerd (lasagna style) does not understand "baked ziti". It is an old world Italian dish that came from ---the old Italian cooks. First of all--make your own sauce. So easy & cheaper than bottlerd. And you can pronounce everything. Mix everything up & use as much cheese as you want. Whatever needs to go from the fridge. It is an old family dish. Great on wash days. For todays cooks--I know--faster is better. But making your own sauce from diced canned tomatoes, tomatoe sauce, tomato paste & Italian takes maybe 5 minutes longer. Cheaper & healthier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      This was a really good sauce; nice and tomatoey. I used fresh basil and a little fresh oregano.I only used 1 cup water, a merlot and 1 quart of home canned tomatoes that i buzzed in the blender a second. I also used just 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes. I made meatballs with #69173. Really good and i will definately make again:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      This just might be the best spaghetti we have ever had. Definitely will be keeping this one as a family favorite. Thanks for a great recipe!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      This is one of the best recipes I have found on this site! I make it once a month and store the billion leftovers in containers in the freezer. No more store-bought sauce.
      ** Update: Since we eat this once a week, to cut down on the fat I use half Italian sausage and half ground turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      We love this spaghetti. It is a hit in our house I followed everyone's suggestion and did the 1lb of sausage and 1 lb of ground beef. This is our Fall staple recipe in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      This is good, but not the best we have had. There's not enough wine and spices for us. I loved the name, so that's why I tried it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      I expected more after reading the reviews - it was ok. I ended up having to add more garlic, spices and wine to our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      Cooking this sauce for 1 hour resulted in a sauce that was not thick and rich, but watery in the bottom of our plates. The flavors were good but not great. Next time I will tweak it and add more wine, decrease the sugar, and cook it for at least 4 hours to get nice thick sauce, or look for another spaghetti sauce to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      I changed the recipe by using 1/2 sausage and 1/2 ground beef because we aren`t sausage fans. I felt it needed more spices when it was done, so threw in more garlic and basil. I like a thicker sauce, so would reduce the water next time, and maybe add in some mushrooms and green pepper. Thx.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Sorry to be a party pooper, but this one just didn't do it for me. I had to add a considerable amount of spices to this to give it the level of italian flavor we are used to. I thought it would be better the next day, but to me all that came through was the crushed red pepper taste. I followed the recipe exactly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      With all of the great reviews, my expectations were not met when I made this sauce. With all that work and so-so results, I can make a better sauce with store-bought jar to which I add additional ingredients.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2004

      The recipe worked but we didn't like it. Given all the revues I guess I was expecting more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2003

      Wow! This recipe makes a wonderfully flavored spaghetti sauce. I made a big pot of it and let it simmer for about four hours. I'm used to buying pre-made spaghetti sauces and doctoring them up. Now I know what I've been missing by not making the sauce from scratch. The sauce tastes similar to that of what a good Italian restaurant would serve.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1... 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 ... 56

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti

    Serving Size: 1 (285 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 555.8
     
    Calories from Fat 236
    42%
    Total Fat 26.3 g
    40%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 51.7 mg
    17%
    Sodium 2058.6 mg
    85%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.1 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 11.4 g
    45%
    Protein 29.8 g
    59%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites