56 Reviews

The lasagna was very good, the only thing that I changed was I used ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese. The sauce really does make this an excellent lasagna. By the way with the sauce I used 1 lb. hot sausage and 1 lb. sweet sausage an no red pepper, Delicious.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Edward Wendt December 21, 2002

I have never been a huge fan of lasagna and that's probably because I have never found a recipe that I really liked. Well I have FINALLY found one! It is a definite MUST to use Jo Mama's World Famous Spaghetti Sauce for this recipe. (I made some alterations based on other reviews. The original sauce recipe calls for 2lbs of Italian sausage. I used 1lb of Mild Italian sausage and 1lb ground beef. I used 6 cloves of garlic, 1/2 cup water, 1 tbsp sugar, 1 1/2 tsp dried basil, 1/2 tsp fennel seeds, 1 tsp Italian seasoning, and 2 tbsp fresh parsley [instead of dried]). In the lasagna recipe I used 475 grams of ricotta (instead of cottage cheese) mixed with 1 egg, 2 tbsp fresh parsley, & 1/2 tsp salt. I also used 1/4 cup more parmesan cheese. For the layers I did 1/3 sauce, 6 noodles, 1/2 of mozarella, 1/3 parmesan cheese. 2nd layer: 1/3 sauce, 6 noodles, ricotta cheese mix, 1/3 parmesan cheese. 3rd layer: last 1/3 sauce, last 6 noodles, the other 1/2 mozarella, and remaining parmesan cheese. HANDS DOWN THE BEST LASAGNA I HAVE EVER HAD!!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QweenOvHrtz November 09, 2009

Ever since I found JoMama's sauce I have been using it for pizza, lasagna, stuffed shells, etc. Certainly the best sauce I've ever had and I grew up in an Italian neighborhood... frankly I think the sauce is what most Italians make with slight variations. My friends mom's never measured, they just started tossing stuff in, so when I was young, it never occurred to me to write it down, then I got married and moved.
I make double batches and freeze, when I get the sauce down to near being portioned out, I leave the remaining sauce and add a bit more liquid (sometimes I add a small can of Ro-tel) and then I use this for my pizza sauce. We use very light amount as we generally like a white pizza, but this little bit spices it up.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linda_eminson November 25, 2011

Just realized I have never reviewed this! It's Wonderful! Sometimes I add spinach. Last time I tried it in a regular 8" and then a couple of bread pans (pan issues!). Had to add a little leftover pasta and extra sauce, still really good. Making spaghetti today and looking forward to the lasagna to follow!
Husband is sad whenever I use sauce that isn't Jo Mama's (not that I'd ever do that to this lasagna).

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laugh2survive October 04, 2010

Jo Mama! I need to put more stars! I used ricotta instead of cottage cheese. Followed the balance of the directions to the T. PERFECT. I was shocked! It took the all of the Jo Mama's Sauce. By the way, the very best sauce, we and company has ever had! I have even been told, better than any restaurant! Thank you Jo Mama for making me look good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big Sis October 10, 2011

Great recipe! I used ricotta cheese rather than cottage cheese. I made the sauce and we had spaghetti the first night. I used the remaining sauce to make the lasagna. I will definitely make this sauce and freeze ahead to have on hand when needed.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whampteach2020 February 22, 2011

My first lasagna ever! I used jo mama's speggetti sauce and # 4208 for the italian sausage for the sauce (with a beef/pork mix for the meat and did not use any extra fat). This was a winner and my husband thanks you for this recipe too. It was so good I made up a plate for the neighbor. Great food like this needs to be shared! Served it with # 263103 Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wobin June 13, 2010

Can I give it 20 stars!!!! I have been searching for a great lasagna recipe, I have definatly found it. This tastes so much better than the usual beef lasagna. I used 1/2 ricotta and 1/2 cottage cheese and cut the oregano down to 1/2 tsp. I also added one layer of thawed frozen spinach between the ricotta and mozzerella. This is now my staple recipe, thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! June 07, 2009

This is some EXCELLENT lasagna!! Like many others, I did modify it just a little bit. First, I prefer the no-boil noodles to the traditional noodles, so I used those. A previous reviewer complained that it didn't turn out well with the no-boil noodles because they weren't fully cooked, but that's because no-boil noodles take longer to cook! You will need to leave it in for 50-60 minutes rather than 30-40 minutes. Also, I reserved 6 cups from my batch of spaghetti and that wasn't enough. So for the final layer of sauce on top I used some Ragu ("Traditional" flavor) and I sprinkled some oregano, parsley flakes, and ground pepper on top of the sauce and cheese. The added oregano and parsley actually added a nice visual touch to the finished product. Also, I put some chopped baby spinach in the second layer and it also added some nice color and flavor. All in all, my wife & I thought it was some of the best lasagna we have ever had. And like others have said, that's pretty much what I expected since the sauce makes some of the best spaghetti that I have ever had! This recipe is definitely going to come in handy for big get togethers, but if you have a small family (less than 4 people) then I would recommend making 2 small trays and freezing the second one for another day.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jleonard711 March 17, 2009

I finally got to experience what "Left over" sauce was...we love your recipe so much! I actually "planned over" and made a big batch so I could try this out. Knowing that I HATE cottage cheese, I went ahead and started out with Ricotta, but followed the other instructions to a T. This is so very tasty, but, then, how could it be anything but with that sauce?!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yibbityibbit January 13, 2004
Jo Mama's World Famous Lasagna