Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Jo Mama's World Famous Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jo Mama's World Famous Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2008

      This was phenomenal!!! My hub said it was the best he's ever had. The only change I did was doing a lb of cheddar cheese and 1/2 lb of mozzerella for the cheese portion, I think it added a lot. I'll eventually try it the way it was intended, you better believe I'll be making this again - THANKS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      I used Sharlene's recipe to make lasagna for my cooking and recipes group. The lasagna was excellent, and everyone loved it! I did use 8 oz. of 2% milk Ricotta and 24 oz. of fat free cottage cheese. I put them in my blender and mixed along with 1 egg, 1 tsp. parsley and 1 tsp. salt. It came out kind of soupy and poured easily between the layers. When the lasagna was baked it settled and worked beautifully. Flavor was great! I also used her spaghetti sauce recipe to see if it was better than mine, and I have to say, they are both 5+ star recipes, and I don't say that lightly :D Thank you Sharlene for another great Zaar recipe! Pictures coming shortly. Linda

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2003

      this lasagna was a big hit during the holidays! i used ricotta instead of cottage cheese and omitted parmesan b/c we love the flavors and texture of mozz and ricotta. used barilla no-boil noodles (and a lot of sauce as someone suggested). no one could believe this was the first time i ever made lasagna. thank you for a fabulous recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2003

      This was a truly great recipe...I have always had trouble with lasagna in the past, but now I understand why people love it so much...a huge hit at our house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      Very good! I had plenty of sauce leftover from the world famous sauce...I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese (husband's request) and more of the spices than called for in the ricotta. Smelled wonderful while cooking and tasted great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2003

      This is great! I make this with Jo Mama's Spagetti Sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2003

      I made this a few weeks ago and just realized I never reviewed it. I make your sauce all the time now...last time I used half sweet and half hot sausage and everyone said it was the best batch yet. I made the lasagna with Barilla no boil noodles and it came out great. You do need A LOT of sauce, but everyone agreed that this was the best lasagna they ever had. I followed to a "T", except I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese. I don't make lasagna often, but when I do, it will be this recipe! Thanks for sharing another winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2003

      This is an excellent recipe for lasagne. I am having 10 people for dinner this weekend and will be very confident making this dish. Shalene W is a very talented cook! Elaine Cape Cod

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2014

      I made your lasagna tonight using your recipe for Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti as you suggested and it was very good. I must have run out of oregano and I didn't buy more when I was shopping, so I subbed in Italian Seasoning and it seemed to work just fine. I've never used sausage in a lasagna before, but 4 out of 5 of us liked it. My 7 year old daughter didn't like it, but she's kind of picky. Thank you Sharlene~W.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2013

      I have been making Jo Mama's Spaghetti Sauce for awhile, it has been perfect every time! So I thought I would try Jo Mama's Lasagna recipe; so I made 2 lasagna's instead of one and used Ricotta cheese instead of cottage just a personal preference. I would not encourage anyone to use just 1/2 of the sauce per lasagna as it turn out to be not a good idea. Just was not enough sauce for our taste, although it was met with Ooo's from our gathering of guests. It was the first time I used the no-boil noodles they are my new BFF! Next time I will use my larger lasagna pan and use all the sauce; if I need 2 lasagna's then I will double the sauce. Otherwise perfect as usual, of course I always use the good wine LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2013

      Wow. This recipe needs another glowing review like I need a hole in my head. But, I had to add my 5 stars - made a HALF of this recipe, and it fully fed my family of 3 at least 2 entire dinners! We we so stuffed after the first night, and we hadn't even eaten half of it! Thank you, Sharlene! Made this after I made your sauce twice, and enjoyed it so much, I worried this lasagna would somehow make it not-as-good. Boy, was I ever wrong. Delicious. Used the cottage cheese. Note to others: seriously, halve the recipe if you are feeding less than 6 adults.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

    • on June 25, 2012

    • on March 15, 2011

      I do not know what I did wrong but I did not like this recipe-however my husband did. I did not tell him it was cottage cheese. I used regular country style cottage cheese- 32 ounces. I used whole milk mozzarella cheese and grated it myself. The jo mama's sauce was good but I don't think I would make it again. I am just going to stick to my own pastene sauce. Very simple. A coule peices of meat sauteed in oil and garlic and couple cans of Pastene kichen ready tomatoes. Simmer an hour or two. I am italion and all my aunts and mother do the same. You can't beat it. Believe me I'm trying but it's not working. I did like the sauce but when I mixed it with pasta I did not like it! Also, cottage cheese in lazana I should have known better. My god! I believe I followed it to a t. Never again! I'll stick to ricotta with a couple of eggs and parsley and lazana noodles at 350 for 30 minutes covered with my own sauce. A layer of noodles then ricotta a little mozzarella and sauce repeated a couple of times. I think one star is to much for this recipe. Sorry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

    • on February 05, 2008

      Tried making the spaghetti sauce first, but was too sour for our taste so I used it for lasagna instead. My family absolutely loved it, recipe is a keeper. Doubled the amount of cottage cheese + parmesan mixture because we like creamy pasta. YUMMY!!! Brought some for school today, friends adored it too. Said it tasted like pizza. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      Very good! I made it with ricotta cheese because I don't care too much for cottage cheese in my lasagna. Great way to use up some of the Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti sauce. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      Amazing. Simply amazing! Thank you Sharlene for this new addition to my menu!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      This was fantastic. I used ricotta cheese because I do not like cottage cheese, I also added 1lb of sausage and used fresh mozzarella instead of the pre-shredded.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2006

      Eventhough I love the Jo Mama's spaghetti sauce, I wasn't too crazy about this sauce in the lasagna. I think it is the cottage cheese factor. The next time, I will use regular cheddar or ricotta cheese to see if its better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jo Mama's World Famous Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 464.8
     
    Calories from Fat 177
    38%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 10.1 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 63.6 mg
    21%
    Sodium 1126.0 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.3 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 29.3 g
    58%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes